We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Wedding Venue, Beautiful Spot, Lovely Staff and Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wyndham Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wyndham Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Clearwell B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wedding Venue, Beautiful Spot, Lovely Staff and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

We chose the Wyndham Arms as the venue for our Wedding. Having looked at other venues in the area, the Wyndham Arms suited our small wedding party of just twenty two perfectly. The hotel is well situated in the centre of the very picturesque village of Clearwell on the edge of the Forest of Dean. The rooms are spacious, well decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were fantastic and the staff were all extremely helpful.

Our Wedding was hosted by Charlie who helped us plan our menus and choose our wines, set up the room, made sure everyone was in the right place at the right time and calmed our nerves prior to the ceremony. He could not have been more helpful and accommodating. He ensured that the day went very smoothly and that everyone’s needs were catered for. The food was absolutely fabulous and we felt that we were treated like royalty. Thanks to the staff at the Wyndham Arms and particularly to Charlie, we had the most amazing wedding. We thoroughly recommend the Wyndham Arms as both a hotel and a Wedding Venue. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    110
    36
    42
    48
See reviews for
77
194
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redditch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed at the Wyndam Arms as we were filming a Wedding at Clearwell Castle and needed somewhere close to stay afterwards, rather than drive home through the Forest of Dean in the hours of the night. We made the right choice and had a lovely stay. Staff were very helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALCCreate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

Living locally it is nice to find a good restaurant with friendly, attentive staff.

The food was fresh and local and the service was excellent without being overwhelming.

Recommend!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank npt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

This the second time I have booked into the Wyndham Arms Hotel this year and have thoroughly enjoyed my time on each occasion.
The food is fantastic and staff were very polite and nothing seemed too much trouble.
Room was good value for money - clean, comfortable and practical.

See you again in the Autumn!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpw1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

We were able to get away for an anniversary weekend without our four children but needed somewhere that we could take our dog with us. We found The Wyndham Arms in Clearwell.
The service we received was excellent. The food here was gorgeous and presented beautifully. The bar has a real homely feel to it and perfect atmosphere.
Our room was spacious and very clean , the bed was comfortable and it was very quiet at night.
As we took our our two year old dog with us we also would like to say that he was very welcome at the Wyndham Arms and that he was fussed over , I think he would have stayed longer if it was up to him.
I would definately recommend this wonderful place to anyone and we will ,without a doubt, return . The Wyndham Arms is really worth a visit. Fantastic staff who go that extra mile to make sure you are happy and charming surroundings. Definately worth a stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manzano11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

superb location, ample parking and the manager even locked our cycles away safely in the orangery! restaurant/bar gorgeous and packed with customers on both evenings we were there. Superb choice of locally sourced food, at an incredibly reasonable price!, and they even changed the vegetarian option on my second night so that I didnt have to have the same thing 2 nights running. The best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel, Rachels organic yoghurt to start followed by a full vegetarian breakfast, and unlike most establishments this didnt just mean taking all the meat off of the normal breakfast, as I was served with veggie sausage AND fake bacon......and all this followed by local honey on toast. They sold a choice of 2 local real ales from the bar and a fine choice of local ciders and perry. Only downsides were the squeaky floorboards from the room above first thing in the morning and last thing at night (but it is an old building?), and the milk being hidden in an unlabelled draw beneath the kettle in the room. Would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieGog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Wyndham Arms was a surprise find, very friendly and welcoming staff. The accommodation is of a high standard and you can not beat the cleaniness. We stayed for bed, breakfast and evening meal and we could not have been happier with the food in the pub area or in the main resturant. This Hotel is great value for money and its very central to most of The Forest of Deans attractions and we would not hestitate to recommend this place to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clair165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwell
0.1 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
1.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 10 in Coleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
4.8 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyndham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Arms Hotel

Property: The Wyndham Arms Hotel
Address: The Cross, Clearwell GL16 8JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Clearwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clearwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wyndham Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oozing with period features, log fires and rustic charm, The Wyndham Arms Hotel is situated in the picturesque village of Clearwell between the beautiful Wye Valley and the Royal Forest of Dean. The hotel offers the closest accommodation to Clearwell Castle, the famous wedding venue, but is also ideal for those who enjoy walking, cycling and golfing in the Forest of Dean or simply wish for a romantic time away in a cosy inn with great food. The Wyndham Arms Hotel offers eighteen en-suite rooms of several types of comfortable accommodation from single rooms to double and twin rooms to family rooms to beamed four poster bedrooms and a sumptuous suite. The accommodation is situated in both the Manor House (circa 1347) and the adjoining Annex. The hotel bar combines rustic charm with a contemporary edge with oak flooring and tables and a large open fire place creating a relaxed atmosphere for lounging, drinking or casual dining. Local ales, cider and country wines accompany the menu offering classic pub classics with an up-to-date twist. The 'Old Spot' Country Restaurant is complete with a domed 'gaol', open stone walls, old oak beams and an open fire place. The exciting menu takes full advantage of the fresh, local and seasonal produce, cooked and simply presented to appeal to those who enjoy good food and described by Paddy Burt of The Daily Telegraph as '.....great stuff.....' Whether it's candlelight romance or relaxing with good company, our charming restaurant creates the perfect atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Wyndham Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wyndham Arms Hotel Clearwell, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing