We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Home (50th Wedding Celebration)”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Blockley B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Last year when planning our 50th, my wife and I decided to return to Blockley ( we were both born there in the very early 1940's ) and chose the Crown to hold our reunion and have a meal for 32
relations, WHAT A GREAT SUCCESS, the Staff and the Hotel were excellent nothing was too much trouble some of us stayed for 4 nights others for 2.
We stayed from 2nd Oct to 6th Oct, and although I and my family are now in London and Scotland we WILL be returning to the Crown as it is a great 'Base' for touring the Cotswold's.
We found both the Food and the Rooms to be First Class.
Thank you Ivan and Lisa and all at the Crown.

Room Tip: Try 16 or 25 Both a little more BUT well worth it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello London,

Thanks for the review of your stay with us & for trusting us with your 50th Wedding Anniversarry plans, it was a year in the making & how that last year has flown by! whilst i was not able to be around for the celebrations Ivan & Lisa have given me a detailed account of the celebrations & as you report on here you enjoyed your stay with us, so well done The Crown Staff.

Many thanks

Kevin,
Ivan, Lisa & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 791 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had we known this Hotel also had the same owners as The Crown & Cushion in Chipping Norton, we would of stayed well clear.
Beautiful village ruined by appalling Hotel.
Shabby? Yes.
Chic. No.
We can only presume the other reviewers are very easily pleased.

Good points:
We used a wowcher offer, and would have been furious to have paid the normal rate.
Lovely village (even one of the locals outside their home told us to avoid the Hotel).

Bad points:(you may need a cup of tea for this)

Pokey bedroom, pulled back the sheets to find a long hair straddled over the pillow.
Nice touch. A chocolate mint would of been just fine.

A large bedroom mirror was on the floor, turned the opposite way round. Must have googled me and thought my face would crack it.
And the constant droning from the extractor fan outside was ridiculous.

But that's not all. We hardly slept because of the dreadfully uncomfortable bed you could feel the springs of the mattress, and the constant loud creaks of the floorboards from the other unfortunate guests walking around upstairs and through the corridors.

Also, we could hear the guests in the room above us constantly using the toilet throughout the night. Nice.

The bathroom was hardly big enough to turn around in, and the toiletries were dreadfully cheap.
The shower ran boiling hot for 2 to 3 minutes, then stone cold. And the hot water in the sink tap was scolding. No need for a kettle. We could of made the tea and coffee in seconds from there.

Also the teas and coffee sachets supplied were very basic and cheap sachets.

The bar area was like a working mens bar (probably an insult to working men's clubs - I apologise).
Very run down. No character and certainly no charm from the mix of UK and mainly foreign staff.
I asked what lagers they had and was told to go into the other bar area as the barman didn't know without looking at the fonts.

The food was just very average. Uninspiring at best. Nothing like the quality you'd find down the road at The Churchill Arms in Paxford, or The Ebbrington Arms.

My partner went to bed as soon as she returned home, exhausted. And both of us now have neck and back aches from the awful bed. Brilliant.

An awful experience in all.
Just glad we didn't pay the full whack...and glad to have the comfort of our own bed tonight!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money. Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrHendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam

I am currently on holiday/time out however i have been in contact with the team at The Crown to discuss your review & i reply as follows; (you may want to put the Kettle on, open a packet of Custard Creams!)

You have only ever reviewed one hotel, and if ever stayed in other hotels
you would know that you occasionally hear voices and footsteps in the
corridors of the vast majority, especially when hotels are hundreds of years
old. You obviously have personal issues, eg since you have never stayed or
eaten food at the Crown in Chipping Norton, so what is the relevance of your
comment. You are also dreaming because the Crown at Blockley is not the
Crown at Chipping Norton's business, or visa versa.

You seem to imply that the bed linen had not been changed because you found
a hair on a pillow. Please accept our apology, none the less, for a strand
of hair on your pillow, which must have come from a housekeeper or from the
laundry firm.

You are cynical and make nasty comments of decent guests, who are in the
majority, simply because they are easily pleased, but you are impossible to
please, eg you indicate that you had value for money because you used a
wowcher, but you complain and give markings as if you had paid full price:
what planet are you on! You are meant to judge your stay and value for money
on what you actually paid. If you wanted posh sachets, you should have gone
to the Ritz and paid their prices. It is the content of what is in the
sachet that matters, but you obviously did not have a problem with the
contents. Your talk about being referred to another bar area does not make
sense because there is only one bar in the hotel.

We give good food. We note that you complimented the food at two other local
bars, and you give impressions that you had your meals there, instead.
However, we note that you have not written reviews in Trip Advisor about your
sampling their food! I wonder why not.
Lastly commenting on the staff & origins is never a wise thing to do, all staff at The Crown are polite hard working individuals.

Kevin Bracha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked via a wowcher with some friends. The hotel was lovely and the receptionist very friendly and helpful, we had a room overlooking the street which was lovely. It a very old hotel and the creaky floorboards added to the charm. The room was spotless and bed comfortable.
We had the set menu for dinner £20, which was ok..lovely pate to start a lamb steak with chips which was average, and a lemon meringue pie that was not very nice.
We spent the rest of the evening having a few drinks on the very comfy leather sofas, the bar closed at 11 and all staff went home, so we just sat and chatted.
Breakfast was lovely and cooked to order. I would return again and would recommend this place to others. No Wifi in rooms but there is a little coffee shop in the village shop that had free wifi. The locals were all very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Our friends had a larger room at the rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendaj1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello Wales,

Thank you for the review, full marks awarded to us for the individual criteria but we fell short of full marks on the overall scoreboard, shucks! still you enjoyed your stay, & you state you would reccomend to others so thats just great.

Many thanks

Kevin & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The village is very picturesque and the locals are friendly. We stayed 2 nights (first night using a voucher but had booked an extra night separately) the first room was clean and pleasantly decorated - the building is very old so you could hear a lot of creaking as people walked around upstairs which would probably annoy some people but is to be expected in such an old building. We had upgraded to the 4 poster for the second night and the staff kindly offered to move our luggage from one room to the next, the room was spotless but I found it very hot during the night.

The staff are all very polite and helpful despite working long shifts. The hotel is clean, well presented and the food is good although as mentioned by another reviewer possibly a bit limited if you stayed for more than a couple of nights. The restaurant is not open that long in the evening and can get busy.

One other thing to mention wifi and mobile phone reception is very limited in the hotel so if you can't live without them this is not for you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_newling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello Bracknell,

I am currently on holiday leave, however its great to see that the team are coping with out me & keeping up the good work Lol, due to the date of the building certain parts are very creaky, low beams etc etc but it does add to the beauty that is The Crown. Thank you for the comments about the hard working staff, they are such a great bunch.

Regards

Kevin & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A lovely find in a sedate country village.The staff were very welcoming helpful & pleasant.The food was delicious, well cooked and presented I had both breakfast and evening meals there, the only thing I would say is there wouldn't be too much choice on the evening menu if you were staying a full week. The room and en suite were very clean & well decorated, mattress was a little too soft for me but nevertheless quite comfortable.For a 2 day break in a lovely part of England's green & pleasant land you would be hard pushed to find a nicer place to stay. I wouldn't hesitate in booking again or recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello Sheffield,

Thank you for the review, comments, reccomendation & no hesitation in booking for a future stay, all pleasing remarks, your review is most welcome.

Thanks

Kevin & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was our first time at this hotel and we was made to feel very welcome. When we arrived in our room everything was spotless and we had a fantastic view of the high street. Then in the evening we went for a drink and a game of cards in front of the very welcoming log fire. Unfortunately we did not get to try out the evening meals but the breakfast was outstanding. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Revilo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello York reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown Hotel, great to read your comments & that you rated our breakfast as Outstanding :) You also commented on the log fire, hmmm nice thank you, great that you dont think it looks like a working mens club bar!! (another reviewer on here) Lol.
Great to read you enjoyed your stay, it does make for intresting reading when we get the odd review with such a difference of opinion to yours & the majority of guests who review us on this site.

Regards

Kevin & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hidden gem in the most beautiful village. Nothing pretentious about this village - it isn't set up for tourists - you get the real deal. The Hotel was busier than expected but most of the guest were probably out all day as we were. Rooms were clean and well equipped. Breakfast tasty, dining room clean and all decorated and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank seg1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello Rochford,

Thanks for the short but sweet review, & my oh my your certainly getting some reviews in which is great for readers of this site, they can see from your status that you are well travelled & not just a first time reviewer with an axe to grind.
Come back & see us again.

Regards

Kevin & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blockley
3 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,225 reviews
3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,102 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,174 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
740 reviews
6.9 mi away
The White Bear
The White Bear
#2 of 2 in Shipston on Stour
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: High Street, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9EX, England (Formerly The Crown Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Blockley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blockley
Price Range: $61 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Blockley, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing