We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitemead Forest Park
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Fantastic location set in the forest yet all mod cons in accomodation many of which allow dogs our main eason for repeat visits. Rooms are looking a bit tired in the apartments but we have been many times and never tire of this place. lovely pool and restuarant

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liberty777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    178
    64
    37
    11
See reviews for
296
59
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I (seniors) had a family holiday in late October with our daughter her husband and grandsons.We stayed in the bungalow which we found very suitable for 6 people.The facilities at the site are excellent and there are plots for campers,caravans,RV's and there are many wooden chalets available.I took my cycle and the boys hired bikes locally and we used the very good cycle trails in the forest. The on site leisure complex was used every day by our eleven year old,sometimes swimming twice a day.Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay at whitemead. There was 5 of us and our dog staying in a 3 bed log cabin. 3 children loved the log cabin as did we. However kitchen needed updating but everything there that you needed. Cabin was warm and comfortable and big enough for all of us. The veranda of the cabin overlooked a large pond with ducks that the children liked to feed.

Theres a lovely indoor swimming pool with jucuzzi beside which we used daily. There were no children's activities on during our stay as out of school holidays. But we had plenty to do. Walks and bike rides in the beautiful forest. Pottery making at Kourus crafts in lydney. Swimming in the lovely clean leisure centre in whitemead.

We ate at a couple of local pubs, The Fountain which was cheap and o.k. The Miners Arms which was not good and quite expensive. But if you want a really good meal about 5 miles away in a village called Joyford is a pub called The Dog and Muffler where the food is fantastic but portions are huge so next time I won't be having a starter. They have restaurant and bar, you can eat in bar area too whichais where we ate and dogs are welcome here too. Although it was Thursday night and fully booked we were lucky to get a table. So booking advisable.

All in all a fantastic stay at Whitemead, would recommend to anyone. We booked to return in new year before leaving.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123slc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Our third visit to whitemead-we love it!
Plenty for the kids to do, relaxing for the adults, lots to see and do locally ( highly recommend beachenhurst,clearwell,puzzlewood and mallards pike)
Lovely quiet and clean!
Superb shop with excellent service and not overpriced.
Food good on site, fountain pub is nice too (5 min walk)
AL's chippy in next village is also superb!
On site swimming pool, hot tub,sauna,steam room, kids play area, games room, bar,cafe, restaurant...all lovely.
Make sure you take a torch!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great location in the forest of Dean lots of interesting places to visit. Good food in the restaurant and nice modern bar. Great swimming pool good facilities. Good area for cycling and walking. Lots of nature,bird's wild life.
The lodge we stayed in was nice but needed a little bit of tlc.would recommend it though as the site was in a really nice setting great for dogs and dog walking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Have been going to Whitemead Forest Park for the last 5 years and have always thoroughly enjoyed it. Its great for large family gathering (as we use it for!) as theres lots of space, cafe/restaurant/bar/evening entertainment/pool/gym/sauna & activites on site!! What more could you ask for!? Apartments are quite large and most things are catered for. Will keep coming back if they have us!?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymooner0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s. wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Excellent site, stayed 2 nights in motorhome, is one of the best sites I have stayed in, plenty to do, food in excellent. Pool and spa was very clean and the night time entertainment was excellent. Would definitely go back and possibly stay in the site accommodation as it looked very clean and modern.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkend
2.8 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
10.7 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitemead Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitemead Forest Park

Property: Whitemead Forest Park
Address: Parkend GL15 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Parkend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Parkend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitemead Forest Park 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitemead Forest Park is a Leisure Retreat owned by CSMA Club. The Park lies in the heart of the Forest of Dean and offers a perfect base for exploring this stunning area. Our log cabin and apartment accommodation is modern and spacious and you can even bring you tent or caravan to make the most of the great outdoors. Our extensive facilities and program of entertainment offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Whitemead Forest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitemead Forest Park Hotel Parkend
Whitemead Forest Park Parkend, Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing