We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great park, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitemead Forest Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in an apartment during the first week of April when the weather was very cold. The apartment was huge, the kitchen well stocked and an en-suite bathroom a bonus! The site is lovely, plenty of open spaces for children to play and the pool is great. The site is in a great location with plenty to do on the doorstep.The only downside to the accommodation was the temperature. The heat is supplied by small electric wall heaters and on the first night the whole apartment was freezing. The staff at reception were very understanding the next day and provided us with an oil heater which heated up the lounge nicely. The apartment was much warmer when the sun shone as the 2 windows in the living room and the one in the main bedroom got the sun most of the day.
Overall a very relaxing break, helped by no Vodafone reception, and would visit again, but we may take an extra heater next time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Whitemead Forest Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 516 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family stayed for 4 days during Easter week (2 children 10 and 6). We had an upper apartment overlooking grass/field area and forest which we was pleased with. Apartment was spacious, clean, everything worked and had great views with a car park space right by it. Woke every morning to the sun shining and was pleased we didn't book a lodge as they were shaded by the trees. There were plenty of indoor and outdoor activities for the children to choose from during the day (activity programme set up by the park itself during school holidays), evening entertainment, good pool (splash time allocated at certain times of the day when the floats came out) although could do with being a little warmer, also sauna/steam room and jacuzzi (that was like sitting in a hot bath :) ). We could go off for walks in the forest from the park itself or plenty to do/visit locally. Shop onsite but there is a Tesco in Lydney (5 mins in car). Also on site in main building is a café/restaurant, bar and soft play area. Overall we had a great few days away, great park, great location and would visit again.

Room Tip: Apartments overlooking grass/field area have good views and short walk from main building
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed at Whitemead in the Forest of Dean at Easter for the past 7 years and always enjoyed ourselves. This year we stayed in Nos. 17 Ponside and No. 30 Woodside Lodge for 3 nights over the Easter Holiday. We were six children and six adults. First of all the flooring in No.30 was split and had buckled which was very dangerous in the lounge, there was some green stuff either growing up through the floor or it was something that the handyman had tried to mend the flooring, but we could live with that. We decided to have Easter Sunday Lunch in the smaller of the restaurants because with 12 of us £14.95 per head in the more expensive restaurant was just that. What a huge mistake. We had six children all very hungry fromn running around the grounds and first of all had to wait half an hour because there was only one young man serving, carving and serving vegetables. We were then told that all the beef had run out and that there was only turkey left. The whilst still waiting to be served, we were told that the turkey had also run out. ie no meat left by this time is was 1.45 pm and we had been waiting for 45 minutes. Eventually, a lump of trukey was served so that our children at least were fed. I have never seen such poor management in the restaurant at Whitemead and the reason was that all the food and resources were put into the more expensive restaurant where there was several choices of meat plus an adequate number of people serving the people there.

When I mentioned this to a member of staff they just shrugged their shoulders and walked away

Not good enough Whitemead.

Room Tip: Room No. 17 Pondside is nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver R, Manager at Whitemead Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

In response to the above comments, I’m really sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the standard of service you encountered at Whitemead Forest Park. We serve Sunday lunch in two rooms, the ‘Venue’ and also the café which is less expensive due to the fact it is more informal and is self-service, which is suited to our ‘on-the-go’ customers. The café carvery is subject to availability and for this reason; we don’t usually allow bookings and do encourage larger parties to dine in the larger restaurant, which has table service and reserved seating. Easter Sunday was an exceptionally busy day for us and in hindsight we realise it was a mistake to book such a large party into the café on such a busy day but we always endeavour to accommodate individual requests. We’ve never run out of food before and we can assure you it will never happen again. We can only recommend that any large group looking for Sunday Lunch dine with us in the Venue where we can cater for every need and provide a high standard of service. Once again, I apologise for the service you encountered and we do hope to see you back at Whitemead again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here with husband and 2 kids aged 2 & 4. Last minute break and got good deal. We found the park fantastic. Great pool facilities, small soft play but kids loved it and great kids entertainment and activities. Large grasses area where everyone was playing ball games. Really nice setting. Only downside was that the lodge was a bit dirty. We washed all the pots and even hovered the floor. We didn't let this spoil our holiday though as I have seen much worse in other places. We will return to the park next year but will stay in one of the apartments next time. Great time away though. Park was great and staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked one of the apartments that can cater for up to 6 people, but on this occasion it was used only my wife and I who were taking a long weekend in the depths of winter to meet up with some friends. It had been snowing quite heavily and the lanes around the Forest of Dean had been blocked. The weather forecast was continuing cold with overnight frost it was all very "White Christmas" despite the fact that it was now the end January.

Our first floor apartment benefited from parking close by and it was very spacious for two, good for four, but we thought cramped for six people. It had 2 bathrooms (1 en suite) and a kitchen / dining / lounge area that had an impressive large panoramic window with a view over the fields. To reach the apartment we had to climb an external staircase made of wood with about 15 steps. We noticed a small warning sign on the landing about wet steps - and more of this later.

Once we had settled in we soon noticed that attention to detail was sadly lacking. The management thought these were small and easily rectified issues, but we were only staying for 3 nights and did not want to make a fuss - just relax and unwind. The list of things we picked up included:
* the TV would not work owing to a poor connection in the aerial lead
* the toaster would not function properly
* not until we tried to use the telephone - in an emergency - did we realise that the connection cable was damaged and there was no line in or out
* the kitchen units were very dated and had been much repaired so probably need replacement
* the carpets were badly marked and had not been cleaned adequately. We found pine needles left over from someones Christmas tree and dead flies by the window
* One of the main light bulbs was faulty so the lounge was very dim during the evening
* A tap was dripping badly in one if the bathrooms despite a stated eco-friendly policy
* The bed in the master bedroom was a standard double yet there was room for a king-size and the mattress was due for replacement.

Other facilities on site included a gym and swimming pool, a restaurant, a bar and coffee shop. We ate on the Friday evening at the restaurant and can report that the room was extremely chilly and not very welcoming and the meal itself was mass market frozen food that was barely average.
The swimming pool was small - far too small for when the site is full in the summer - and that too might apply to the restaurant and cafe.

Overall, we felt that Whitemead Park is set in a very pleasant and undiscovered part of the country, but that the site and its facilities need significant upgrading.

Finally, as a postscript, on the morning we left I discovered to my cost that the temperatures overnight had been -6C so the landing and stairs we had to go down were covered in black ice and had not been treated. The result was a very heavy fall and a slide down several steps followed by a stay and subsequent visits to hospital and around 6 weeks where movement and activity have been impossible.
I've had a letter from Whitemead wishing me well, but not admitting any responsibility or duty of care.

If we do re-visit the beautiful Forest of Dean we will not be going back to Whitemead Park!

Room Tip: Avoid a first floor apartment in inclement weather or if stairs are not your thing.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laverdaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have been coming to this park for many years and have stayed in the apartments and used our own caravan. This year we has an apartment with a dog, the apartment was ideal for what we wanted but could do with up dating the carpets were worn and marked they would be better with laminate in the ones they use for pets. We also found the noise from the above apartment very noisy and I'm sure they found us just as noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joycewalesengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We've been staying at Whitemead Park for years and have seen it grow and develop. We loved the apartments when they went up, though they desperately need the refurbishment they seem now to be undergoing. This February the apartment we stayed in had broken fridge compartments for the third year running and all the markings were worn off the cooker. Also the floor in the en suite shower room felt as if it was rotten underneath the vinyl flooring. This observation apart, Whitemead is a lovely place to stay - it has all the conveniences of a holiday camp - a central swimming pool and entertainment complex, shop, children's playgound etc - with no feeling of crowding. The whole site is spacious, green and pleasant and very dog friendly. Dog walking in the lovely Forest of Dean is just yards away through gates in the fence and both local pubs allow you to take your dog in the bar, where you can eat. The apartments are warm, spacious and comfortable and most allow dogs. There are also log cabins with their own verandahs or you can bring your caravan/motorhome or camp. This year they have even added a 'Glamping pod' although the family in our party who tried that this February, quickly upgraded to an apartment instead! Whether taking part in the many outdoor activities available in the Forest of Dean or just wanting to chill out and relax, I highly recommend Whitemead.

Room Tip: Our preference is for the apartments rather than the log cabins - the bedrooms are much larger (thou...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LabOwner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkend
2.8 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
753 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
496 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
211 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
664 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitemead Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitemead Forest Park

Address: Parkend GL15 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Parkend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Parkend
Price Range: $77 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitemead Forest Park 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitemead Forest Park is a Leisure Retreat owned by CSMA Club. The Park lies in the heart of the Forest of Dean and offers a perfect base for exploring this stunning area. Our log cabin and apartment accommodation is modern and spacious and you can even bring you tent or caravan to make the most of the great outdoors. Our extensive facilities and program of entertainment offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Whitemead Forest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitemead Forest Park Hotel Parkend
Whitemead Forest Park Parkend, Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing