We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Compass Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend staying at this Hotel. The Room was lovely. Food Really tasty especially the Chocolate Cheesecake. The Staff were all friendly and helpful. Will stay there again. The Hotel is ideally situated for visiting many attractions The National Trust etc. Bath especially, the park and ride is only 10 mins drive away. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 382 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and i stayed here Friday and Saturday night 8th, 9th Feb 2013, the bed was king size with perfectly clean crisp sheets, the shower was great, the breakfasts and the staff that served them were lovely, very polite and helpful.
It is a shame then to report that this place is 'tired out', everything is worn and dated including the furniture, fittings and the decor. We stayed in room 36 a non smoking room but the smell of stale smoke was evident in 'our' corridor the moment the partition door was opened and actually accessing room 36 was a trial in itself along narrow twisting corridors separated by many doors.
I'm afraid the Compass doesn't deserve the 'Best' label of Best Western.

Room Tip: i went for a quiet room, which it was, but i hope you don't have much luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last night and what a let down. How previous write-ups give this hotel a 4 or 5 is a puzzle! Hotel needs a refurb or close it down. The pub area is good but as a hotel its dreadful. Had Thai red curry for dinner . . . other than it having chicken there was no other link to this normally great tasting curry. Breakfast is a complete letdown, though the waiter and coffee are good. As I sit here eating dried out beans and cold tomato I am looking at a year's worth of dirt under the table holding the hotplate. Shabby is not too strong a word to describe the Compass Inn

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CHARLIE131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was the first place i stayed in my new job role and it was lovely.
The room, was great, it had a fridge which for me is ideal for my cold drinks.
Shower was lovely the room location wasnt bad either seeing as i was right next to a swinging door.
Food was lovely too.
I will be staying there again when i need to be in Yate for business, wouldnt stay anywhere else !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kernowhuskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This looked excellent on their website but in reality everything is tired and dated, especially the bedrooms. We paid £111 for a very average 'quiet' room which was poorly decorated and cheaply furnished. The bathroom was dreadful and not very clean either. Very poor value and we won't be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed here several times. It is our favourite stop-over on our way West! It is a friendly place, great service, food and a wonderful wine list.
The room was comfortable. We have stayed in different rooms each time. My favourite was The Cosham Suite. On this visit, we stayed in a double. The bathroom looked a little dated and damp.
Cooked breakfast was HUGE! Too much for us! Very tasty though.
The gardens look beautiful.
We love this place and would recommend you try it!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent two nightrs staying at the Compass Inn. The staff were very riendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent. We ate there for dinner on two nights. Both meals were of high quality and the service was first class. The room was large, comfortable, nicely decorated, and heating was available if required.

Room Tip: The Orchard suite has windowns on two sides making it bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tormarton
5.2 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
9.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
105 reviews
8.9 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,199 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
9.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Compass Inn

Address: Tormarton, Tormarton GL9 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tormarton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Price Range: $59 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Compass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Compass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Compass Hotel Tormarton
Tormarton Best Western
Best Western Tormarton
Best Western Compass Inn Tormarton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing