We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great country house hotel”
Review of Stonehouse Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonehouse Court
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Oxted
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great country house hotel”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked at 2 night stay at the last minute through a deal with Amazon local. Although our room was at the end of the annex it represented very good value for money with the Amazon deal which included bed and breakfast. We were particular impressed by the lovely grounds

Room Tip: The main house is much nicer but you pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    217
    128
    65
    36
See reviews for
98
362
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This old hotel is in a delightful setting. We were in the new block attached by a corridor, and were pleasantly surprised to find our room had a lovely view over the gardens of trees and lawn, aided by an angled window across one corner of the room. The breakfasts were very good. We had an evening meal there one night, but found it a bit pricy, especially on tables of bare brown wood in a panelled room lacking any real atmosphere. Maybe that was because we were in an overflow area. Overall though very good value if you try a two-night package. Recommend taking a stroll to the bottom of the gardens through the door in the wall to the beautiful canal . Whether you go east or west along the towpath you will see coots, moorhens, ducks and swans aplenty as well as perhaps a heron.

Room Tip: Being an old building, it does not appear to cater for wheelchairs at all. Stairs everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had a lovely special occasion dinner and wow! Fabulous food and wine and quite honestly so affordable. The ambience was wonderful for a romantic dinner. They also have great offers for weddings, cgef evenings aetc

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchfromafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having booked through 'Wowcher' for our wedding anniversary, previous reviews meant we did not know what to expect. On arrival, everything went to plan and the young lady in reception did everything that you would expect. In fact, all of the staff were very attentive during our break. he hotel is gorgeous from the outside, but the rooms are very '1970's' in terms of layout and décor. Very much in need of refurbishment. The television also needed to be wall mounted, in order to enable comfortable viewing.
The dinner, our reason for going, was beautiful in both how it was cooked and how it tasted. With a very limited menu, you would not want to go on a very regular basis. Price wise, it was good value for a fine dining experience, but it would not suit people looking for a large meal at a low price. Breakfast, however, was thoroughly disappointing for one single reason. Even buffet breakfasts should never be put onto cold plates. This must be changed to produce a more favourable response.
Overall, not bad. We got what we paid for. At full ;price, I would not have been so happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM7747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We hired the hotel for a wedding reception. A lot of the initial work was done from a distance as the happy couple were in America but Fred came up trumps and the majority of it went just as we wanted and any issues were sorted out to the best of the hotel's ability, including arranging last-minute baby-sitters. Staff were all friendly and very helpful.

The rooms that we had and others we saw were clean and well-equipped. Showers good and house-keeping seemed well run.

The food was definitely up to standard. We had a meal the evening before the wedding, a wedding breakfast, and a full english on both days of our stay and had no complaints with the quality. Service on the first night was not great as they did not seem to have enough staff, hopefully the food & drink manager will try & improve the general management of that side - we had a couple of other slight issues and I was slightly disappointed at the way in which he handled things - not really a great manager in my view.

Location of the hotel is great - easily found from the motorway, loads of parking and lovely, well-maintained grounds.

The only other thing that needs mentioning is that, because it is an old building it has a LOT of stairs. This was a major problem with one of our guests with mobility problems and there are no alternatives for them so I'm afraid they will not be back. The newer blocks probably had better access but not the same Cotswold ambience.

Personally though we would happily go there again.

Room Tip: Stairs are an issue. Rooms ion the main house very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallymanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thatcham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The house and grounds are beautiful and very quiet.

The day we spent at the hotel was good with many things to do, there was no tea or coffee in the room and the edges of the room was full of fluff. In the evening we were getting the children ready for bed and this when the issues started, my son had a camp bed which was a nightmare! i sat on the bottom of the bed and fell through it and could not get out of, so was rescued by my husband (after he finished laughing!) we then settled down for the evening and got woken up by a massive crash to find our poor son in tears because the bed had collapsed underneath him, this in turn woke my 14 month old up we found it almost imposable to get back to sleep due to the music being SO loud at the wedding that was taking place. we went to speak to the chap who was running the wedding about the music and he told us that there was nothing he could do, this was untrue as the DJ had somehow turned the sound limiter off ( this is a legal requirement to be used if installed) we then eventually go back to sleep and the phone alarm went off! we had a awful nights sleep, we spoke to the assistant manager that morning and he too didn't offer any apology he offered a complementary supper as we live nearly 2 and a half hrs away i don't think we will be taking this offer up i proceeded to tell him this and all he did was smirk!

never visiting this hotel again. very poor indeed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here as part of a deal on amazon local. The room was small but had everything I needed. Restaurant was really nice with a good range of food and breakfast was really good too. I wouldn't have paid more than I did but it suited our needs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehouse
13.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
184 reviews
14.7 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
462 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
16.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Court

Property: Stonehouse Court
Address: Bristol Road, Stonehouse, Stroud GL10 3RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Stonehouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonehouse Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17th Century Manor House is set in 6 acres of stunning grounds overlooking the Stroud Water Canal and rolling hills of the Stroud Valley. Our attractive gardens and lawns are the perfect place for a peaceful stroll, glass of Pimms or even a game of Croquet the most traditional of English summer pastimes! You can enjoy the fragrances of our flowerbeds, the breathtaking views or take the time to simply unwind. An arched gateway leads from the end of the garden through to the canal from where you can explore the countryside beyond.In the main Manor House you'll find our restaurant, terrace, bar, conference suites and some guest rooms. Our Garden Wing comprises further guest rooms and the Caroline Suite offers extensive banqueting and conferencing facilities.We are an ideal venue for wonderful weddings. Magnificent grounds and gardens will provide the all important backdrop for stunning wedding photos and the attention to detail will be remarkable in every way to make your day unique and memorable.So whatever the reason for your visit you will receive a warm welcome and a very pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonehouse Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Court Hotel Stonehouse
Court Hotel Stonehouse
Stonehouse Court England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing