We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic building with fine rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This hotel is in an interesting collection of buildings some Tudor, some in ruins, some ? Victorian. Crenellated surrounding wall. Elegant Tudor garden. The library and lounge are historic rooms on a grand scale. We had a really memorable tea in the library. Our bedroom was equally historic with Tudor windows. The staff were are really pleasant and helpful. But I was irratated to find a duvet on the bed, and we boiled somewhat throughout the night - smart hotels should really have sheets and blankets.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
There are newer reviews for Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

All the rooms are different so it is worth specifying what you want when you book or if possible looking at all the rooms beforehand.

We stayed in a classic double room - Buckingham. The windy staircase leading to the room on the first floor was not ideal for my dog (or my wife) particularly when she wanted to go in the middle of the night and had to be carried up and down the staircase. The room had a lovely fireplace that kept it warm. Unfortunately the radiator in the bathroom did not work, which made that room freezing. They could not fix the radiator and so the next day they offered us an upgrade to a deluxe room - Woodville - on the ground floor which suited us fine. The room was a bit bigger but the main difference was the bathroom. It was huge with a walk in shower - from both ends - large bathtub and double sinks and room for so much more. Like the previous room this one had high ceilings.

Unfortunately the radiator in the bedroom did not work and the following day we found out that there was no hot water either.They gave us another room to shower. It turns out that one of the boilers was not working and the other one was on low which affected both rooms that we had stayed in. Emergency visit from a plumber fixed the problem by the afternoon.

By the third day the radiator had been constantly on high and the room was really hot. We only had one small window to open to cool the room down which was not enough.

All rooms have broadband but no wifi. In addition our mobile phones did not work in the rooms or the grounds although I did see some other people using their mobiles on the grounds so it depends what phone and which network you are on.

The dinner was to a high standard, however the menu was small and for vegetarians there was only one choice for the main so we only ate there once.

The grounds are much smaller than we expected and not sufficient to walk our dog. They have a garden and a few small areas of green.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful although it did take them two days to realise that the boilers were not working.

Location is ideal for Bristol and the Cotswolds. The local village is nice and has some decent restaurants.

The main reason for choosing this hotel was that it is in a nice location, a castle and they allow dogs.

You have to appreciate that it is a castle and therefore not modern and poorly insulated. It has been well kept and clean and some parts have been modernised. It is not ideal for bringing a dog and is overpriced for a normal hotel. Given all that and heating issues aside it is a lovely and unique place to stay, however, given the choice of hotels in the Cotswolds I am not sure that we would stay there again.

Room Tip: view the rooms first or state your preferences before booking.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guygb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

what can we say it was wonderfull from the time we booked in lovely room wonderfull staff food was wonderfull nothing to much trouble when you asked the staff this was a treat for my partners birthday and we both would like to thank everybody at the castle for truely memorable time we will be back at some time soon

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

After two weeks at budget hotels, we thought we'd died and gone to heaven. The outside is spectacular, and at our arrival we felt like we were in a Masterpiece Theater show: Valet whisked away our car, and the manager came out to hold an umbrella over my head and escort me in, though it was barely drizzling. There were four staff formally lined up to greet us once inside. For some unknown reason, they upgraded us to a deluxe double (Mary 1st), which was so grand that once they left us alone in the room we collapsed in a ten minute fit of giggles. The room was huge, with an ornate canopy bed, oriel windows with a gorgeous view of the gardens, beautiful armoire, pants press, decanter of brandy, very high ceiling, and a stained glass window in the bathroom. It was just down the hall from the Duke's bedchamber where Henry VIII and Ann Boleyn slept. Both evenings we were called to ask if we'd like our turndown service now (I can close my own drapes, but the offer was fun.). Breakfast was on a par with everything else: Ask for hot chocolate and you get a quart pitcher of the real thing, steaming hot. The dining rooms were also gorgeous, though you could choose to have breakfast in your room instead, and when we needed it at 6:30 AM the day of our departure, it arrived right on time. Archery and croquet were set up when we arrived, though we didn't play. Maybe other people are used to living like this, but for about $300/night, it was fantastic value. Perhaps that's because no one would visit Thornbury itself. The only reason to go is to stay at the castle.

Room Tip: I'm not sure you could go wrong with any room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TouristfromSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

What a wonderful hotel. Had a family wedding there it was magical! Beautiful ceremony at the hotel followed by a short walk to the Church for a blessing. Rooms are fab, staff are friendly and helpful. Food was great. Everything clean and well presented. We stayed in the Pembroke Suite which our Daughter and grandson shared with us. It was more like an apartment all we needed was a kitchen!!! Water, fruit tea an coffee provided in room. Only drawback is no lifts so a bit of a problem if you have walking difficulties, staff carried our luggage for us. Grandson thought the loo was fantastic a great big wooden throne with curtains either side -but the bathroom was very modern with shower cubicle, Jack & Jill washbasins and a jacuzzi bath. Loads of clean fluffy towels.
Would recommend for a weekend break or venue for a special party/wedding. our grandson loved it as it had the suits of armour and as he is currently doing the history on King Henry VIII he new more about the castle than we did!

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views of the castle grounds and beyond. Not far from Thornbury Village if y...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sashamegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Beautiful building and grounds. Interior was warm and inviting. We were received very well, with lots of help with luggage and parking upon arrival and departure.
Dinner was a treat because they do things there a little different from what we are used to but we loved it. We were there 2 nights and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We told them what we wanted and they delivered almost everything we asked for. There is no lift (ele...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovedagrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

On arrival, Thornbury castle is BEAUTIFUL beyond words, but the beauty on the outside is not matched by the staff. I waited with my partner at the reception desk and was ignored by various suited staff, until the receptionist came around the corner - nealy 5 minutes later- I would n ot expect this is a bugdet hotel let alone a 400 pound a night luxury hotel.
I found the manager of the hotel extremely oily and snobby- fawning over some guests and ignoring some who he clearly - to watch him in action is a lesson in brown nosing and really quite funny! He fawned shamelessly over the obviously rich and famous- and blanked those who he obviously considered shouldnt be there
I found the food quite poor in taste and presentation and although the room was gorgeous, it was actually quite dirty and grubby and the sheets threadbare and a lttle holey! My request for the room to be "deep cleaned" was met by a frozen stare and my gorgeous room was still fluffy and dirty that night. After 2 days my partner and I went home very upset that our romantic trip was soiled in such a way. trying to get an apology or some sort of adknowledgement that something was at fault is like getting blood out of a stone- Never again will I visit a Von essen hotel

Room Tip: Avoid the room called the buckngham- dusty and grubby, although very pretty
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Lita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornbury
3.9 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,591 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
371 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
663 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
5.2 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Address: Thornbury Castle Castle Street, Thornbury BS35 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Thornbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornbury
Price Range: $217 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens Hotel Thornbury
Castle Thornbury
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing