We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a special occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a special occasion”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Came here for an anniversary meal upon recommendation from friends. As a fan of tudor history this little place is full of character and the restaurant was elegant but still held onto its history. Our meal was lovely and the service was excellent. Only little complaint would be I would like bigger servings but with 2 - 3 courses it would fill you up enough. We were fortunate to come on a sunny evening and enjoyed sitting in the beautiful garden which become beautifully lit when it gets dark. Would highly recommend for that special meal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MrsDippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear MrsDippy
Thanks for choosing to celebrate your anniversary at the Tudor Farmhouse and for taking the time to write your lovely review.
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your meal and the surroundings. As you said, the menu is designed to be eaten over three courses and we do discourage diners from just eating a main course.
We hope to see you again soon
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    121
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
68
441
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

(We Wanted somewhere with good food and a relaxing location. Based upon the reviews we booked this hotel).
Could not have been more pleased. Why?
Rooms - our room was spotless, had plenty of space, comfortable bed, and light and airy bathroom. In addition a nice small patio area outside, which was a great way to have some privacy with a bottle of wine, and enjoy the evening.
Staff - helpful, attentive but most of all personable.
Food - Just excellent. Mentioned by another reviewer - It is not only very good quality but the portions are designed for humans i.e. you don't sit there staring at a huge mound of food. This means you can enjoy a 3-course meal without feeling like you ate a whale.
Location - Easy access to surrounding towns and Forest-of-Dean. We took our mountain bikes but were unsure whether we would find any decent trails etc. In reality there are loads. I think we ended up at Coleford (Forest of Dean)where there are many trails - from family friendly (i.e. for us fair weather riders) up to the usual crazy off-road Red Bull adrenalin junkie routes.
We really can't fault the hotel. There are places to visit with a short drive of the hotel. If you want a Sunday morning walk before heading back home then you have a peaceful walk around the village.
Overall the best hotel we have stayed at this year.

Room Tip: "The Loft". A fantastic room, not the cheapest, but great if you welcome plenty of space a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanwellfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Hanwellfields
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well as making the most of the great cycling and scenery in the Forest of Dean.
I'm sure there are loads of cycle trails and walking in the area you've not yet discovered and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
Very best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charroux, France
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I am lucky in that I live only a short walk from this hotel and restaurant. I have eaten there twice and will certainly be returning. It is quality food, fine dinning, haute cuisine, whatever you want to call it. Portions are quite adequate but you will not stagger out clutching your stomach, which suits me.
They have an excellent wine list with reasonable prices, and the staff are very pleasant and professional. This is an AA 3 or 4 rosette rated establishment, I can't remember which, but is in the same league as a Michelin one star.

Room Tip: I have not stayed only had meals but there are always plenty of cars in the car park indicating that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoitouCharentesphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear PoitouCharentesphoto
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent meal and for your ongoing custom.
Our restaurant is actually rated as 2 rosettes (3 or more rosettes being very rare and usually accompanied by a Michelin Star).
We have yet to be inspected by Michelin (to our knowledge), so perhaps that's one for the future.
In the meantime I hope you continue to return and enjoy dining with us.
Very best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is so much better than the AA 3 star rating in my opinion. We stayed in the Cottage Suite for one night as we were wedding guests at the castle up the hill. Suite was superb. Super comfy bed. Lovely light through the skylight. I loved the dawn chorus and we don't get many cows mooing in London in the mornings! Bathroom was superb. You can tell a lot by the size of the towels and these are huge. Good shower pressure - unusual for the UK, especially in rural parts. Even down to the Nespresso coffee machine in the little kitchen area discretely designed into a cupboard. In the main building, lots of separate areas to enjoy coffee. Enthusiastic service and not pretentious. I appreciated the free and fast WiFi (once I figured out how to connect to it - not intuitive). Excellent breakfast buffet and the cooked breakfasts looked amazing, although unfortunately I was too hung-over to try one! All in all, good value for money. I would definitely stay there again and I will recommend to my friends who happen to be travelling in The Forest of Dean.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Humphrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Humphrey G
Thanks for taking the time to write the review of your recent stay at the Tudor Farmhouse.
The AA's rating system takes many criteria into account including whether or not a hotel provides a separate concierge service, swimming pool etc, so we are very happy with our 3 Star rating as it reflects our small, family-run hotel. A good indicator when trying to distinguish a good 3 Star from a less good 3 Star hotel is to look at the AA's percentage rating - ours has just been increased to 83% which is very pleasing.
Increasingly these days sites like tripadvisor is the method most travellers use to check the quality of an establishment before they book so thank you again for your positive review and we hope you will return to explore the area more fully in the future.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Family run hotel with olde british feel, yet modern touch. Very friendly, with amazing food. Couldn't fault our stay here. Been several times with young children & would return. Plenty of tourist attractions nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttamzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear tamsy28
Thanks for the lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel.
Looking forward to your next stay.
Kind regards
Colin & Hari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for a wedding anniversary weekend. The whole hotel is absolutely beautiful. The initial check in and greeting was excellent. Upon been shown to our room, I wasn’t entirely happy as our room was very hot, and only a small window, the weather was absolutely roasting, so we asked if there were any other rooms available. This was changed straight away with no fuss or being made to feel like you were putting anyone out.

All of the staff were absolutely lovely and really looked after us from start to finish.

The hotel, rooms, staff, restaurant (outstanding food), breakfast, everything was 5 star. We will defiantly be going back for further visits.

Room Tip: The loft - amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear MrandMrsPerry
Thanks for writing this glowing review.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accommodate you in a cooler room during the recent heatwave.
Whilst we can't promise such great weather next time we very much hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our first visit to the hotel, what a find. The room was perfect in a beautiful garden setting, with a shower to die for. The staff were very friendly and efficient, they were very flexible in their attitude to work, nothing was to much trouble.
We stayed for three nights and although the dinner menu was similar each evening we found plenty of choice. The quality of the food was excellent, breakfast was a very pleasurable experience top quality produce well cooked and presented.
Disappointed one evening to see a couple being served in the main dining room wearing walking boots and shorts! They seemed to be locals playing on the fact that they were known at the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 22 in a great setting overlooking a stunning garden. A great drench shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Princesshelen9
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review and I'm delighted to hear you were very happy with the room, service and food.
I understand that everyone has different expectations of what is acceptable restaurant attire. We aim to provide a relaxed and informal environment for our guests so do not have a set dress code. As we are in such a fantastic area for walking and its been such a warm summer I'm not surprised you found guests wearing cool outdoor clothes and I hope it didn't detract from your enjoyment of the meal.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwell
3.9 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
721 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
11.5 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,511 reviews
8.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
558 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Property: Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Address: High Street, Clearwell GL16 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Clearwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former working farm lovingly converted into a stylish boutique hotel. Our 20 characterful room and suites feature roll top baths, monsoon showers, Nespresso coffee machines. Our award winning restaurant offers mouth-watering seasonal dishes and was described as a "Culinary Oasis" by Tatler Magazine. We have free superfast fibre-optic wifi throughout the hotel. The Forest of Dean and Wye Valley is a region rich in natural beauty and outdoor activities, castle, culture and heritage and world class food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Tudor Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Farmhouse Clearwell
Hotel Tudor Farmhouse
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel Clearwell, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing