We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of Cowley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cowley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Stay”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Overall we had a pleasant couple of days with the outdoor pool and hot sun was a good combination. The indoor pool is also very nice and associated steam / sauna etc.

The food was generally of a good standard but a few minor irritations let it down (stale bread at breakfast twice and slowish breakfast service) We sat outside on the terrace for all our meals looking over the lake/pond was pretty much idyllic.

The decor is interesting and the whole feel is different from the norm which is refreshing. The main building has communal rooms i.e lounge, bar etc that seemed under used even the hotel was busy'ish, so it maybe lacked abit of atmosphere - however for couples this was nice advantage as you were left alone

The staff were all very helpful and friendly and didn't seem to get in the way and u felt asif you had the run of the place...

The room had some nice touches, CD player, alternative mini bar, split level bathroom, good selection of toiletries and comp large bottle of water each night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    195
    111
    63
    27
See reviews for
168
440
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The niggles - Intermittent Wi-Fi, phone system struck by lightning, being greeted by a Seat Car salesman telling me where to park as to not disturb their conference......did I mention the intermittent Wi-FI? (Theres no A/C but that we rediscovered windows!)

This was our second time at Cowley and despite the niggles we will be coming back. Staff are young, willing, able and eager to please. The location with river and lake walk is fantastic. The spa with its great outside and indoor pools is well laid out and never feels crowded. There were allot of Kids about but well behaved parents kept them in order.

We recommend:

Lunch and Dinner on the Terrace when the weather allows.
A game of pool with G&T before supper.
Letting the waiter choose your wine for you. (We went by the glass)

Lastly unlike other hotels in this class the owners have kept the charges and prices in check. Its probably the most on the button pricing for food etc you'll find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingkingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I just spent the weekend at Cowley Manor (2 nights) and we have been disappointed with this hotel. Room are not up to the standard you would expect for a hotel with 4-5 star. Furniture is equilavent of what you would find in a normal Novotel and they have coloured walls with some weird, unexpensive Dulux kind of purple / green etc colours. I imagine it is supposed to give a sense a "cool" atmosphere but it rather misses the point.
Service was equally bad: there was a matress that was hanging in the lobby next to the door of our room and that stayed there for the entire weekend. Wifi was not working in the room and so was the Bose ipod dock. There was no air conditioning. What went terribly wrong was the fire alarm started ringing at midnight + and kept on ringing every 15min for something like two hours... All the guests eventually came out their rooms and complained. Staff was trying to help but I imagine it is possible to somehow switch off the alarm and avoid it to ring for two hours on a Saturday night... Next morning the staff had completly forgot about it and did not even apologise when we checked out.
Breakfast was nice though and the view from the terrace quite amazing but that is just not enough. We will not come back: we heard one woman complaining to the staff that "she felt unconfortable paying that amount of money for the room and the level of service." We think she was absolutly right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romain_fontenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Cowley Manor. We loved everything about the place. We stayed in a "great" room and it was huge-much bigger than we had expected. The grounds are beautiful and the spa and swimming pools were wonderful. The weather was perfect,so we got good use of the outdoor pool and sun loungers. The only reason my overall rating is 4 stars is because the hotel does not have any air conditioning. There was a fan in our room,but the room was still very hot at night time. Also,we had no phone reception there,which can also be a good thing too!
Overall,a very relaxing break in lovely surroundings. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverage29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just spent the day here at the outdoor pool, having afternoon tea and drinks. Everything was fabulous. The staff are really friendly, the changing rooms have everything you need. The sun loungers are comfortable and there is a bar by the pool. The pool was also heated and although the weather was glorious it was still lovely to have the chill taken off the water. The afternoon tea was value for money £15, add on a glass of champagne for £20. Our order was messed up so they gave us a free glass of champagne to apologise. The shop they have onsite is also great, lots of really lovely resort wear and jewellery. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairmont123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were so lucky with the weather - the 3 sunniest days of the decade! Cowley Manor is an utterly scrumptious getaway, with everything you could wish for. The spa, the pools (indoor and outdoor) the grounds, the rooms, the service, the food....honestly, I think this is the loveliest place to stay in the Cotswolds. The staff are friendly and attentive, the hotel is funky and welcoming - so stylish and contemporary, melded so cleverly to the historic old building, with lots of art and attention to detail. The toiletry products are superb - and you can buy them in the lovely hotel shop. The hotel is not too big - so it feels personal and relaxing - and every view is a picture postcard - but not a buttoned-up, conventional landscape: the gardens, while stunning, are left a little to nature, where appropriate, so there are wildflowers, and butterflies and bees - and that relaxed, yet stylish ethos exudes throughout. The C-side pool is amazing - perfect for a little indulgent me-time. Our room was a "great room" number 31 - huge and fab. It was very quiet, and we loved it. At the pool especially, it was so hot that my friends and I thought the staff should have a summer uniform - (we thought lavender polo tops and bermuda shorts) - but the staff do look smart in their black and white, and are a credit to the hotel. The only thing that would improve the experience, is to have larger cups or, better yet, mugs in the room rather than the small coffee cups. We do like our mug of tea in the morning! But really, I can't fault Cowley Manor. It's perfect.

Room Tip: Room 31 (a "great room") was lovely. Very big, and the 4 windows had lovely views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadaboutSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our second time here...and we love it. It is a great place to stay and get away from London. It's in a fantastic setting and on a sunny day it is lovely to sit outside or wander around the grounds.

Dinner was very good, the food was of a high standard but it was the personal service that made the evening all the more enjoyable. The waiter was friendly and helpful and the restaurant manager who was very knowledgeable and recommended a good bottle of wine.

It could do with some improvements though. There is a slight lack of atmosphere in the dining room and the room overlooking the garden where we had drinks before dinner could have done with some background music. The furniture in this room is also not that comfortable. The room was fine but there is no aircon so it can get hot and a bit noisy if your neighbours are up at odd hours.

Breakfast next day was a bit muddled...the food was fine but I think that they are understaffed as the waiters were running around a lot and didn't have tables set outside ready for guests when they arrived and everything took a long time. We didn't mind too much as we were not in a hurry.

Overall a lovely break, would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowley
6.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,308 reviews
14.5 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
720 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
797 reviews
19.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley Manor

Property: Cowley Manor
Address: Near Cheltenham, Cowley GL53 9NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cowley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Cowley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowley Manor Hotel Cowley
Manor Hotel Cowley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing