We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quintesentially English”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quintesentially English”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Family run hotel with olde british feel, yet modern touch. Very friendly, with amazing food. Couldn't fault our stay here. Been several times with young children & would return. Plenty of tourist attractions nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttamzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear tamsy28
Thanks for the lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel.
Looking forward to your next stay.
Kind regards
Colin & Hari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    119
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
67
427
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for a wedding anniversary weekend. The whole hotel is absolutely beautiful. The initial check in and greeting was excellent. Upon been shown to our room, I wasn’t entirely happy as our room was very hot, and only a small window, the weather was absolutely roasting, so we asked if there were any other rooms available. This was changed straight away with no fuss or being made to feel like you were putting anyone out.

All of the staff were absolutely lovely and really looked after us from start to finish.

The hotel, rooms, staff, restaurant (outstanding food), breakfast, everything was 5 star. We will defiantly be going back for further visits.

Room Tip: The loft - amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear MrandMrsPerry
Thanks for writing this glowing review.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accommodate you in a cooler room during the recent heatwave.
Whilst we can't promise such great weather next time we very much hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our first visit to the hotel, what a find. The room was perfect in a beautiful garden setting, with a shower to die for. The staff were very friendly and efficient, they were very flexible in their attitude to work, nothing was to much trouble.
We stayed for three nights and although the dinner menu was similar each evening we found plenty of choice. The quality of the food was excellent, breakfast was a very pleasurable experience top quality produce well cooked and presented.
Disappointed one evening to see a couple being served in the main dining room wearing walking boots and shorts! They seemed to be locals playing on the fact that they were known at the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 22 in a great setting overlooking a stunning garden. A great drench shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Princesshelen9
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review and I'm delighted to hear you were very happy with the room, service and food.
I understand that everyone has different expectations of what is acceptable restaurant attire. We aim to provide a relaxed and informal environment for our guests so do not have a set dress code. As we are in such a fantastic area for walking and its been such a warm summer I'm not surprised you found guests wearing cool outdoor clothes and I hope it didn't detract from your enjoyment of the meal.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
344 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were in Clearwell for a wedding and booked into this hotel, rather than the castle, as a result of previous experience of the rooms at the castle (very nice, but very impersonnel and all a bit of a production line). We stayed for 2 nights and found the staff friendly and proficient.

We were in The Loft which is great and has it's own little decked area over-looking the garden (good for morning sun, not so good in evening, but garden is great and quality seating provided). Others in our party were spread around teh hotel and all were complimentary of their rooms.

The grounds are well kept and peaceful with a good area just outside reception that is perfect if a few are gathering / socialising. As others have said the breakfasts were fantastic, lots of local produce and cooked especially for you, if I was to be ultra critical I'd change the bacon they use as it lacks flavour (being very picky here!!). There were 10 of us for dinner which was fantastic (and they catered for kids very well as well as fussy adults). Good wine list and not disappointed with any of the four bottles we managed to get through. Not so keen on the need to pre-order, but totally understand that to provide food of this quality at such a small establishment needs planning.

We were lucky to have very warm weather (including hottest day of year!!), which made the rooms a little stuffy but opening windows and a small electric fan made it tolerable.

No hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: The Loft is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear RandRI
Thanks for your great review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us when recently attending a wedding at Clearwell Castle.
Thanks also for helping us out by providing a pre-order for your dining group, it really does make a big difference when serving larger tables on busy nights.
Apologies you found the room a little stuffy. We unfortunately don't have air-conditioning but I'm glad to hear the fan in the room helped.
Whilst we can't guarantee record breaking temperatures next time, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Best wishes
Colin Fell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had 3 nights at this amazing hotel. The staff were all lovely and made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The grounds are lovely and peaceful and our room (room 11) was cool and very well equipped and was situated in a little courtyard. We had a little terrace under our window with a couple of wooden loungers, all very nicely done. The breakfasts were fantastic, lots of local produce and cooked especially for you. Dinner was amazing too. We were fortunate to have warm sunny weather which meant we ate all ours meals outside. Very good location for Wye River, we walked and canoed for the day up to Monmouth.

Room Tip: Room 11 was fantastic and cool in this hot weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear KarenS
Thanks for writing your lovely review of your recent stay.
Whilst we can't promise heat-wave conditions next time, we hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Colin Fell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had to book a last minute hotel for a business trip in the area - my meeting was in Chepstow and this was less than 30mins away in rural countryside, easy to find too.

I knew the experience would meet my expectations as I had checked out Tripadvisor first before booking - and Im pleased to report it didnt disappoint.

Easy to find, the property sits centrally in the main village of Clearwell and is with a very short walk of Clearwell Castle - there are 3 buildings on the site and a sizable car park around the back covered in gravel. The gravel car park is a minor irritation for those with rooms in the barn with the windows open - Im a light sleeper and was woken up early by cars and people tramping over it.

Didnt eat in the restaurant - fancied something less urbane so went to the pub (the Butchers Arms next door). The menu is all local fayre; clearly imaginitive and done to a high standard - the restaurant looked busy on the night we stayed there. People with a limited or fussy palate might find the menu challenging.

Room was good, some slight stains on the carpet but in otherwise good condition which chic country style decor and bare exposed walls. Selection of White Company Toiletries in the bathroom and the BIGGEST bath sheets Ive ever had in a hotel. Makes a change from the usual TeaTowel sized efforts most put out!! Bed also has to be the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in for a long time with crisp white linens.

Breakfast this morning before I left was bountiful, served with attentiveness. Again, all local produce from the Fruit Juice to the Sausages which makes for a riot of flavour and a full tum.

Would stay again for the right price/ deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Chippyqueen
Thanks for taking the time to write your detailed review of your recent stay with us. Its always great to hear from guests who've enjoyed their stay. I hope next time you're in the area on business or considering a weekend away you'll think of us.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Have stayed here twice and its a wonderful quiet location with an amazing breakfast. Would assume dinner would be as good but have not eaten there in the evening. Both rooms were lovely but the loft is even more special with its own little gateway and a terrace to sit on if you want

Room Tip: We were in the loft and both rooms were gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonJ225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear AlisonJ225
thanks for your fantastic review and apologies for the delay in replying. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon If you enjoyed the breakfast we hope you'll find our lunch and dinner to be equally tasty!
Best wishes
Colin Fell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwell
3.9 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
11.5 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
12.2 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
21.2 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Property: Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Address: High Street, Clearwell GL16 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Clearwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former working farm lovingly converted into a stylish boutique hotel. Our 20 characterful room and suites feature roll top baths, monsoon showers, Nespresso coffee machines. Our award winning restaurant offers mouth-watering seasonal dishes and was described as a "Culinary Oasis" by Tatler Magazine. We have free superfast fibre-optic wifi throughout the hotel. The Forest of Dean and Wye Valley is a region rich in natural beauty and outdoor activities, castle, culture and heritage and world class food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Tudor Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Farmhouse Clearwell
Hotel Tudor Farmhouse
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel Clearwell, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing