We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve.”
Review of Stonehouse Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonehouse Court
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from a new years eve party at stonehouse court hotel we sat down to eat at 8 the final course came out at 11!!! I have never had such a poor meal in all my life it was that bad the only course we ate was the cheese and biscuits,so don't think we will be going next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part of hotel are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike O, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear John,

We are all truly sorry that you did not enjoy the New Years Eve dinner. As advertised the meal was a 7 course gala dinner so with the first course going out at 8.20pm the service for 7 courses was always going to take time, after all a 7 course dinner is not an affair to be rushed.
I will agree that premium Welsh Saltmarsh lamb (served in top restaurants throughout the country) is not to everyone's liking and I assure you we will take your valuable feedback into consideration when planning next years (this years!) event.

We will be going for a "fewer courses with more fun" approach this year by holding a James Bond Black Tie Casino evening with a simpler menu that will appeal to a more wider range of tastes.

I hope you will reconsider visiting us again in the future as we have a very accomplished chef and kitchen brigade who attract consistently good praise and appreciation for the dishes he creates on the a la carte and function dining menus.

Finally, may we wish you all the best for 2013 and we really do hope we see you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 694 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our stay at Stonehouse Court was very enjoyable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and polite in a very unobtrusive way. We were blessed with very mild weather which did mean the hotel was very warm at times, but a window opened when requested did the trick. Our bed on the other hand was very hard which did rather spoil out nights sleep. The food was to an excellent standard and every meal was superb.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike O, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your review. Though I am very sorry to hear that the bed was too hard for your liking I am very very pleased that you felt so well looked after in every aspect of your stay with us.

As a team we are working constantly to provide our guests with ever improving service. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere to it but without good attentive service a stay would not be the same so this positive feedback is greatly welcomed and appreciated by the whole team.

May we wish you well for the New Year and hope we see you soon (we will give you a room with a softer mattress too - I promise!)

Kind regards,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We have just spent an amazing family Christmas at stonehouse court.
Having never spent Christmas away from home, it was fair to say I was a little bit nervous that going away would not be as nice. But this was the nicest, most relaxing Christmas we have had as an adult family. I would like to thank all the staff for helping to make the stay perfect. From the minute we made the booking, and it was suggested that we look at the four poster room to give us a lovely space in which to open presents and play games, to the minute we checked out, the staff were helpful, seemed happy and could not have done more. The food was also far beyond our expectations .
Thank you all very much.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandjanescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike O, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Scott,

We are very grateful for your wonderful feedback about the food and your overall stay. The whole team worked very hard over Christmas with the genuine goal to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable and we had fun in the process too!

I am very pleased to know we made your first stay away from home over Christmas a special one (phew - no pressure then!!) and we wish you a successful 2013 and hope to see you back before next Christmas.

Kindest regards,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at Stonehouse Court in order to see the Christmas lights at Westonbirt. The drive to Westonbirt took us about forty minutes, so the hotel is well placed for this outing, provided you avoid Stroud (which you would be silly not to).
Having read TripAdvisor comments, we discussed rooms with the receptionist and finished up in Room 3, in the main building at the back, overlooking the garden. We were very pleased with our room - it was clean and comfortable and warm. The bathroom was lovely - vast bath and vast shower and lots of room. The view in the morning was lovely.
The staff were all friendly and agreeable and helpful. The menu offered a number of nice-looking possibilities, and we were very pleased with what we decided on, which was well-cooked and flavoursome (and well served). We finished with local ice-cream, which the restaurant manager told us we would enjoy and which lived up to his recommendation.
Breakfast the following morning suited us perfectly well - nice coffee, sufficient choice, no delays, friendly waitresses.
The style of the older part of the hotel tends to the baronial, and slightly worn stair-carpet seemed rather in keeping with this! There were logs burning in the grate in the main hall when we arrived.
Though on the main road, the hotel is set well back from it and we didn't notice any traffic noise in our room. The hotel has a popular function room; on the night we were there (which was in the run-up to Christmas) there was, not surprisingly, a party, but we were only aware of it when the revellers came to bed, and even then we were not significantly disturbed by it - any noise from the event itself seemed well-contained in the function room, which is a separate building. I imagine that such use of the hotel is an important part of its income stream and it seemed to us that the managers kept the balance between accommodating parties and providing for tourists such as ourselves perfectly well.
We could have stayed in a hotel a bit nearer the Arboretum, but Stonehouse Court offered a very attractive deal for a one-night stay and I doubt that we could have stayed more cheaply in so comfortable a place any nearer Westonbirt and had a more delicious dinner. We happily recommend it.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel, overlooking the garden, is pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike O, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Stephen,

Thank you for staying with us on our Westonbirt package. It is lovely to know you felt it was very good value for money and in addition to this that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Unfortunately being such a busy time of year for us I have not had the opportunity to visit Westonbirt since the Christmas lights were turned on but I believe they look fantastic. In the mean time I will have make do with the lights and beautiful tree we have in our reception lounge which certainly creates the Christmas spirit along with our roaring log fire here at Stonehouse Court.

From the team and I we wish you a Merry Festive Season!

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ok, if you want a budget room, you can get one in the newer annex of the hotel.. you get what you pay for.

I have stayed twice in the older part of the hotel. Room 10 at the top of the hotel is lovely, small but adequate, cosy, comfortable and well decorated. High up in the gables of the hotel, you really feel "away from it all" here. Good bathroom with great shower and well stocked. I have also stayed in a larger room nearer the reception area.. very lovely room, with great view onto the gardens and a fab bathroom with walk in shower.
Check- in and out was easy, and if you fancy a treat order the afternoon tea with champagne to room service. Sandwiches, scones, clotted cream and jam. All freshly made.. Yum!

Marian (sorry if I spell your name wrong!!) the bar tender and Maitre' D, is lovely....friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Obviously a credit to the hotel.
You may have to wait a while for service in the bar when he is not on duty..but you only have to ask at reception if no-one is around.

We have eaten in the restaurant a few times, and the food has always been been impressive. Plentiful bread offered, water on the table and prompt service.

One thing though... PLEASE keep the fire lit! Especially as it's about -2 outside! It makes such a nice welcome when you enter the hotel..and an empty, cold fire grate is horrible to see on a frosty day!

The Gardens are fab, even in the winter they are lovely to wander around, and they back onto the canal, which is handy if you fancy a walk in picturesque surroundings.

Looking forward to my next stay soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a manor house room overlooking the gradens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheltenhamCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike O, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased that you have had consistently enjoyable stays with us in the past and that we have continued this tradition!

I agree that Marion and his team are an asset to the hotel as are all of the Heads of Departments of our new team. As such we are always delighted to receive and certainly do appreciate complimentary feedback.

I totally agree about the fire as it makes a big difference on those frosty days and adds to the warm atmosphere of the hotel. I promise you that the woodpile is now stocked high for the rest of winter so that the fire will be roaring away from noon till night every day.

We will also be making the best of our stunning grounds as the gardens are due for a complete make over next spring to make the whole guest experience even more enjoyable. So we hope to see you back soon for a Pimms or glass of bubbly on the terrace next summer or if you can't wait that long (and I hope you cannot) then for a hot beverage next to the roaring log fire in the lounge.

Kind regards,.

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Food was average, not enough vegetables!
Served a small dish of veggie for eight people on our table, when we asked for more we were told more was on its way however it didn't arrive!! The staff were miserable and you could tell they didn't want to be there, they could not even smile!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike O, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am already aware of the service issues you encountered this Saturday and though it only affected a small number of the 100 guests who enjoyed the party and fantastic disco I am really sorry you were one of the guests affected.

As new General Manager I recognize that there are a few areas that require improvement and the new team and I are working hard to get the consistency to that all important level where 100% of our guests get good service, not just 90%.

I am positive that if you attend a Christmas Party here next weekend you will find that all of the niggles you experience will have been resolved.

May I take this opportunity to wish you and all of the guest in your party a Merry Christmas and hope you will accept our sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I had a great time at Stonehouse Court for two nights in December.

Building, we staid in the old house, room 14, at the top with a great view over the gardens to the rear. The room was warm, spacious and clean. Great shower. The carpet was a little worn up the stairs, no issues otherwise. The main building is an old manor house; beautiful. The common areas in the hotel are very nice, decorated and furnished as you would expect from an old manor house.

Food, fantastic. Over the two nights that we were there the food was brilliant. The menu was pretty varied, I imagine most tastes would be catered. Could not fault it.

Staff, friendly throughout and accommodating.

Wifi; used our phones to connect to the wifi, found no issues at all.

Location, pretty good. Canal walk just through the garden, lovely stretch of water. Beautiful Church at the bottom of the garden, with windows open you can just about hear the bells, not intrusive though or early. Good reach of gloucester, the forest of dean, stroud - great saturday farmers market and cheltenham. Stonehouse itself is worth a quick look.

I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you can, top room at the back of the old house for great view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StufT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike O, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Dear Sir,

We are extremely pleased to learn that you had a good stay with us. Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback which I am sure other guests will find helpful.

Chef will be pleased to note your favorable comments on the food too which I have to say is attracting consistently good feedback.

The hotel is indeed in a beautiful location considering how accessible we are from Stroud and the M5 so we are delighted you got to explore the canal and surrounding area and you are absolutely right that the ethereal bells of the ancient local church enhance the atmosphere of the old Manor House (and that they don't start ringing before the dawn mist has cleared form the canal on a Sunday morning!)

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehouse
14.7 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
507 reviews
13.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
290 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,343 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
17.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Court

Address: Bristol Road, Stonehouse, Stroud GL10 3RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Stonehouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Price Range: $100 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonehouse Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17th Century Manor House is set in 6 acres of stunning grounds overlooking the Stroud Water Canal and rolling hills of the Stroud Valley. Our attractive gardens and lawns are the perfect place for a peaceful stroll, glass of Pimms or even a game of Croquet the most traditional of English summer pastimes! You can enjoy the fragrances of our flowerbeds, the breathtaking views or take the time to simply unwind. An arched gateway leads from the end of the garden through to the canal from where you can explore the countryside beyond.In the main Manor House you'll find our restaurant, terrace, bar, conference suites and some guest rooms. Our Garden Wing comprises further guest rooms and the Caroline Suite offers extensive banqueting and conferencing facilities.We are an ideal venue for wonderful weddings. Magnificent grounds and gardens will provide the all important backdrop for stunning wedding photos and the attention to detail will be remarkable in every way to make your day unique and memorable.So whatever the reason for your visit you will receive a warm welcome and a very pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stonehouse Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Court Hotel Stonehouse
Court Hotel Stonehouse
Stonehouse Court England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing