We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would love to go back”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently and it's such a lovely little hotel I can't recommend it enough. The room was great and we had a jacuzzi bath which was a nice treat. Lovely toiletries too.

We had a glass of prosecco in the beautiful garden while we looked at menus and it was so peaceful. The food at dinner and again at breakfast was excellent.

My only complaint is very minor, breakfast starts a little too late at weekends. Judging by how many other guests were down when the breakfast service started I guess we weren't the only ones to think that.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire-Biggleswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Claire
Thanks for the lovely review! We hope you can join us again in the future.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    121
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
68
441
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights whilst attending a wedding at the nearby Clearwell Castle. Room was clean and bed was very comfy. The staff were attentive and friendly. The breakfasts were very good, with locally produced food. Would be happy to stay for a longer break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Andy R
Thanks for taking the time to write your positive review of the hotel. We hope you decide to return again to explore the area more thoroughly. If you're thinking about a last minute get away then keep an eye out for special offers on our website!
Kind regards
Colin Fell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have now stayed at the Tudor farmhouse Hotel and restaurant five times and it only gets better each time. Not generally people who go back to a hotel, but this place has become a really special bolt-hole for us.

The accommodation is excellent. We love the cleanliness, quality, comfort and attention to detail in the rooms. We have so far stayed in three different ones. Our three course dinner was the best ever, so beautifully presented and full of wonderful flavours with ingredients where possible, sourced locally, The breakfast, again, just fabulous.

Can't wait to return. Well deserved top ratings. Book with confidence and enjoy!

R & A

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladyspipkin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear gladyspipkin53
Thanks for your great review and for becoming a regular guest!
Its great to receive lovely comments and recognition for the improvements we've been making and I'm particularly pleased you enjoyed your meal this time. Our new head chef Martin Adams has made an amazing start and we have just been awarded the prestigious "Best Hotel Restaurant" Award by Cotswold Life so we hope we can continue to improve as we continue our programme of ongoing refurbishment and improvements.
We're delighted you've chosen to return again and look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Tudor Farmhouse was a perfect location for our brief stay in the area. Excellent restaurant, room and general ambience. We will stay again, as on this trip we did not have sufficient time to explore the locality because we were due to spend much of the time in the Bristol area, just 45 minutes away

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NoGoodBoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear NoGoodBoyo
Glad you chose to stay with us when you visited the area and thank you for posting your review. Its definitely an area worth returning to as there's a wealth of scenery and history to discover in this relatively unexplored corner of the country.
Hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
Colin Fell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay for our long weekend in the Forest of Dean. 

We stayed in a Junior Barn Room which was very cosy.

The weekend we stayed here was during a mini heatwave and we were able to sit outside and drink cocktails along with home made scones which were lovely. Dinner in the restaurant was great as was breakfast with plenty of choice!


I would highly recommend staying at the Tudor Farmhouse to anyone exploring the Forest of Dean. It is a lovely place to visit and made our weekend away very special.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MexicoPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Mexico Princess
Thanks for your lovely review. We're so delighted you enjoyed your stay in June. Let hope the sun continues to shine this summer.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Colin Fell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding at the nearby Clearwell Castle which is conveniently only a 5 minute walk. We stayed in Room 23 which looks exactly as per the pictures on the website. Reception was very friendly and arranged for dinner to be brought to our room, we simply ordered off the regular restaurant menu rather than from a restricted room service menu. We were made to feel like anything could be arranged to make our stay wonderful. The room itself was perfectly clean, styled simply and thoughtfully in a contemporary, luxurious cottage feeling with an extremely comfortable bed. Nice touches include some complimentary homemade shortbread, a small carton of real milk in the fridge, a fridge with 2 bottles of complimentary water and a nespresso machine. Some things that could have been better would have been to have air conditioning or climate control in the room and a bigger tv. The bathroom was the showpiece though, with a huge walk in rainfall shower and a beautiful roll top bath. Toiletries were from the white company, bath salts or foam would have been useful too.
The food was excellent. I had the duck scotch egg, steak and chocolate creme brûlée, all absolutely delicious and beautifully presented, especially the desert. 3 courses came to just under £40 although i did opt for steak which was the most expensive main. Breakfast was good and at £10 per person reasonably priced. On the second day of breakfast though, they ran out of croissants, the eggs were overcooked and the bread was regular sliced bread whereas the previous day it seemed to be a selection of homemade breads. Service on check out was efficient with my bill ready and waiting for me. Although it was efficient and friendly, there was no "how was your stay etc" and I wasn't thanked for staying. All things that I like to hear to make me come back! Regardless, we love the room, the bathroom, the food and the setting. If we are ever back in clearwell we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angharad26, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear HB4
Thanks for your great review and the constructive suggestions - we always appreciate ideas on how to continually improve!
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again should you return to the area.
Very best wishes
Colin Fell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I went to the Tudor Farmhouse for a weekend prior to a significant birthday. We were joined by my sister and her husband who had stayed before and made the recommendation. Our rooms were opposite each other in an annex opposite the main hotel. The rooms were super, very nicely decorated and well equiped...our bathroom was something else; would I like to have transported it home? yes I would! The staff were all super and the food was great altogether we had a fab weekend thank you.

Room Tip: The two rooms in the converted barn were fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angharad26, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Fiona M
There's nothing more enjoyable from our perspective than to welcome a great group of family or friends for a special celebration. We are delighted you all had a good time and very grateful to you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Sorry we couldn't let you take the room home with you, but rest assured it will still be here next time you visit!
Kind regards
Colin Fell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwell
3.9 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
721 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
11.5 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,511 reviews
8.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
558 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Property: Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Address: High Street, Clearwell GL16 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Clearwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former working farm lovingly converted into a stylish boutique hotel. Our 20 characterful room and suites feature roll top baths, monsoon showers, Nespresso coffee machines. Our award winning restaurant offers mouth-watering seasonal dishes and was described as a "Culinary Oasis" by Tatler Magazine. We have free superfast fibre-optic wifi throughout the hotel. The Forest of Dean and Wye Valley is a region rich in natural beauty and outdoor activities, castle, culture and heritage and world class food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Tudor Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Farmhouse Clearwell
Hotel Tudor Farmhouse
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel Clearwell, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing