We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very spacious room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I decided to treat my wife to a rare night away and found the Hotel and staff very friendly and a perfect location. The room and the bathroom was large and very warm perfect considering all of the snow around. They had thougt of everything you needed in the room and more, yes it might of needed some updating but you would spoil the feel of the place, lovely lady on reception with the right attiutde,very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordan400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
There are newer reviews for Corse Lawn House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 755 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited Corse Lawn over the Easter Bank holiday on a Travelzoo Offer which was very good value.

The hotel is handy for handy for Tewksbury, Gloucester, Ledbury and those going further into Wales and the West Country. It was easy to find and check-in was quick and painless. Corse Lawn stands in pleasant grounds with attractive surrounding countryside. The building is period rather than modern purpose built accommodation; whatever it lacked in facilities made up for in character and charm. We had a warm, sunny room with good views. It was light and spacious. The décor was nicely matched, subtle and attractive although the soft furnishings were showing some age and wear.

We liked the tea and coffee making facilities. There was real ground coffee with a cafetiere in the room with homemade shortbread biscuits and real tea (leaves and a strainer!). There was also a most welcome bonus in the form of a bowl of fresh fruit. Any hiccups (sometimes guest induced) were quickly sorted. The bed, sofa and Chairs were comfortable. The bathroom was fine and well equipped and the plumbing was certainly effective in delivering very hot water but tended to be noisy at night (as were the fans) and low on pressure and flow in the shower.

We loved the well-run restaurant; it was well staffed with people who were professional, well trained and attentive. It was a real pleasure never having to put any effort into getting a waiter’s attention; in fact, all our encounters with hotel staff were excellent. We had a good quality prosecco for aperitif which was served with a tasty amuse bouche in a pleasant lounge. The wine menu had a good selection of wines by the glass and offered an excellent selection including a good choice of bin end offers. The food was first class. We had scallops to start which were delightful (and plentiful in a time when some restaurants will serve a single scallop!). My main course was venison (best ever) and my partner loved her lamb. We both had battered banana and chestnut ice cream for dessert – you have to try it.

Breakfast was individually served which I always prefer to a buffet arrangement. The choice was wide and individual variations were catered for on request. Checkout was pleasant and efficient. On the whole a really enjoyable stay, quite simple we were glad we came!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Large rooms with everything you could need in the room including home made biscuits and fresh milk. The rooms are very traditional in style. We were in the suite which was massive. We played croquet in the afternoon and the location is great. The staff are attentive without being intrusive. We went on a travelzoo which included dinner and breakfast but not tips which I was surprised at. We were able to tip the next morning . They take your order when you are sitting by the fire before you go in to the dining room. They provide hor d oeuvres while you wait. You are encouraged to dress up here which we liked . The food is amazing and a great selection. Breakfast was also good. The orange juice was freshly squeezed and again there was no scrimping on ingredient s. this hotel would suit an older or rather more traditional audience. The swimming pool was not open and is a bit like a pool in a greenhouse. I am sure it's lovely in the summer. There is also a tennis court with racquet s and balls provided

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgangeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband booked a special deal for a one night stay with 3 course meal and breakfast through Travel Zoo as a birthday special for me!! Striking house and grounds gave foretaste of a traditional country hotel stay. Excellent service from the well trained, professional, staff from the beginning, polite, helpful and FRIENDLY too! Room on first floor with view of pond (cases carried by porter-posh eh!) with huge comfy bed and en-suite. A nice touch is the fresh fruit bowl and home made biscuits with proper ground coffee(cafetiere), leaf tea(teapot) and real milk (in a small fridge). Real attention to detail for things done properly. Especially wonderful was the roaring log fire (On a cold snowy windy night) whilst we had pre-meal fizz and canapés. We actually met the 'Boss lady' then, who actually lives-in and controls her staff with a rod of iron (great character too!) The restaurant was busy but service was quick and efficient. The food was EXCELLENT and wine WONDERFUL! Took coffee in the lounge again. Breakfast was excellent and cooked how YOU liked it (eggs etc) nothing was too much trouble and staff were frankly phenomenal! This hotel really made my Birthday SPECIAL.

Room Tip: Just ask if you have any requirements
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coral A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 7 course taster menu through Travelzoo & after reading 5 star reviews on Tripadvisor our expectations were high. The hotel grounds are very pretty but the decor inside is outdated & the welcome was subdued. The food & service were ok but not spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petepfeiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely large room with sitting area, but all needing a bit of tlc to update and maintain decorative appearance. The bathroom also needs a bit of work.....water pressure was very poor! Fruit and biscuits were provided and proper coffee, loose tea, and milk . The restaurant was very quiet for a Saturday night and lacked a bit of atmosphere. However the food was good and the staff very attentive. The lounge area had an open fire which made it nice and cosy. Overall we enjoyed our stay and found the hotel to be warm and inviting with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatty-head29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This striking hotel was comfortable and well styled. It is best suited to the majority of its clientele; well to do older couples and groups. I'd recommend to my mother but perhaps not my 'thirty something' friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corse Lawn
3.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
524 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
9.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
849 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corse Lawn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corse Lawn House Hotel

Address: Corse Lawn House Hotel | Corse Lawn, Corse Lawn GL19 4LZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Corse Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Price Range: $130 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corse Lawn House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Queen Anne listed building set in 12 acres of gardens and fields. Owned and run by the Hine family (of Cognac fame) for the past 37 years. AA Top 200 rated hotel and recent winner of 'Country Hotel of the Year' (awarded by the Good Hotel Guide). Award winning restaurant is the heart of the hotel alongside a popular bar bistro. Children and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corse Lawn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corse Lawn Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing