We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Little Smithy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tormarton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Little Smithy
Ranked #1 of 2 Tormarton B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

This is the BEST B & B we had stayed at for the whole week when doing the Cotswolds Way. This place set the Bench Mark and for the rest of the week we kept measuring all places against this place and nothing matched it.
Superb room and hosts.
The only slight negative I had was a lack of shower , the bath is great after a days walk but the next morning I would prefer a shower. This did not impede our enjoyment and are considering going back there with my wife (this time) for a weeks holiday.

Room Tip: Absolutely the best B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ash099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrotham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed overnight whilst attending a memorial service in Hawkesbury. Little Smithy is a charming spot and Joanna and Richard were delightful hosts. The self contained 'cottage' was most comfortable - all in all thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Broteham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

It was worth the walk from Wootton under Edge! The Little Smithy is located beautifully for anyone walking the Cotswolds trail and you are made to feel very welcome. There was no fuss about our muddy boots but you certainly wouldn't want to mess up this lovely cottage. It was exclusively ours, located just metres from the main home where we enjoyed a superb breakfast and lively conversation with our friendly hostess, following her excellent recommendation for a hearty, fast, reasonably priced dinner the night before.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank williamspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

This was a serendipitous find when the all the other accommodation listed in the official Cotswold Way booklet was full and we were recommended to stay here. Little Smithy Cottage is separate from the owner's house and is very tastefully and comfortably decorated in an elegant country house style (think Cath Kitson and Laura Ashley) and would make an excellent hideaway for a get-away-from-it-all stay - either with a partner or with friends. Although there is a small kitchen we would recommend the offer of a home-cooked meal (extra cost) - especially the ginger ice-cream and short-bread. Don't plan to rush away after an excellent and generous breakfast in a large dining/kitchen area straight out of the pages of "House Beautiful" as it is very tempting to stay chatting to the very genial hostess.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windinmywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tormarton
0.4 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
353 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown Inn at Tolldown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Cross Hands Hotel
The Cross Hands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Old Sodbury
306 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Little Smithy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Smithy

Property: The Little Smithy
Address: The Smithy High Street, Tormarton GL9 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tormarton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tormarton
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Little Smithy Tormarton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing