We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay after a wonderful wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales (UK)
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay after a wonderful wedding”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent one night after a wedding at Clearwell castle near by. The place is brilliant! Not only it has lovely rooms, beautiful surroundings and breakfast to die for; they were so accomodating and full of lovely touches. They let us have access to the room although it wasn't ready just so we could get ready in time for the wedding. The room had lovely, big umrellas we could borrow. They had been in touch before to check about possible allergies and check in times. All the staff was lovely, friendly and very helpful. We definately recommend it if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Dear SarahBubble
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay last year and I'm sorry it has taken so long for me to reply.
I'm delighted you had such a good stay and would thoroughly recommend re-visiting this beautiful area in the future when you'll have a bit more time to explore.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    117
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
65
416
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NORTHANTS
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely break here to celebrate s special birthday, hence we booked the superior room 7, I was a bit disappointed as the room seemed rather small and for £170 a night I think was overpriced. Other than your own front door and Jacuzzi facility in the bath we didn't feel there wasn't anything to justify the amount charged. We would stay again but opt for a standard room. The breakfast was very good and so was the evening meal. We visited symonds yat rock and the views were stunning, also Ross on Wye was a great stop off for shopping and restaurants. Overall would give the hotel 4* but would choose a cheaper room next time .

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JOJO46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Dear JOJO46
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and please accept my apologies for the slow response.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and meals as well as making the most that this beautiful area has to offer.
While our Ciderhouse Rooms are a bit more expensive that the standard rooms we feel that they are quite competitively priced compared with similar rooms elsewhere. I'm sorry you did not feel it represented value for money and am delighted to hear you would consider staying again in another room.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Fundamentally this is a good hotel with the rooms decorated and kitted out to a high standard. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food good.

However, the room is by no means cheap and so I therefore have an expectation of a good restful nights sleep which I actually didn't completely get:

The mattress was very firm in our room and I woke several times on the first night with aching bones but, after mentioning this to reception in the morning, they put a mattress topper on the bed which sorted the problem out for the second night. They also said that no one had mentioned this before, so perhaps it's just me.

But much more of an issue for us was the noise form the garden tables and chairs in the courtyard garden just outside our room. It's a lovely picturesque garden and the outdoor seating is perfect for aperitifs etc before going into dinner. However, people also used these tables into the late evening and were talking and laughing until 11.30, keeping us awake long after we'd have ideally wanted to be asleep. Perhaps, again, other people might not be as sensitive to this as I am

Anyway, we had a great break in the Forest of Dean and will return to the area again, although probably not to this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JudyH008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Dear JudyH008
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and apologies for the time taken to respond.
I'm sorry you found the mattress uncomfortable on the first night. This is very much an area where its difficult to cater for personal preference and this is the only instance that I'm aware of that anyone has found our pocket sprung mattresses uncomfortable. I'm glad to hear this problem was resolved by fitting a mattress topper for the second night.
Apologies also that noise from the garden kept you awake until 11.30pm. We are on the whole lucky to have considerate guests and it is unusual to receive any complaints.
I hope on reflection you might consider returning again. Our newly refurbished rooms in the Farmhouse are beyond earshot of the garden and have been fitted out to the same high standard as the Ciderhouse Rooms with roll top baths and monsoon showers.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a brilliant short break, was pleased to discover that we had been given a free upgrade to the "Loft Suite". What a great surprise and a beautiful room. Overlooking the garden, with horses, chickens and ducks roaming the fields. Hospitality and the excellent restaurant were superb with great and friendly service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Dear Ray A
Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic review and apologies for taking so long to respond.
We're delighted you had such an enjoyable break and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a delightful small hotel in the middle of the village. Rooms in differing styles, sizes and prices are scattered in various buildings, all close to the main building. We were in the main building and the small room had charm and character. The very small bathroom was compensated for by the nice large fluffy white towels. The cottage garden made a lovely place to have a delicious cream tea in and then drinks later. Dinner was good too, one night my duck breast was quite exceptional. The staff throughout were excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear MLL79
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I am very pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay, I'll pass on your lovely comments about the staff and food.
We hope you will consider returning in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely little hotel! Stayed for a summer escape in the forest, three nights, two with amazing dinners in the restaurant!
Beautiful garden to sit in the evenings with a local cider or beer. Within easy reach of Forest of Dean, Symonds Yat and all the surrounding area.
Would definitely recommend to those who like a little escape in the Countryside!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Emma J
I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your summer escape.
We are extremely lucky to have such beautiful unspoilt countryside on our doorstep. I'm glad you were able to make the most of it and enjoyed the food and hospitality whilst at the hotel.
Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from spending our minimoon at the Tudor Farm House and had a brilliant time. Booked 3 nights and ended up staying 4 as we enjoyed it so much! On arrival they upgraded us to the cottage suite foc.
The food in the restaurant and service were both excellent.
All staff were very friendly and helpful.
Will definitely return and recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SJSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear SJSUK
Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review. I'm so pleased we helped make your "minimoon" a memorable one and you decided to stay an extra night.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwell
3.9 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
671 reviews
11.5 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
12.2 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
699 reviews
10.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
545 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Property: Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Address: High Street, Clearwell GL16 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Clearwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former working farm lovingly converted into a stylish boutique hotel. Our 20 characterful room and suites feature roll top baths, monsoon showers, Nespresso coffee machines. Our award winning restaurant offers mouth-watering seasonal dishes and was described as a "Culinary Oasis" by Tatler Magazine. We have free superfast fibre-optic wifi throughout the hotel. The Forest of Dean and Wye Valley is a region rich in natural beauty and outdoor activities, castle, culture and heritage and world class food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Tudor Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Farmhouse Clearwell
Hotel Tudor Farmhouse
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel Clearwell, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing