We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stepping back into the past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodchester Mansion

Woodchester Mansion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Woodchester Mansion is a 19th Century Victorian Gothic masterpiece mysteriously abandoned mid-construction in 1873. Hidden in a secluded Cotswold Valley, it is untouched by time and the modern world. This unique Grade 1 Listed Building has been saved from dereliction but it will never be completed, enabling visitors to view the secret building techniques of medieval Gothic builders. Special events are held throughout the year, but do check our open days and times before visiting.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stepping back into the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A lovely walk down from the car park builds the suspense before arriving at this little-open mansion. You would be right to expect this 'frozen in time' gothic house to have bats. Would love to see it by night - it's even slightly eerie in the daylight...Spooky meets fairy tale I suppose. Fascinating to wander round...beautiful fireplaces and staircases...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kasstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    64
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be transported in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The Manor is a brisk walk from the parking lot, so wear comfy shoes. The history of the manor is so interesting, we we're completely enamored by the history and its beauty. Entry fee is minimal & it's particularly interesting if you enjoy architecture & history. Make sure to bring snacks and drinks as you can have a picnic there & they only have a tiny assortment of snacks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieKriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Building in progress, frozen in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

For budding structural engineers and architects this building would be an excellent learning aid about how large structures are built. The mansion itself has never been completed (nor will be) so the way it has been built can still be seen. We were shown around for about two hours by Pat, an enthusiastic and knowledgeable volunteer - and of corse there is a lot of interest for the general public too. The car park is about a mile from the a Mansion, a pleasant walk down a private drive or by minibus laid on by the volunteers. The. Trustees have an admirable association with trainee stonemasons at the local college.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting and beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My partner and I visited the mansion a couple of days ago as part of a trip to the Cotswolds having been recommended it by the owners of the B&B where we were staying.

We were unsure of what to expect but the website made the place look interesting, so we parked up and took the pleasant walk through Woodchester Park (which was gorgeous, and so quiet!).

Arriving at the mansion, we found that we were the only visitors on site at that time, and so we had all the time in the world to look around! The laminated guide with the recommended route was perfect and made things so much either.

The mansion itself is spectacular. Never been to a place like it and we fell in love with it! So much history in the place and it was so surreal to see. Also really liked the cellars - wasn't until we got home that we saw how many TV shows had been filmed there!

Fantastic place - wish we could go back again now. We will return next time we visit the Cotswolds (February) and this time will try to explore more of the wonderful countryside in which it is located. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 138sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fabulous walk with tremendous views and a variety of treks. Wonderful for all the family and the dogs!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustineKingNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodchester Mansion also viewed

 
Stroud, Cotswolds
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 

Been to Woodchester Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing