We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Slad Farm(Corse Lawn)
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveler rating
576
173
45
26
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
173
45
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade biscuitsground coffeeduck pondloose leaf teawine listtea leavesbowl of fruitswimming poolcheese trolleyhome madeblack puddingproper coffeereal milkmueslicountry hotelbottled watermain course
Filter
Updating list...
585 - 590 of 830 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I've eaten at Corse Lawn before but this was the first time I'd stayed in the hotel. My cousin with whom I was sharing this stay, hadn't been before and was bowled over by the setting, location, look of the hotel and the room, service and food, so much so that she's booked to go back there with her husband later in the year.
Our room was excellent, with loads of space, comfy chairs and beds. It overlooked the garden and swimming pool at the back of the hotel and had all the home comforts we could have wanted - proper coffee and a cafetiere, leaf tea, fresh milk, home made biscuits, a fridge and a lovely bowl of fresh fruit. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped.

The food was excellent - fresh ingredients, beautifully cooked and served and reflective of Corse Lawn's well-deserved place in the Good Food Guide. We ate both evenings in the Bistro, where there was plenty on the menu from which to choose. We enjoyed breakfast very much as well, so thank you to Baba Hine for that. The second day we had breakfast in our room, and the standard of the food was just as good as we'd had in the dining room on the first day. We thought this was specially good as we had boiled eggs and poached eggs, which it would be very easy to have over-cooked in the delivery to our room. But they were perfect - we guess the product of lots of years of experience.
The service was similarly top-notch, from the warm welcome and continuing hospitality we received from Giles Hine, to the attentiveness (but not fussiness) of the staff, to the generosity of the chef in sharing a recipe with us.

Room Tip: Our room at the back was quieter, but the rooms at the front overlook the beautiful pond and front gardens, so it would be a matter of individual preference.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corselawn, Owner at Corse Lawn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for this. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Loved the location and food on our first visit we have just returned for a 2 night break with our friends and our dogs. Wonderful food good service and lots of nice touches in room inc fresf fruit great tea and coffee , fresh ill and homemade shortbread .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiegreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corselawn, Owner at Corse Lawn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Delighted to hear you had another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The house is Queen Anne owned by the Hine (brandy) family set in 12 acres. Whilst the decor is a little dated the room are large & include real coffee, homemade cookies & a bowl of fruit. The food is superb. Facilities include a swimming pool, tennis court, croquet & table tennis.

We went on a Groupon break which was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ridoutrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We arrived quite late, about 8 o'clock in the evening, and there was nobody at the front desk. A waitress came walking out from the restaurant, but didn't acknowledge us, or notify anyone that we were there, so we instead rang the bell. A gentleman then came through from the restaurant (if only the girl had told him we were there, we would have felt so much more welcome) and showed us to our room. He was friendly enough, but we weren't told about check out or breakfast times. We couldn't find this information in the room folder either, so ended up asking about it later on. The room however was lovely, can't fault it at all, very spacious, and I personally loved the quirky interior.

We then went on to have our meal in the bistro, which is more like sitting in a pub really, I felt a bit overdressed, as I expected more of a bistro/restaurant environment. The food was nice, perhaps a little bland, but beautifully presented. What completely let it down was the incredibly slow service - very friendly, but we had to ask for someone to take our order, then ask to have our plates cleared after the starter, and it took a very long time for our mains to appear. I had a gull egg starter, which was lovely, apart from that the eggwhite was a bit see through and runny in one place, a real pet hate of mine, but because everything took so long, I didn't mention it, but just didn't eat that bit instead. The mains were very nice, but again more attention had perhaps been given to presentation than flavour, as they lacked a little seasoning. We had considered having dessert, but having sat down at 8.45, and it was nearly quarter to 11 by the time we had finished our mains, I had almost lost the will to live by then, and just wanted to get out of there, so we didn't bother.

The grounds are absolutely fantastic, there's lovely seating outside by the large pond with carp fish, and our room was lovely. We were surprised at all the dogs staying though. We love dogs, so it wasn't a problem to us, but I can see how some people might find it a bit offensive to be sat having your meal in the restaurant, and see a dog being walked more or less straight past your table. We have stayed in other hotels were dogs are allowed before, but then they are usually restricted to certain areas. They would not walk through the restaurant area and use the main entrance by the reception.

In the morning, we were looking forward to our breakfast, but were again a little disappointed. There was nobody there to welcome us, but we were advised by the gentleman at the reception to just sit down at any table laid up for two, so we walked in. We were sat there a couple of minutes before a waiter turned up and gave us a menu. The selection was nice enough, but as they seemed a bit short of staff, perhaps it would be better to have a breakfast buffet, rather than having orange juice, cereal, yoghurt etc offered as a starter on the menu, to be brought by the waiting staff.
Again we had a long wait for our food and when it arrived, my omelette wasn't 100% cooked through, and my partners black pudding was raw in the middle. I realise we didn't give them a chance to put things right, as we didn't complain, but the service was so slow that we just couldn't be bothered.

I don't normally write reviews, but I just hope that someone from the Corse Lawn will read this, and try to address these issues, because overall we did have a fantastic stay, and we would love to come back and find that the little niggles we had with the slow service had been sorted out!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corselawn, Owner at Corse Lawn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

I am really sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the service here, it certainly sounds as
if something went wrong, as it is usually one of our strong points, but obviously we were poor
in your case, and I am very sorry. We do undercook our omelettes unless we are asked to
cook them through. We have all, as a team, noted your comments and will do our best not
to slip up again. Should you decide to risk us again, introduce yourselves and we would like
to offer you a welcome drink as an apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife and I along with two of our very special friends, spent a mini break at the Corse Lawn House Hotel last week. From the time of arrival to departure, the staff look after our needs with the highest level of professionalism. The double bedrooms were spacious and adequately furnished, with more than sufficient storage space and a very comfortable bed in which to relax after a busy day exploring the Cotswolds. The hotel is set in its own very well established, mature, grounds and is in easy driving distance of many of the Cotswolds popular attractions. We had a meal on the evening of our arrival in the Bristo which had an choice on the menu, would suit everyone's culinary taste. The breakfast, which was served in the main restaurant, again offered a wide selection on the menu to start the day. The only downside, was that we were not staying longer. We have no hesitation in recommending the Corse Lawn House Hotel and will certainly be making another booking in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews