We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was a completely different experience to most hotels. The public rooms are very atmospheric and our room (Gloucester) was very unusual. It was up a narrow staircase and through a low door (not so good for taller people) and had views of the Tudor garden. The evening dinner was very good and we had a very filling afternoon tea the next day. We would certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

It was a memorable stay, the staff were very attentive and the food was some of the best i have eaten anywhere. The surroundings are historic and the Gardens are worth a visit at the changing of the seasons. Would i stay again?; the food is worth a visit on it's own, i have seen some comments regarding prices being high but i believe the prices were more than reasonable when taking into account both the quality of the ingredients and the cooking. The room was great i had my own tower with views over distant fields. I know hotels like this take an awful lot of money to maintain and that they diversify into other revenue generating schemes but this should not be to the detriment of the core function which is an exclusive top end hotel (afternoon teas) can increase the population, noise and ambience of the hotel significantly. Thornbury Castle is close to Bristol and around 25 miles from Bath both of which can be reached relatively quickly. I am sure it will not be long before i return

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centre-of-the-line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at Thornbury castle for a birthday treat and all I can say is WOW.

We stayed in the Howard deluxe bedchamber which had a four poster bed two real fires and views overlooking the entrance and courtyard. The room was very clean.

The bathroom was very large were a gorgeous bath, and was equiped with everything you needed.
The bed was the most comfortable bed I had ever slept in, and the room was tastefully decorated and the t.v was hidden away.

Breakfast was very good and very filling, the quality was fantastic.

I would definatly stay here again but it is not cheap but well worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We have just spent a fantastic weekend at Thornbury Castle - the service was amazing (probably the best we've ever had), our room was stunning, and the food was absolutely superb. A wonderful experience in a beautiful castle - we couldn't have asked for more. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been magnificent - our favourite is the Buckingham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This hotel is in an interesting collection of buildings some Tudor, some in ruins, some ? Victorian. Crenellated surrounding wall. Elegant Tudor garden. The library and lounge are historic rooms on a grand scale. We had a really memorable tea in the library. Our bedroom was equally historic with Tudor windows. The staff were are really pleasant and helpful. But I was irratated to find a duvet on the bed, and we boiled somewhat throughout the night - smart hotels should really have sheets and blankets.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

All the rooms are different so it is worth specifying what you want when you book or if possible looking at all the rooms beforehand.

We stayed in a classic double room - Buckingham. The windy staircase leading to the room on the first floor was not ideal for my dog (or my wife) particularly when she wanted to go in the middle of the night and had to be carried up and down the staircase. The room had a lovely fireplace that kept it warm. Unfortunately the radiator in the bathroom did not work, which made that room freezing. They could not fix the radiator and so the next day they offered us an upgrade to a deluxe room - Woodville - on the ground floor which suited us fine. The room was a bit bigger but the main difference was the bathroom. It was huge with a walk in shower - from both ends - large bathtub and double sinks and room for so much more. Like the previous room this one had high ceilings.

Unfortunately the radiator in the bedroom did not work and the following day we found out that there was no hot water either.They gave us another room to shower. It turns out that one of the boilers was not working and the other one was on low which affected both rooms that we had stayed in. Emergency visit from a plumber fixed the problem by the afternoon.

By the third day the radiator had been constantly on high and the room was really hot. We only had one small window to open to cool the room down which was not enough.

All rooms have broadband but no wifi. In addition our mobile phones did not work in the rooms or the grounds although I did see some other people using their mobiles on the grounds so it depends what phone and which network you are on.

The dinner was to a high standard, however the menu was small and for vegetarians there was only one choice for the main so we only ate there once.

The grounds are much smaller than we expected and not sufficient to walk our dog. They have a garden and a few small areas of green.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful although it did take them two days to realise that the boilers were not working.

Location is ideal for Bristol and the Cotswolds. The local village is nice and has some decent restaurants.

The main reason for choosing this hotel was that it is in a nice location, a castle and they allow dogs.

You have to appreciate that it is a castle and therefore not modern and poorly insulated. It has been well kept and clean and some parts have been modernised. It is not ideal for bringing a dog and is overpriced for a normal hotel. Given all that and heating issues aside it is a lovely and unique place to stay, however, given the choice of hotels in the Cotswolds I am not sure that we would stay there again.

Room Tip: view the rooms first or state your preferences before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guygb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

what can we say it was wonderfull from the time we booked in lovely room wonderfull staff food was wonderfull nothing to much trouble when you asked the staff this was a treat for my partners birthday and we both would like to thank everybody at the castle for truely memorable time we will be back at some time soon

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornbury
3.9 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
154 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
777 reviews
11.5 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
395 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#2 of 5 in Almondsbury
1,020 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Address: Thornbury Castle Castle Street, Thornbury BS35 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Thornbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornbury
Price Range: $225 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens Hotel Thornbury
Castle Thornbury
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing