We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from spending our minimoon at the Tudor Farm House and had a brilliant time. Booked 3 nights and ended up staying 4 as we enjoyed it so much! On arrival they upgraded us to the cottage suite foc.
The food in the restaurant and service were both excellent.
All staff were very friendly and helpful.
Will definitely return and recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SJSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear SJSUK
Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review. I'm so pleased we helped make your "minimoon" a memorable one and you decided to stay an extra night.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    114
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
63
411
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The staff are first rate from booking to checking out. The food is excellant we ate on two evenings and had the tasting menu with wine on one occasion. My wife is vegetarian and this was no problem for the chef. Breakfast is also of good quality.
There are a range of rooms differing substantially in price. We had the cheapest, a Junior Barn room. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom at the point of needing a refit. The rooms only have a dormer ceiling window. The room was too warm at night and the weather wasn't particularly warm so beware if hot.The bed was double not kingsize.
Location is good with easy access to the Forest of Dean
This would be 5 star plus if the room was better.

Room Tip: if choosing a junior barn ask for a dowstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Logistical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Logistical
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay - I so glad you had a good time and found the service and food "first rate".
The room you stayed in in the Junior Barn is due a refurbishment this winter so I hope you will be tempted to return next spring to see the changes we have made.
Very best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Really enjoyed our weekend stay at Tudor Farmhouse. Beautiful setting, great room, amazing food and lovely, very helpful staff. At the top end of our budget but completely worth it. We thought it would be good given the reviews and our expectations were exceeded!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor of the main building which we loved but would not recommend to anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear HazelM1980
I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Tudor Farmhouse, thanks for taking the time to write this review.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Second visit to this hotel. Great place to stop on business or holiday. Lovely village to walk around and good lounge to sit in in the hotel.
Food is very good - lots of local input.
Breakfast good too - good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesDeans86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear JamesDeans86
Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I'm delighted you have enjoyed your previous visits and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We returned to celebrate our anniversary, having last stayed 26 years ago on our first weekend away - now married with children at university it seemed the perfect time to return. We were not disappointed. The staff are efficient and friendly, the grounds are beautifully kept. In particular the lovely seating area with a small selection of tables where tea/coffee or in the morning breakfast can be taken. The kitchen garden with chickens and ducks opposite is a delight and available for guests to walk round, as is the 14 acres of land. The Package included B&B for 3 nights plus dinner on 2 of the nights in one of the 'Cider House' rooms @ £500 - whilst not cheap the whole experience was excellent. The chef enjoys mixing flavours and techniques to bring the best out of the fresh local ingredients - meals are beautifully presented and served by great staff. The other guests were also very happy to chat in the relaxed garden area - this made for an especially pleasant stay. We will not leave it so long for our next visit - we are keen to try a room with a view!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a Cider House room - Room 7 - lovely but not a room to sit about in as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldBlueBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear OldBlueBird
It was wonderful to welcome you back even though we weren't the owners when you last stayed!
So pleased you had another great stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks also for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This fabulous hotel lives up to all the great reviews. The attention to detail is fantastic - lots of lovely little touches. We booked the entire hotel for a company conference and weren't disappointed! The food was sublime and the staff excellent. I will definitely be visiting again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Stavert
It was a pleasure hosting your group so I'm delighted to hear you had such a good time!
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor and we very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Tudor Farmhouse is a brilliant hotel, what a "find"! Unique rooms, each one located in what was one of the farm buildings, converted to a modern, tasteful bedroom. We had room 23, in the Cider House, complete with free standing bath and large walk-in shower, plus a Nespresso machine for fresh coffee. 5-star without a doubt. So why only 4-stars awarded. The restaurant let them down unfortunately. Our first evening's meal was excellent. My wife chose the pigeon breast which was cooked to perfection. But on our third evening, (we chose to try the pub next door on our second evening, which is well worth the visit), she chose the same. BIG mistake! The pigeon was like a piece of shoe leather. The dish had obviously been kept hot, and had overcooked. Fortunately the manager removed it from our bill, so all's well etc. Thank you for that. DO go, but be wary of dinner!

Room Tip: ANY room! would be good, but the cider house is very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladiatorlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear gladiatorlondon
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I'm delighted you had such a good time and rate the hotel so highly. We are technically graded as a 3 Star hotel, although star ratings are increasingly less important as travellers look to places such as Trip Advisor for guidance, so thanks again for your lovely review! To achieve 5 Stars, hotels are required to provide certain facilities and services which are beyond the means of smaller family runs hotels like ourselves - we'd prefer to focus our efforts on ensuring our guests have the most comfortable and relaxing stay and the best possible food.
On that subject I'm sorry the pigeon wasn't up to usual standards on your second night. We take extreme care when sourcing our kitchen ingredients but by its nature, game is often the hardest to guarantee quality every time. I'm glad to hear you were not charged on this occasion and I hope this will not deter you from returning in future.
Very best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwell
3.8 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
12.2 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
11.4 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
21.2 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Property: Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Address: High Street, Clearwell GL16 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Clearwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former working farm lovingly converted into a stylish boutique hotel. Our 20 characterful room and suites feature roll top baths, monsoon showers, Nespresso coffee machines. Our award winning restaurant offers mouth-watering seasonal dishes and was described as a "Culinary Oasis" by Tatler Magazine. We have free superfast fibre-optic wifi throughout the hotel. The Forest of Dean and Wye Valley is a region rich in natural beauty and outdoor activities, castle, culture and heritage and world class food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Tudor Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Farmhouse Clearwell
Hotel Tudor Farmhouse
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel Clearwell, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing