We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely delicious but rather pricey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tudor Farmhouse Restaurant

Tudor Farmhouse Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Clearwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $63
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our head chef Martin Adams is committed to quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Most are sourced from producers within a 20 mile radius of the hotel who share a passion for real, home-cooked seasonal food, served in a memorable and relaxed atmosphere.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious but rather pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal at the Tudor Farmhouse restaurant - melt-in-the-mouth lamb for my main course followed by sticky toffee pudding. Lots of excellent flavours, well executed and presented.

The 5* rating is for my meal - my boyfriend was a little disappointed with his scallops as the plate was cold and he felt they were on the underdone side.

We both felt that the price was a little steep but the service was exceptional, so overall an excellent dining experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ADiscerningVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Dear A DiscerningVoyager
Thanks for taking the time to write the review of your meal from February. Apologies for the delay in responding.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    28
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent service, very good food, lovely dining room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We met friends for lunch, midweek. Not our first visit and we have generally been satisfied here. We thought the place had been given a bit of a lift, appearance wise.The dining room was very smart.Service from Meshell was friendly and efficient. Food was imaginative and surprisingly good based on previous experience when we felt it was nothing special, just OK.Quite good value too. Worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mainwearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Mainwearing
Thanks for taking the time to write this review of your recent lunch at the Tudor Farmhouse.
I'm glad you enjoyed your lunch. Our chef Martin is celebrating his first anniversary at the hotel and is delighted you enjoyed your meal this time.
I'm equally pleased you like the slightly "spruced up" dining room and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you want to be looked after and indulge in a quieter place then look no further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a good pub for tea but kept being turned away and ended up here. Perhaps there is such a thing as fate! Very warm welcome, beautiful building, comfy seats, lots of extras thrown in, excellent service and really tasty food well worth the slightly higher price tag and the longer drive home!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GilesBramwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear GilesBramwell
I'm glad fate lead you to our door! Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lot of lolly for not a great deal - rather disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were taken to this restaurant in October by friends that live near St Briavels (local-ish) and had come across a flyer at a local food fair. They hadn't tried it before and the meal was a "thank you" for us having organised a super holiday abroad.

There was nothing actually wrong with the food or indeed, the wine. Having said that, I didn't leave the table feeling as though we had had a gastronomic experience. The biggest problem was the size of the portions - they were so small that when we returned to our friends' house, we opened a box of chocolates because we were all still hungry! When I looked at the menu, it seemed that the cost of the food would be £35 each or so. Cheap by some standards but there are plenty of establishments that serve good quality food at considerably less cost. I felt really sorry for our friends because they were also somewhat disappointed.

The service was fine and we were well looked after by the friendly staff.

One last thing - I used the lavatory as we were leaving and there was no soap available. There was no-one immediately to hand and that sort of thing is unacceptable in any restaurant.
So if you are hell bent on lashing out, by all means try it but I wouldn't beat a path to their door again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charenteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear charenteboy
Thanks for taking the time to review your meal with us.
I'm delighted you found the service to be good and you felt well looked after.
I'm sorry you didn't feel completely full after your meal. I don't know when you came or what you ordered and would be very keen to discuss this with you if you could call me on the hotel number.
Our dinner menu is designed to be eaten as a three course meal which includes complementary bread, an amouse bouche, a starter, a main course, a dessert and optional coffee with petits fours. We regularly eat in the restaurant ourselves, have healthy appetites, and are never left feeling hungry. It is very unusual for any guests to comment that they are still hungry at the end of the meal and we always make sure anyone ordering less than three courses is aware of how the menu is designed and check on how you are enjoying the meal both during and after. Of course, additional potatoes and veg are available at no extra cost should the need arise. The menu does fluctuate somewhat but on average the cost of three courses is approximately £35/£36 which we feel is exceptional value for money given our commitment to sourcing our products from the best available local suppliers as well as the time taken to prepare the dishes.
Regarding the soap in the bathroom, both the ladies and gents have White Company Soap dispensers fitted beside the wash basins which are refilled on a daily basis and our reception immediately adjacent to the toilets is staffed until approximately midnight.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation and lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had lunch here yesterday, our daughter had stayed here for 2 nights to attend our Nephews wedding in Clearwell Castle, having seen her room we can say the accommodation is beautiful.

Lunch was very good, beautifully presented and delicious, we would definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GLOBETROTTERS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear GLOBERTROTTER09
I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I hope you'll decide to return and explore the area a little more sometime in the future and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Very best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tudor Farmhouse Restaurant also viewed

Clearwell, Forest of Dean
 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
Newland, Coleford
 
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Tudor Farmhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing