We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveler rating
303
274
153
86
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
303
274
153
86
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manor house garden wing the main house newer part beautiful grounds bridal suite afternoon tea wedding venue lounge area cream tea food was lovely scones groupon deal old building course meal waiting staff little things
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 868 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2017 via mobile

I was attending an event on the invite of a supplier. It has been some time since I have visited this part of the world for either business or pleasure so I was looking forward to rediscovering the beauty of the Cotswolds.

I was booked in to room 11 on the top floor of the old house overlooking the entrance and main road. On the plus side, the room was large with a comfy bed, nice bedding and good quality towels. There were plenty of power sockets and the room was clean and generally nicely presented. On the downside the lighting was poor, nothing close to any of the mirrors. I also had some concerns about how effective the lock was when away from the room.

The bathroom was large with the most amazing free standing bath which I took full advantage of before turning in for the night. There was plenty of hot water. On the down side there was a smell of drains and again no effective lighting over mirrors.

The furniture was looking slightly shabby and across the hotel there was evidence of threadbare carpets and a general air of a lack of cash to make the most of the beautiful old house.

Outside, the house is set in grounds which run down to a canal and the extension built in the grounds is very easy on the eye and in my opinion does not detract from the old house. From the outside though it looks as though it too could do with some TLC.

Now for the food....

Dinner was scallops followed by cod. The scallops were small and I suspect a little past their best. The cod fillet was also small but overall the food was tasty and well presented. On the downside the service whilst attentive and helpful was slow and some in the party had to wait a long time for their meal to arrive. Breakfast was OK but my poached egg was not cooked through and when i cut into it there was a gush of uncooked white and water which was not pleasant.

Lunch during the event was guaranteed to send delegates in to a carbohydrate coma. Lots of pasta, potato salad, chips, and pizza with a very thick base. The buffet was very average and needs significantly improving.

The front of house team were, on the whole, all young and by inference relatively inexperienced but they looked after us well and did their best. The reception staff were also welcoming and helpful.

I am rating it a 3 because I think the place has great potential and with a little more attention and polish ( literal and metaphoric) could be an excellent venue due to its relative proximity to the motorway whilst managing to feel like you are in the middle of the Cotswolds when out in the grounds. I sense perhaps some frustration from the staff that they too know it could be better but there just isn't the cash/resources to do what needs to be done.

Overall, it's a perfectly pleasant place for a run of the mill stopover and has the potential to be something really special with a few tweaks.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Clairebear466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SHC, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court Hotel. I do apologise that we did not meet all of your expectations. We are currently refurbishing all the bedrooms in the annex with room 11 included in near future. In regards to your food experience we pride ourselves in quality of our food as we only supply using local produce. Feedback is always important to us so we know what we need to improve on. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Marian Jurko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017 via mobile

The service was great. The food was amazing. The room was really nice but the bed a little uncomfortable. Would definitely recommend to stay. Me and my partner live in Gloucester so can't comment on the local tourist things. It was good just to have an evening away from anything and not have to worry

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank StephyP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SHC, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2017

Thank you for such a nice review. I will pass your comments onto the team and we hope to see you in the future.

Kind regards,

Marian Jurko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017

Room was ok,clean tidy as you would expect.friendly staff.
we were expecting a great meal after seeing the chef had a recipe in there published books.The parfait,terrine and ravioli i thought this would have been home made,as the restaurant is small.not to be.even the chips were frozen the parfait had a piece of bone in it (not good) and the cod we ordered was well over cooked.All just little things that should be improved.did not help seeing a 3663 (bidvest) lorry delivering the following morning.Good food should be home made. you can tell if its mass produced.locally soursed does not cut it any more.always ask if its made on the premises.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank everitt900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017

Our wedding was 25/03/2017.

Stonehouse Court Hotel was our perfect venue, we had the opportunity to have our ceremony in the stunning manor house, our photos within the beautiful grounds and our wedding breakfast and reception in the self-contained Caroline suite. The service, food and attitudes of staff were all exemplary, with our guests especially commenting that that food for both the wedding breakfast and evening buffet was brilliant.

The Staff were absolutely fantastic and couldn't have done more to help us, Fred in the planning stages was very accommodating to our needs and flexible to what we wanted. On the day itself Emanuel our master of ceremonies, was very keen to please and kept us informed of what was happening throughout the day. Mike the bar man was very enthusiastic and complimentary of our day and our guests, and Paige was also on hand to help in anyway possible during the day, evening and next morning making it for us an amazing day.

The venue was set up to our specifications and issues or queries were dealt with quickly and efficiently. The facilities and options offered by the hotel and their staff allowed us to adapt our wedding to be everything we wanted it to be and allowed us to cater for and support the different members of our wedding party including very young children, elderly and disabled guests.

Stonehouse Court Hotel is a venue we will be strongly recommending to family and friends in the future for both weddings and other events, and we would like to thank them for helping us make our wedding an amazing day to remember.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

Warm, friendly and amazing beautiful romantic place to take a loved one. The service for food and drinks was slow but I can't fault anything else, food was hot, delicious and plentyful staff were lovely and although the cost of the hotel was not cheap, the food and drink was very reasonable for the quality of the hotel.
We have provisionally booked for next year too.
Loved it here, although some rooms differ but not complaining about the 4 poster room, perfect!!!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank m0ssy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews