We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time”
Review of Thornbury Castle

Thornbury Castle
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Thornbury
Price range: $116 - $116
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I have been visiting here for decades.The Hotel is steeped in History and it shows...the Huge fireplace in the Lounge area with its heraldic shields, the exterior battlements that are now mostly ruins, the wonderful bed rooms especially the Tower rooms are fantastic and atmospheric. The restaurant used to be fantastic but is sadly now only good, but still well worth a visit. The old chap who waits upon you has been serving for almost as long as we have been visiting, perhaps it's time his suit was cleaned?
Try their home produced wine, it's quite good. Wander through their extensive gardens and explore the history, this Hotel has it in bucket loads.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank W0rldTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    69
    41
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Loved everything about the Hotel. Disliked Nothing. Good Food with Good Service. Lovely Rooms - beautiful Linen. Friendly and Helpful Staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Okay for afternoon tea, but not for dinner”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I visited the restaurant at Thornbury Castle and was very disappointed by the food. The castle and the restaurant are fabulous and the staff are extremely polite and well informed. I ordered a two course meal that cost around £50, but the quality and quantity of the food did not justify the price. My main course comprised a very small piece of fish, a tiny amount of greens for garnish and a single piece of pasta. My friend ordered the vegetarian option which comprised a poached egg, four pieces of pasta and four pieces of pasta. Neither could be considered a balanced meal.

We did note other customers eating afternoon tea in the lounge and this looked much more substantial.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSkiBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thorn bury weekend”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Thornbury castle was excellent no faults at all. Well worth a visit castle and staff second to none.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rubyshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a leisurely lunch, excellent value,flawless service”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Really can't fault this place! The castle is quite striking on approach, and so qwerky when you enter and are greeted by 'George' a knight in shining armour. The furniture in the lounge is lavish and almost a bit pastiche but I think they have just side stepped that landmine, and left u feelIng like you could be in an episode of the Tudors. The food is wonderful, can't praise the chef highly enough and incredibly good value set menu at 20 pounds for 3 courses. My only regret is that I was in the mood for a cheese board....what was I thinking with such an inventive list of sweets on offer including passionfruit pannacotta, chocolate tart with orange syrup and white choc soil and coconut parfait with honeycomb and their signature Thornbury castle pudding, which is their unique version of sticky toffee pud! I also had two amazing fish courses but the pork shoulder my sister had was also cooked to perfection! The staff were so helpful and silver service made it special but they were not stuffy with it. I would strongly recommend this restaurant as it felt like a very intimate dining experience. I also recommend you visit the loos as they are very clean, and decked out in very traditional Tudor style. Unfortunately my grandfather was not up to exploring the Tudor gardens, but I will definitely be back soon to do this myself and will stay for a spot of afternoon tea!

Helpful?
Thank Clairy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thornbury Castle also viewed

Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Thornbury Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing