We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay - expectations exceeded!”
Review of Cowley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cowley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Cowley for five nights last week from Sunday to Friday and we enjoyed every minute! We booked as a special treat to celebrate my 30th birthday so we had high hopes for a great week as I had spent a long time choosing where to stay for the occasion. I chose Cowley as I liked the look of the soft, contemporary decor, lovely looking grounds and also the variety of food on offer which, compared to other venues, seemed to be at a reasonable price.

I am often disappointed, but not with Cowley! We thought the decor was great, quirky but not too in your face and complemented the building. We loved the grounds which had so many little areas to explore or the beautiful terrace and lawn right outside. The spa area was great with the outside heated pool being a highlight. The food also offered exactly what we wanted which was something at any time of day for any level of appetite from very relaxed to formal. Breakfast every day was delicious with more choices than we could even manage in five days! Our room was spacious and well appointed with a great bathroom and lots of lovely toiletries. We were most impressed however by the staff. Everyone was friendly and attentive but equally let you just get on and relax. We really felt at home and were very sorry to leave! There were a few kiddies around and always people having lunch or dinner but it never felt busy. We obviously were there mid week which meant it was quieter which is what we wanted.

If you want somewhere relaxed, comfortable and with a soft quirky twist in an amazing setting then I would highly recommend Cowley Manor. It is expensive but we felt it was worth it given all of the facilities to use and the excellent service. We will return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viccle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 889 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

I booked a one night stay by myself as a break from family life and so I was really disappointed to find the spa overrun by excitable young children. Not very relaxing. It was impossible to swim in the pool as they and their parents were using it like a children's play pool. When I complained to staff about the repeated dive bombing nothing was done. Other child free adults were hiding out in the sauna hoping for some peace but the children even came in there! There should be limited access to the spa for children.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for one night only in an Exceptional room, the room was part of the stable block on the first floor with a private terrace and bath set by the huge glass windows in the bedroom.

The room was generously proportioned with some nice touches, selection of magazines, good mini bar, Nespresso machine and towelling robes etc. Large selection of DVDs on loan, and
I-dock, and CD player. A complimentary half bottle of champagne was in the room.

The dressing table was so crowded with machinery that it couldn't be used as a dressing table and we had to crawl on the ground to find a power point.

The grounds are wonderful, so do find time to walk around the lakes and water features.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matilda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The sun is out and I am sat on the terrace having a lovely crayfish salad a good glass of wine enjoying the beautiful view with the sound of the cascade water fall in the back ground ! Cowley manor never fails to impress me!!! come for lunch dinner or a stay I always feel miles away from anything !!! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A wonderful place in amazing grounds. The room was simply stunning. Great food.
The downside was that, being half term the place was overrun with young children. Thundering feet the whole time. I felt like We were the only people there not a part of this massive house party. I will try to go back in term time next time. The staff we very welcoming and helpful, although it did get a little over the top at times. We tried to get out of the door without one of them leaping up to open it. Seemed so unnecessary. A nice touch was having all the Hunter wellies available.

Room Tip: We had I think one of the best rooms right in the centre overlooking the garden, and can recommend i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morwenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Got married here a couple of years ago and went back to stay in feb. I am prompted to write this as I have recently stayed in a more famous but less superior spa hotel. Cowley manor has it all. Great genuine staff. Great room and facilities. Fab room. Just fab fab. There were some problems with our last stay such as cd player not working despite reporting it nobody came to fix it. No water or glasses in room on arrival. Mini bar not restocked. Bath oil not replaced after I accidently dropped it in the bath and it was so good I really was disappionted I didnt have any left. These might come to a lot of bothering s but really would not stop me from going again which will will be doing shortly. Fantastic stay thank you

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

It's a beautiful house, in a beautiful location. The pool is fantastic, and the rooms are fabulous. I was here five years ago and there was definitely a more upbeat feel to the place back then, but I think that may be the fact that I was here midweek.

However. I came here for a midweek break to get away and do some work away from the office. Unfortunately the lack of a decent connection anywhere in the hotel caused me a real problem.

It's 2013 - and I don't need a minibar, or an in-room cd player (CDs - remember them?) I don't need a library of DVDs, I just need an internet connection. And Cowley Manor doesn't have one. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: If you are in the main house (not the stable block, which I've heard is lovely), ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowley
6.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,444 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
764 reviews
19.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,086 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley Manor

Address: Near Cheltenham, Cowley GL53 9NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cowley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Price Range: $187 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Cowley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowley Manor Hotel Cowley
Manor Hotel Cowley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing