We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't ask for brown sauce at breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Spent rwo nights here, an old fashioned hotel. in a nice setting but nothing else for miles around. The general decor takes you back to the 60's with it's overpainted anaglypter wallpaper.
Dinner was OK but breakfast was a shamblles on both mornings with one poor girl left to serve all the guests, so service incredably slow and to top it off when I asked for some brown sauce with my cooked breakfast was told they "don't do brown sauce". I later asked the receptionist why and was lold the male owner(since deceased) had a pet aversion to the stuff!!!
Would not consider another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank botty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 784 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Arrived late afternoon to find the sun disappearing behind the trees and the corner of the hotel so no sun to enjoy an early evening drink outside the front where the tables and chairs are located, but a lovely setting despite being rather a bit of a drive to nearby Tewkesbury and Gloucester, but a very charming country house.

Here for just the one night for the cuisine which didn’t fail to please (apart from too many nuts in my pistachio brownie not to my taste and no brown sauce at breakfast) plus a nice selection from the wine list.

Not particularly memorable views from the ground floor bedrooms but they were very large and very clean, plenty of desk space and hanging space. A nice touch which sets it apart was the ground coffee and loose leaf tea in the room. There was also home-made biscuits, a large fruit bowl and fresh milk in the in-room fridge (although the fridge wasn’t plugged in and I had to follow the lead to do so). An iron, hair dryer and trouser press were also provided. The bathroom was also very spacious and very clean, with large bath, bidet and bathrobes. Bed too was very large and comfortable with enough pillows and a turn down service although no chocs left on the pillow :-(. Slept well, not disturbed by the noise from other guests.

All staff we met were welcoming and polite, which started by being shown to our room on arrival, friendly and courteous service at dinner, breakfast and the bar. Dinner started with some gratis hors d’oeuvres but we didn’t find these particularly enjoyable. Also felt that the formal rooms were looking a bit tired.

Ample parking space. Nice 30 min walk around manicured grounds, stumbled across the croquet lawn and the tennis court, equipment for both being stored in a garden shed so no excuses for not trying these out, and if you had the right footwear, a footpath that led off through the field. The outdoor tennis table had faired the worse for rain and bird muck and the indoor pool was warm and sizeable but looked a bit grubby, maybe because of the concrete rather than tiles, so we didn’t venture in…. just one unisex changing booth, no shower by the looks of it.

I would definitely recommend a visit. It is difficult to remember that this is only a 3 star, it warrants much more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBReading_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here the night for my first anniversary. Very welcoming staff, lovely big rooms with period furniture. Tea, coffee and fruit in the room is a nice touch too. Excellent food and restaurant service, with a fab wine list.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_Ett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A few weeks ago, my colleagues & I went here for a birthday lunch. We have all previously eaten here which is why it was first choice as a treat.
It all started off very well, with fabulous service from front of house. We were seated on a table which had 3 chairs one side and a 3 seater-sofa on the other. This baffled us slightly, anyway brushed over this and eagerly anticipated our food.
The food arrived and was beautifully presented. There was not much space on the table and we struggled to place the bread board. I did ask for one of the waiters to remove any unwanted glasses and he only managed to remove 3 from the table and did not return.
Starters had been finished and we waited a fair time to have the plates cleared. Our main course arrived. With the lay out of the table and the sofa the waiter had to stretch over or pass hot plates to the person who happened to be sat in the middle of the sofa. We are all fairly amenable but when you book into a place as highly recommended and liked by many you don't expect to be on a sofa for a 3 course meal, or leant over when serving!
Towards the end of our main course, some had finished but a couple were still eating. We were in plain sight of the waiting staff so there was no excuse for the next actions: First, one waiter came up and was just about to start collecting the plates without asking whether we had finished, however something was mentioned and he apologised and walked away. Now this can pass for a one off, but for it to happen for the second time was less excusable. On the third occasion a different waiter came in and started to collect plates, he didn't even look up until I mentioned that someone was still eating. This was terrible and not the service that is expected.
Disappointed with the service of the waiting staff that day. This will definitely prolong our next visit as :(

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I've dined here on and off for the last 30+ years and have never had a bad meal. The service is excellent (the staff really can't do enough) the food is always seasonal, local and yummy and beautifully presented. This hotel is one of my favourites so much so that I've (my parents) have booked my wedding (blessing) luncheon here for January 2014 as I'm getting married in the Caribbean in December and a lot of family and friends can't make it so the blessing and luncheon will be at my local church and my favourite local Country House Hotel.
The last review from the wedding has made me even more excited!.
Simply can't wait until Jan '14 to eat some delicious food with family and friends in the beautiful Hotel- Corse Lawn house Hotel.
To those who've never been here before, if you like the finer things in life, love A beautiful typically English country house then this is the place to go and relax, enjoy and soak up the surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SazO79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After viewing many other hotels and potential wedding venues in and around Worcestershire we decided upon Corse Lawn and are very glad we did. We had 50 guests to our wedding which was held in the Room followed by a delightful wedding breakfast in the main dining room. A further 40 guests joined us in the evening for a buffet and disco.

The ambiance and character of the hotel was wonderful with use of both the picturesque public area at the front of the hotel and the private garden and patio to the rear of the hotel off the dining room.

Our wedding guests commented on the high quality of the food including a locally sourced cheese tower and smoked salmon which is smoked in their own smokery. The efficiency and friendliness of the staff was second to none including the reception staff who assisted in the arrangements in the lead up to the wedding.

The bedrooms are large, comfortable and full of character. Our guests who stayed at the hotel commented on the tea making facilities (including loose leaf tea) and delicious homemade biscuits.

We simply can't fault a thing and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for a wedding, family party or other personal occasion/celebration.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at Corse Lawn House Hotel in May this year on a Travel Zoo offer. The hotel is in a lovely setting in the middle of no where it seems!! It was a beautiful hotel with a very nice big room which had plenty of tea/coffee making facilities and yummy home made biscuits. The receptionist was fantastic, all of the food was amazing, homemade and delicious, some of the best I have ever tasted and we have eaten in some of the top resteraunts england has to offer. The sun was out and it was just perfect. Would go back there at any time we loved it, faultless. Go There.....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poshpedicures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corse Lawn
9.7 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
764 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
556 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
687 reviews
10 mi away
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
2.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corse Lawn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corse Lawn House Hotel

Address: Corse Lawn House Hotel | Corse Lawn, Corse Lawn GL19 4LZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Corse Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Price Range: $127 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corse Lawn House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Queen Anne listed building set in 12 acres of gardens and fields. Owned and run by the Hine family (of Cognac fame) for the past 37 years. AA Top 200 rated hotel and recent winner of 'Country Hotel of the Year' (awarded by the Good Hotel Guide). Award winning restaurant is the heart of the hotel alongside a popular bar bistro. Children and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corse Lawn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corse Lawn Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing