We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitemead Forest Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have been here many times and can't fault it we have a tent and use an electric pitch on grads we have no complaints.
pitch is adequate showers are clean and hot swimming pool the grandchildren love it so enough said the entertainment is brill for adults and kids alike the bar snacks are plentiful and good value?Will we be back? In fact we are booked for next weekend for olly murs tribute show and can't wait

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 558 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the first time for a weekend at the beginning of March - transpires my husband booked the wrong weekend and we arrived 4 weeks too early but this was rectified by reception!
Decent bar and restaurant - lovely location - only minor issue is that the pool facility is flooded with children. I wholly get that it's a family resort but it would just be nice to have some quality time in the hot tub without a group of under 10s!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed at Whitemead again and found it as ever a great place to stay for children and adults alike. Loads to keep the little ones occupied and the staff ensure there is always something different to do or try.

We were lucky enough to stay in one of the refurbished lodges. It had been renovated with thought and care, putting right a number of the issues the old lodges had or have.

The jewel in the crown is the Sunday lunch, perhaps for some the simplicity may be off putting, but don’t let that fool you, you’ll enjoy a great Sunday roast well cooked and served to you by good staff, who are friendly and helpful. Great for a lazy Sunday lunchtime!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spitfires_at_dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been staying at Whitemead for about 20 years, usually with a big group of friends. We love the area and the park. When the apartments were first built we thought they were great. But the fixtures and fittings are now looking rather tired. When one apartment was updated last year we expected a rolling programme of refurbishment, so we were very disappointed to arrive this year to find we were still stuck with the same broken fridge and freezer (nowhere to stand the milk and no fronts on the freezer drawers) that we first complained about 3 years ago. We were told they couldn't get replacements that fit, but that's not good enough 3 years on. The markings are worn off the hob and cooker, the enamel is worn off the tap, the amount of cutlery supplied is pathetic. The sofa bed is awful, instant backache for whoever is unlucky enough to have to use it and the bathrooms are very tired looking, though at least last years rotten floor in the ensuite had been replaced. All in all, the apartments are in urgent need of an update. At the moment they let the otherwise lovely park down.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LabOwner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed in a woodland lodge over half term, which was clean and tidy and recently refurbished. These lodges lack decent sound insulation and when it rains it sounds like you are in a conservatory. Space is good for 3 though I wouldn't want to be there as 6 as its intended. The pool and other facilities are great on site and as you're set in the middle of the forest walking is plentiful.

You won't get wifi out and about here, and sat navs struggle, which left me with a bit of a dilemma. How do I navigate the forest walking and cycling with the family. While the staff offered to find a map online for me, I thought they might have sold explorer maps for the area, or have a good local map available, but there was nothing! This I found a little strange, i can't have been the only person to go there and not know the local area that well.

Would I go back, yes but probably when its a little drier and warmer, it can put a whole different perspective on things.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeywills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great facilities in a lovely area. Cycle rides from just outside the park and super pubs and attractions around. We found the entertainment really good, not top names of course but talented people and friendly DJ and compere. Only negative was the noise staying in a ground floor apartment, it's luck of the draw probably with who's upstairs, but you do hear every step up above. The cabins are a much better bet and worth the extra.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor apartments, too much noise from upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBLALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Found this site when the one we'd planned for was flooded out. We arrived at the site with Campervan and tent at around 11 in the morning, and staff were happy to check us in and allowed tent and van on one pitch - keeping the price low even for non members.

Winter rates, with four on one pitch made this site excellent value, and with access to the leisure centre included we were all very pleased.

Showers were clean and warm, facilities were well maintained.

We ate at the on site bar on Saturday night, with somewhat basic pub style food on offer. Saturday night entertainment was a rock cover band, and considering how dark and miserable it was outside, this was far preferable to a night hidden in the van.

As it was quiet, staff were happy for us to leave the tent while we went to the bore in the morning, and weren't bothered when it wasn't gone on time for the 11am checkout.

A great site to visit with a group in the off season!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ashv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkend
2.8 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
796 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
692 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Belfry Hotel
The Belfry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littledean
141 reviews
3.2 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#4 of 4 in Parkend
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitemead Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitemead Forest Park

Address: Lydney GL15 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney > Parkend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Parkend
Price Range: $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitemead Forest Park 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitemead Forest Park is a Leisure Retreat owned by CSMA Club. The Park lies in the heart of the Forest of Dean and offers a perfect base for exploring this stunning area. Our log cabin and apartment accommodation is modern and spacious and you can even bring you tent or caravan to make the most of the great outdoors. Our extensive facilities and program of entertainment offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Whitemead Forest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitemead Forest Park Hotel Parkend
Whitemead Forest Park Parkend, Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing