We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location in the Forest of Dean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This quaint hotel found in the valley village of Clearwell is in a glorious location. Located in the forest with all types of wild life including wild bore it is great for walking holidays or days out in Ross-on-Wye or Chepstow. Being so near to the Welsh border you will experience both cultures and with the friendly staff you will have relaxing time away with great food which is locally sourced- and some delicious locally grown white wine. It's a must!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angharad26, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear James W
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review and sorry its taken so long to reply. So glad you enjoyed your stay and walking in the area, I can report that the walking is even better now we have some sunshine and warm weather at last!
Hope to see you again
Colin Fell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 692 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Booked 1 night away as a treat for me and my husband. We had a late availability rate for one of the barn rooms (room 17) which included dinner and breakfast.

Check in was easy and very welcoming. The room was just superb. Everything is spotless. Beautifully decorated in neutral tones but very much in keeping with the building. The bathroom was just gorgeous and the monsoon shower was amazing! All White Company toiletries, bathrobes are provided and the homemade biscuits are a wonderful touch. The drinks are all Clipper organic ones.

We spent the afternoon relaxing in the lounge by the fireplace which was very cosy on the wet day we were there! The drinks are reasonably priced. Dinner was 3 courses and started with a glass of bubbly and some nibbles which was a lovely touch. The food was just superb, I can't see why a Michelin star wouldnt be on the way shortly! Beautifully presented and absolutely delicious, I struggle to think that anyone could find any fault with it. The service was also very good, not intrusive but very efficient and friendly - especially the young guy (didnt catch his name) who waited on us most of the night (and was there for breakfast service as well!). The wine range is very good and very well priced for the quality they offer. They also do processo by the glass which is great!

Breakfast was again fantastic, I had smoked salmon with poached eggs on crumpets My husband had poached eggs and sausage with toast. The contintental selection is also very good. And great coffee too! You can also choose to have breakfast in your room and a menu is provided in the rooms.

Could not fault this hotel at all and would highly recommend to anyone looking for an indulgent escape to the country! What a fabulous place!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angharad26, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Chino1
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Hope to see you again soon.
Colin Fell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

All round wonderful really. We had the Loft which was a big treat - not sure if other rooms are as nice or not. Staff were helpful and friendly. The dinner was really top notch. I'm a foodie so was very taken with the fact that so much of their food and drink is locally sourced. Breakfast was just as good. Loved it. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhdwfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angharad26, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear mhdwfa
We are so please you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly delighted you approved for our sourcing policy. We are incredibly lucky have a such a selection amazing of local produce on our door step and we do all we can to make sure we use these in the restaurant and give the the suppliers a little credit on the menu! Hope to see you again soon
Colin Fell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We chose to stay at Tudor Farmhouse for our wedding night just before christmas after reading reviews and seeing pictures of the rooms online. We were not disapointed. We arrived after a long drive from Gretna Green, recieved a warm welcome and were shown to our room- The Loft, it was georgeous. Tastfully decorated and furnished with the most stunning bathroom, I loved sipping champagne while relaxing in the beautiful roll top bath - bliss! We had a meal in the restaruant and were very impressed with the food, perfectly cooked and presented, the atmosphear and service were also very good. All in all a fantastic and memorable stay, it was expensive but worth it. One small point, as it was a special occasion we paid extra for the' romantic package' which included flowers, champagne and a 'hamper' full of local produce in the room, the flowers and champagne were great and exactly as expected but we felt the 'hamper' should have been described more accuratly, it was actualy a small basket containing a small bottle of beer and cider, a tiny bag of 6 bits of fudge and small pot of honey. A description of ' a little basket with some tasters of local produce' would have been more accurate.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mistyelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angharad26, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear mistyelms
Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review about your wedding-night stay. We are so glad we were able to help to make the occasion special for you. Regarding the comment about the "hamper", we do agree and have in fact updated our decsription to read "basket" which is more accurate. I'm glad this detail didn't spoil your stay and look forward to welcomeing you again one day.
Colin Fell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just returned having spent 2 nights over new year. We were late booking so had no choice on rooms, but stayed in the Byre a nice room with a separate lounge / TV area. This suited us as the weather wasn't so good whilst there. The food was lovely, beautifully presented with a varied choice - both dinner and breakfast. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Not the cheapest place to stay, but if you are looking for a treat this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honesty100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angharad26, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Honesty100
So glad you enjoyed your treat at the Tudor Farmhouse - next time we'll try and do sometihng about the weather for you! Hope to see you again soon.
Colin Fell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a two night break in the Loft. The room is stunning with the most amazing bathroom. The bath and wet room style shower with white company toiletries was a real treat.

Enjoyed a wonderful evening meal, the setting was cosy and romantic and the food outstanding. Presentation was lovely and we felt it was extremely good value for money. Breakfast is equally as good and the smoked samon and crumpets was Devine.

Really looking forward to returning ASAP! Definitely well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wakey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angharad26, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Wakey99
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon! Best wishes,
Colin, Hari and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We called at 8.15pm to say that because of the bad weather and a crash on the M4 we would not make it to dinner until 9.45pm. We were told that this would be too late and I offered to order by telephone so that it could work but was told that the food would not be perfect. We were offered sandwiches in our room which was not acceptable for a (birthday, romantic) dinner on a Friday night. When we arrived, having had to stop at a service station at 8.30 instead, we were disappointed to see food still being served and the restaurant quite busy. I think an effort could have been made to accommodate us as we came from London in terrible conditions and to be unable to order prior to arriving at 9.45pm is no great stretch for a Friday night. A shame.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lbaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angharad26, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Ibaring
I’m very sorry to hear you were not happy with the service you recently received.
It is our policy to say “yes” to customers whenever it is feasible to do so. We do however have to balance this aim against the inevitable constraints of being a small independent hotel (for example ensuring our kitchen staff have enough of a break to return to work fresh to serve breakfast the following morning). For this reason we do limit our dinner service to a 9pm finish (a standard time for a regional restaurant).
In this instance however there is no reason why we could not have taken your order in advance on the telephone and kept the food for you as you had suggested. On the night in question your call was answered by a less experienced member of the team and as we extremely busy was not referred to the senior manger on duty. Had this been done we would have happily accommodated your request and kept the food warm for you as long as required.
Once again I apologise for this drop in service levels and would like to offer you a complimentary dinner for two with us next time you are in the area.
Yours sincerely
Colin Fell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwell
3.9 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
796 reviews
11.5 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
1.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
147 reviews
8.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
612 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Address: High Street, Clearwell GL16 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Clearwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Price Range: $185 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former working farm lovingly converted into a stylish boutique hotel. Our 20 characterful room and suites feature roll top baths, monsoon showers, Nespresso coffee machines. Our award winning restaurant offers mouth-watering seasonal dishes and was described as a "Culinary Oasis" by Tatler Magazine. We have free superfast fibre-optic wifi throughout the hotel. The Forest of Dean and Wye Valley is a region rich in natural beauty and outdoor activities, castle, culture and heritage and world class food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Tudor Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Farmhouse Clearwell
Hotel Tudor Farmhouse
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel Clearwell, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing