We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet country hotel with superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quiet country hotel with superb service”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely hotel on the edge of the Forest of Dean. The location is peaceful with beautiful walks in the surrounding area. We stayed in The Lodge which was spacious and tastefully decorated; with views of the gardens to the rear. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I booked this hotel having read a review in the Daily Telegraph magazine and was not disappointed. We were specifically looking for a place to stay so we could enjoy long walks in the surrounding area.
We are looking forward to returning in the near future.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzokW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear SuzokW
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Loft.
You chose a great time to come as the trees are now at their autumnal best. There's great walking in the area all year round though and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
I'll pass on your lovely comments to all the team.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    121
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
68
438
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel driving from London to see Billy Joel in Manchester and booked through Secret Escapes. The deal offered was excellent value and i was very impressed with the standard of accomodation. I would recommend Room 23 ( subject to my comment below) and the pwners had thought of everything from lovely dressing gowns to fresh mile in the 'fridge. The bathroom was absolutely outstanding with a super roll top bath and spacious shower. My only slight negative was that there is clearly a room upstairs and the sound-proofing was not great. However after an excellent dinner and a glass of wine this was not really an issue!

Dinner was excellent as was breakfast-the staff were very attentive and the service was of a very high standard.

All in all I think that this hotel is a little gem!

Room Tip: Room 23 is part of a Cottage with another room.Good size with an outstanding bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Ian B
Thank you for this review of your recent stay.
I'm delighted you enjoyed the room and food and found the team to be attentive.
We hope you'll find another good reason to take a diversion to visit us again in the future!
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews. It was expensive but from the pictures it looked beautiful.
Pros- The staff were helpful and friendly. It was very clean and quiet. The area was great for walking. The breakfast was good with a wide choice.
Con- I was disappointed when I arrived. We stayed a the byre. It was a bit like a shed building. It was dark because it was surrounded by banks that rose from all around.The rooms were cold and cheerless. The bathroom was very narrow making it difficult to dry by the side of the bath without burning yourself on the towel heater.We put on a fan heater to heat the rooms. The food was nothing special and rather pretentious.
Maybe the other rooms are better.

Room Tip: Do not choose the byre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear happyholAscot
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I'm very sorry we didn't meet your expectations in some areas.
As with all the hotel buildings, The Byre is a converted former farm building and was previously used as a milking shed. Last year we invested in a new heating system for this building, since when we've noticed an improvement in the warmth of the room. Had you brought the issue with the heating to our attention we would have been able to remedy the problem straightaway for you or re-located you to another room. In the light of your review we have monitored the temperature in the room and have not been able to replicate the fault. I agree the bathroom is longer than it is wide and I'm sorry if these short comings detracted from your stay.
On the positive side I'm delighted to hear your found the staff friendly and helpful and found the hotel a good base for walking.
We hope you decide to stay again.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Used this hotel to attend family event. Staff helpful, very accommodating for a toddler and extended family. Staff could not have been more patient and helpful. Food beautiful, room great. Would definitely visit again and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asterix103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear asterix103
Thanks for taking the time to write this review of your recent visit.
I'm glad all the family felt welcomed and looked after.
We very much hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Went here on recommendation and it was well worth it.
The rooms are very well thought out and very comfortable , we had the loft , it was perfect .
The whole place is set up and run around relaxed comfort, quality and excellent food.
After on line booking I had a call to ask about any needs, allergies or preferences , down to the type of pillow I preferred.
Dinner was a treat, beautifully presented food in nice surroundings. Breakfast was equally as good
Staff very attentive and helpful .
This is a great place for a high end break and a good base to explore the Forest of Dean area.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual and very well presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Bertie500
Thanks for this lovely review.
We make every effort to ensure all our guests have a great experience so I'm glad you appreciated the call about your preferences as well as finding the room comfortable and for food a treat!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best wishes
Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our made full use of the hotel, as it was my 60th we treated the family. My 2 sons/daughters-in-law and their children were both in excellent family rooms with adjoining sitting areas. We had a great double room.The little stream was an attraction for the toddlers, as were the ponies, ducks and chickens to the rear.
The food was excellent. As there were 7 adults eating on the 2 nights we were staying, we sampled a good range of the menu, and found it all absolutely super. The wine choice was spot on too.
The staff were very attentive, even suggesting highly appropriate excursions for us and providing special meal times for the children. We enjoyed walks in the forest (saw wild boar eating acorns), finding dragons at Tintern Abbey and cycling in the Wye Valley.
The family all want to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aa770044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear aa770044
Thanks for choosing the Tudor Farmhouse for your recent family celebration and for writing this review of your recent stay.
I'm so glad all the family enjoyed themselves and found plenty to do.
The Forest of Dean and Wye Valley have so many beautiful attractions so I'm sure a return visit would be worthwhile!
Hope to see you again ,best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked a late one night availability offer, and found ourselves in Room 22, in the Cider House. Beautifully decorated, with a comfortable bed with the finest feather duvet. The bathroom was spotless with separate walk in shower and bath, all with first class fittings. But really it was the thoughtful details that appealed: the hand made Mitcheldean soap, the fresh milk in the fridge instead of those nasty little pots, and a good coffee machine. The main hotel building is an old farm house, with later extensions, and the guest rooms are in the house, or in converted outbuildings like the Cider house, or in the Cottage or the old barn. There is a reception area, a small bar, a lounge, and two restaurant rooms. All freshly decorated, and furnished. The welcome was warm, the service friendly and always with a smile. Our waitress at dinner was Nanti, attentive and efficient, she explained the menu carefully, and all arrived perfectly presented. There is a good wine list, we had a small carafe of Chilean red that was excellent. The menu itself is inventive and imaginative, without being fussy or pretentious. It you're prepared to try some novel mixtures of taste and ingredients, you won't be disappointed, indeed we were delighted: bubble and squeak with quail's eggs was wonderful, rabbit terrine with a tangy relish, tender venison, bream with dumplings and little chicken sausages, all perfectly cooked, and much enjoyed. Home made ice cream and excellent local cheeses to finish. One of the best meals we've had this year.
Breakfast was just fine. We chose oak smoked salmon with creamy scrambled eggs on crumpets, and smoked haddock with poached eggs, local butter, granary toast, all spot on, as we watched cows grazing in the field just behind the hotel gardens.
In summary, a friendly welcome, warm comfortable hotel accommodation, with a first class restaurant, great service, with plenty of parking, all set in a pleasant little village.
For us it's the thoughtful touches that made up for dodgy mobile reception in the little valley, or maybe the odd footfall from an adjacent room. Touches like the hand made pottery mugs for tea in the rooms, wi-fi everywhere, and the bath towels that are frankly so good we bought one to take home from the array of Tudor Farmhouse related gifts for sale at reception.
We loved the place, and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonya999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear tonya999
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I'm delighted you enjoyed it so much and am particularly pleased you rated the dinner so highly.
Sorry about the mobile reception in the village but that's the trade-off for our lovely rural location!
Very much looking forward to welcoming you again
Regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwell
3.9 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
703 reviews
11.5 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
8.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,459 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Property: Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Address: High Street, Clearwell GL16 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Clearwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former working farm lovingly converted into a stylish boutique hotel. Our 20 characterful room and suites feature roll top baths, monsoon showers, Nespresso coffee machines. Our award winning restaurant offers mouth-watering seasonal dishes and was described as a "Culinary Oasis" by Tatler Magazine. We have free superfast fibre-optic wifi throughout the hotel. The Forest of Dean and Wye Valley is a region rich in natural beauty and outdoor activities, castle, culture and heritage and world class food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tudor Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Farmhouse Clearwell
Hotel Tudor Farmhouse
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel Clearwell, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing