We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with loads of activities for the children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitemead Forest Park
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location with loads of activities for the children”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We spent three nights, over the Bank Holiday weekend, at Whitemead and had a great time.
It was quiet and relaxing for us and full of fun filled activity for the children.

A perfect way to spend a long weekend

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauldmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    183
    69
    37
    12
See reviews for
307
61
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed at Whitemad over the August bank holiday weekend. We only booked a couple of weeks before and got an excellent deal. We arrived on Friday and actually stayed to the Tuesday, extending by one night on arrival.

The accomodation was very good. We stayed in a Deluxe two bedroom log cabin, which was in a lovely locaton. Our four year old loved his room. We found the bed to be very comfortable.

We all enjoyed the pool every day, and I appreciated the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.

The restaurant was nice of an evening - although perhaps a little bit expensive. But we ate there for two evenings. In the day we found it a bit od though - it lacked any sort of atmosphere and was really dingy. Not so good.

The kids entertainment in the evening was excellent. Our little lad enjoyed the mini disco and games. Hats of to Andy, who was an excellent entertainer. And as for Sammy and Harry - our boy loved them.

We enjoyed trips to Symonds Yat and on the Dean Forest Railway. For a meal out we recommend the Kaplans Bistro - a Turkish owner restaurant in the unlikely location of Lydney.

We had a great time at Whitemad and would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunder101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed, I say we my wife and I, for a long weekend which the weather was not the greatest but didnt spoil our time at the park.

The entertainment in the Venue was of a decent standard and the food from the foresters bar was amazing, nthe shop on site was as usually higher priced but for convenience was acceptable.

I brought my 100 year old nan who is tough to please for sunday lunch and she was impressed.... i need to say no more...

From start to finish the entertainment, reception, the staff, the atmosphere at the site was amazing.

I will be returning as soon as i can.....

Love you whitemead xxx

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrwurzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Visited Whitemead Forest Park with my young family.
Really enjoyed it.
Staff very friendly. Facilities excellent - especially the indoor heated pool. My baby spent the time in the children's pool, while our older child played in the larger pool.
Also the luxury of a jacuzzi and steam room meant us 'Mum & Dad' could escape for a moment too! We treated ourselves to a treatment in the Beauty Rooms too, very nice and not expensive.
Lovely park, nice walks. Nice bar with outdoor area which felt like we had some adult time too.
Would highly recommend. Perfect for families wanting to get away for a long weekend without breaking the bank!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyBWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkend
2.8 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
703 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
638 reviews
12.0 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
6.7 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
9.4 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitemead Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitemead Forest Park

Property: Whitemead Forest Park
Address: Parkend GL15 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Parkend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Parkend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitemead Forest Park 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitemead Forest Park is a Leisure Retreat owned by CSMA Club. The Park lies in the heart of the Forest of Dean and offers a perfect base for exploring this stunning area. Our log cabin and apartment accommodation is modern and spacious and you can even bring you tent or caravan to make the most of the great outdoors. Our extensive facilities and program of entertainment offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitemead Forest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitemead Forest Park Hotel Parkend
Whitemead Forest Park Parkend, Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing