We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, amazing surroundings!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thornbury Castle

Thornbury Castle
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Thornbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $116 - $116
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food, amazing surroundings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Four of us booked a table for lunch, we were seated in the round part of the restaurant which is amazing. The level of service was perfect, attentive yet unobtrusive. The food was excellent. We tried the Thornbury Castle vinyard wine which was fantastic - highly recommended. I cant wait for an excuse to go again. The best restaurant for miles.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    66
    39
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Tiny portions of main ingredients, with overcooked salmon and venison. See our main review for other information.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet61_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I saw some reviews that complained of small portions, this would also be a small grievance - not because we didnt leave full but because the food was so delicious. Over three courses, the food is plenty. This is definiately somewhere about quality, and there is never a need to leave feeling ill with being overfed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic, amazing, brilliant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked to stay at Thornbury Castle on 14.12.12 on the Lazy Days package. On arrival we received a complimentary upgrade from a classic to a delux bed chamber, which was brilliant. We stayed in the Dukes Robe Chamber, it was amazing. You couldn't ask for more from a castle...... 4 poster bed, huge fireplace, hidden bathroom and complimentary sherry! The bed was amazingly comfortable, the bath big enough for 2 and all of the toiletries and added bits you expect from a hotel of this class.
The staff were brilliant, friendly and attentive. They made us feel very special.
We ate a 3 course dinner, full English and a 2 course lunch on the package and the food was faultless. Delicious and exceptionally presented. The atmosphere is relaxed but very posh, which was great for a special night away.
Drinks and wine were delicious, if lacking choices for all budgets, the most expensive bottle on the list was £695 (!!!!!) the cheapest around £24 ( not many in this category). G&T £8, glass of wine £7, soft fizzy drink £2.50. For a special night away this was fine, but could put you off making it more of a regular event, but actually quite fair and level with hotels of a similar stature.
We would highly recommend a visit to Thornbury Castle, we left after a 24 hour stay feeling so relaxed and well fed!! Part of the charm of the castle is that it is small and doesn't have the mod cons such as a spa or similar. I wouldn't want it to change as I feel it would take away from its wealth of charm and history.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank salnpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“3.5 hours!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

It took three and a half hours for three courses. By the end of the meal I was bored of being sat there! The food was pretty poor. Pastry, tomato and onion tart was a pastry bottom with raw tomato and onion in top - not very inventive or tasty! The main was risotto and it was bland with the consistency of wall paper paste. The meat option looked and smelt nice but the portions were small. A side of vegetables would have gone down quite well. Overall poor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ktebailey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thornbury Castle also viewed

Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Thornbury Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing