We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be one of the best in Forest of Dean”
Review of Edale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edale House
Ranked #2 of 4 Parkend B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 17, 2013

From the moment I arrived I was made most welcome by both Terry and Jane.
Terry showed me around and explaining everything as we went.My room was complete with all and more I needed for my stay. Breakfast was of the highest quality using all local suppliers.
Do not hesitate to book this exceptional B@B

Room Tip: All rooms en-suite except no3 which has a wet room across landing.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamsgateMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Edale House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 95 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at Edale House to visit friends in the area. Room extremely comfortable with all the amenities we could wish for . Jane and Terry go that extra mile to make you feel welcome with tea and cake on arrival and a superb breakfast, especially the home made whiskey marmalade! Another nice touch is the well stocked honesty bar. We were among the first guests to use the refurbished lounge and dining room, which have been decorated to a very high standard and the lounge is very warm and cosy. We have rebooked to return in May for the bluebells which we are told are stunning in the forest. Highly recommend Edale House to anyone wanting a great break in the Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionJtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Three walkers stayed for two days and we rated it as one of the best we have stayed in. Food was excellent, rooms well equipped and warm, very good beds, TV etc. Terry was very helpful with local knowledge and we enjoyed his company. All round an excellent venue for the Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerandjulia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Three of us meet together to walk different parts of the country. we are now doing the Gloucester way. Edale House was perfect. Very welcoming in a relaxed and helpful way. The rooms were good and the bed very comfy. The lounge was just right and the welcome afternoon tea was spot on, as was breakfast and the plentiful packed lunches. It has a specific drying room which was great after our day in the rain! All this at a very affordable price. I would definitely recommend and the Pub next door is a true local with excellent food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGpete8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have just returned from a stay at Edale House where we took my 91 year old mother for a trip down memory lane. The fact that our old family doctor, Dr Tandy, used to own the house was an added bonus for her. We were greeted with a wonderful warm welcome and Terry and Jane couldn't have been more helpful. Carrying bags to the room and making sure we had everything we needed. Tea and home made cakes (yummy) were served when we arrived. Terry apologised for the fact that the residents lounge was out of action as the renovation works were slightly delayed (not a problem for us as the rooms were of a good size and comfortable seating provided). The beds were very comfy and the room wonderfully warm. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided and we were even given fresh milk.

Breakfast was great with a good choice of fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt etc and the cooked breakfast very good (can recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon). All in all a great experience and we would definitely return. A very peaceful and picturesque setting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milliemackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We've just returned from a few very relaxing days at Edale House where we were welcomed with a pot of tea and homemade cake - just what we needed after a tiring and tiresome journey with lots of hold-ups. Terry and Jane were just so helpful and friendly, with good knowledge of the area despite only being there for two years; Terry gave us good suggestions each morning dependant on the weather. The cooked breakfast was lovely, with good choice, plus yogourt, different fruit each morning, cereals, and nuts and seeds, plus a bowl of whole fruit - apples etc. The coffee was out of this world - it's a shame I totally forgot to ask which brand they used!
Everything was absolutely spotless. We were in room 6, which was the largest of their rooms, at the back, with a bath with electric shower over. It also had a 'telephone' shower on the taps, but that was impossible to adjust the water temperature, so we didn't use that as the electric shower was perfectly fine and hot, and there was lashings of hot water for the bath. The room was spacious and restfully decorated with TV, tea and coffee, bisquits and sweets and the bed was incredibly comfy - neither too firm nor too soft and it was large, as it was two singles zip-linked. All in all a lovely place to stay and well recommended if you're staying in the Forest of Dean area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memberChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It is a very comfortable and well-run B&B with great hosts. The breakfast, well, read the other reviews but I'll add that the veggie version won't leave you hungry either. We had 'standard' rooms and perhaps these are smaller than others but one is not left wanting for anything other than a bit more space. The beds were very comfortable and the hospitality tray met my wife's requirements especially as fresh milk is readily available from the fridge in the honesty bar. Despite being quite near a road the glazing effectively stopped any noise nuisance.

Though August we did find it coolish, especially in our bathroom and the electric shower was not sufficiently powerful to warm one up well enough. The drying room was also unheated and so didn't do much drying when drying was needed.

There is no mobile phone signal in Parkend, hardly the fault of Edale House of course, and they do their utmost to compensate with free wi-fi and almost-free landlines. We did get the occasional whiff of Vodafone up on the paths behind the house.

The Woodman next door does serve good food but best to go early, we waited 45 mins one night and then 2 (!!) hours the next even after having booked. Not long after eating that then until the next Edale breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyteroptes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkend
2.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
752 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
663 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deanfield Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#4 of 4 in Parkend
105 reviews
2.8 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
64 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Coleford
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edale House

Address: Edale House Folly Road | Royal Forest of Dean, Parkend GL15 4JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Parkend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Parkend
Price Range: $103 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edale House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edale House is a comfortable and relaxing Georgian guest house located in the centre of the village of Parkend and in the heart of the Forest of Dean. We have 6 twin or double bedrooms (5 ensuite and 1 with private shower room) resident's lounge and bar, dining room, forecourt car park, pleasant accessible garden, central heating and free Wifi. All rooms have flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and extensive toileteries. Complimentary tea/coffee and homemade cakes on arrival. A breakfast of fresh fruit, cereals and a wide range of cooked food, to include our exclusive hand sliced bacon and local farm sausages will set you up for a full day in the Forest. Numerous local attractions are within easy reach including Nags Head Nature Reserve, Dean Steam Railway, Clearwell Caves, Puzzlewood, Go Ape, Cannop Ponds and the Dean Heritage Centre.Parkend is well situated for Forest walks and cycling, cycle hire available, and has 2 excellent food orientated pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Edale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edale House Parkend, Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing