We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love place to stay”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Blockley B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Blockley is a charming village in the North Cotswolds. The Crown Inn is in the village centre. We booked a feature room with four poster and requested Champagne on Ice for when we arrived.

The room and the Champagne were lovely. We also had our evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent. Breakfast was lovely.

Service was good, the staff friendly and accommodating. A hidden gem. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bri-anT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hello Brian,

Thank you for submitting a review, room 9 the 4-Poster is a very popular room with guests who have stayed with us, room 21 another 4-Poster room is another great room, different to 9 but with a seperate seating/lounge area so maybe next time you should go for that one as you mentioned you wanted to stay longer.
We are quite a different hotel compared to many others as all of our rooms are different to the next one. Some have ornamental period fireplaces!
Thank you for the comments about the evening restaurant dining, & that you had a good breakfast, comments like this on Tripadvisor i'm sure are very helpful to readers.

Regard's

Kevin & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 771 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Crown Hotel for one night and had a lovely time in Blockley. We've been to the Cotswolds a few times before but decided to try a different area - the hotel is in a great location, very friendly staff, bar and restaurant for dining or meeting the locals, rooms are very comfortable and breakfast was good. Overall I would recommend this to others as we both had a very relaxing break, away from London, and would return to Blockley and the Crown Hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay with us. Great to read your reccomendation & kind comments of The Crown Hotel & that you would return to Blockley in the future.

Regards

Kevin & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful relaxing break with my sister, she booked this has a treat for us both. After a great day in the Cotswolds we arrived at the Crown and was very pleased with the first impressions. We arrived at the reception to check in an was greeted by Adrian who was very friendly and amusing and made us laugh with his witty banter, i asked him if we could get a cup of tea and he told us that there was facilities in our room and he would be over to join us (ha ha)which makes a nice change to have someone so jolly. We was given our room which was number 6 just across from the reception which was a lovely room we were very impressed has our stay had been booked through wowcher and didn't expect such high standards, the room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. On the evening we ate in the bar there again the barman was very friendly and efficient, food was great and nice to see the locals drinking in there who were also very friendly.After one of the best breakfasts I've ever had we reluctantly checked out, we could of stopped longer!! A great stay an will defiantly be coming back and will recommend this Hotel to our friends thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Hi Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a refreshing review, thats the second recent review that points out room 6, a lovely room & were all very happy you enjoyed your stay. Adrian has seen the review & is very chuffed with himself!, all my team work long hours & are very commited to making all guests stay an enjoyable one & i'm very proud of them all & your review just confirms that what we do does not go unnoticed.

Regard's

Kevin & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A big thank you to all the staff at The Crown Hotel, Blockley! We have just returned from a very restful two nights there and I wouldn’t be surprised if we didn’t return for another short break.
We were alerted to it by Wowcher, but on checking the hotel website, decided to take up its own offer of two nights bed and breakfast and two table d’hote dinners for the price of one - or a bottle of wine on the first evening - for the price of £139 instead.
On our arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Adrian and allocated Room 6, just across the passage from Reception. The room was perfect, twin beds – as requested - a large wardrobe and a good size bathroom.
The accommodation was spotless and well equipped.
As it was a pleasant evening, we sat outside at the front of the hotel with a drink and marvelled at the beauty and tranquillity of the village and enjoyed being greeted by the locals - Blockley seems to be a very friendly village.
As we do not have large appetites, we decided against the table d’hote menu and chose to eat from the bar menu, we both had the fish and chips and the free bottle of wine, a very good Chilean Cabernet Sauvignon. The meal was substantial and very good - we didn’t even have room for dessert!
The locals in the bar were very welcoming and friendly and Jan, the barman (and one of the breakfast waiters as well) was charming. Jan is from the Czech Republic as are some of the other members of staff, and his English was excellent.
We enjoyed chatting with Jan, the locals and some of the other guests and later retired for the night. The beds were extremely comfortable.
Breakfast next morning in the lovely dining room was excellent and the coffee was plentiful. There are outside tables just outside the dining room and further garden tables and chairs at the back of the hotel, all very civilised.
Well-fortified we took off for a tour around the surrounding countryside for the day.
We returned to the Crown Hotel, once more enjoyed a drink outside at the front of the hotel, met Kevin the General Manager and later chose to eat from the bar menu again, this time we both chose the garlic mushrooms – very tasty!
All of the staff seem to take a pride in the hotel and nothing is too much trouble for them, they are all very welcoming and friendly and even if some of them do not speak a lot of English, their pleasant demeanour speaks a thousand words.
If you are looking for a peaceful, rural retreat, set in a beautiful village, but within easy reach of many of the attractions that the Cotswolds has to offer, then this is the place to stay and do take some time to visit the Community Shop/Post Office and tea room, a great asset in this lovely village.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggie1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Well Hello Magie,

When you review you really do the whole 9 Yards! & what a great review it is i dont think wev'e had such praise in the last 13 months. Well it just goes to show the difference a review can make when you look at the reviewer who stayed in the very same room & tore several strips off us for it not being to her expectations! The one who coudn't risk a shower !! & stained Carpets would you believe? well you stayed in the very same room just 12 days later. Oh well at least i have a second opinion now from a reviewer who really knows how to review, i'm sure many readers will enjoy reading your comments i know i did :)
A big thank you from all the team.

Regard's

Kevin & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just had a wonderful one night stay at the Crown Hotel with a woucher deal. The room was clean and tidy and very adequate. I had the best night's sleep in ages.!
The cooked breakfast was tasty and not rushed as with many hotel's I have visited.Just wished I could have stayed longer.
All the staff I spoke to were friendly and very polite.
I cannot fault anything and will definitely stay here again. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hello Alison from Derby,

Many thanks for the review of The Crown Hotel, great to read you found us faultless & would be happy to re-visit, your comments are very welcome.

Regard's

Kevin & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night Groupon deal at The Crown in Blockley, and had a fabulous time. All staff were very courteous and helpful at all times (even down to storing 3 Trout we had caught in the freezer for us until our departure). Food was excellent, room was delightful. Perfect tranquil setting with rush hour traffic consisting of a couple of horses walking down the high street. Lovely place to chill out. Will definitely recommend it to friends and will definitely go back again. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Had Room 14 and loved it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hello Elizabeth,

Thank you for taking time out to submit a review, "Perfect Getaway" what a nice title for the review :) (adorable) ? was that me ? Lol, Mmmmm we were ready for cooking that Trout, good job you checked out when you did. Blockley is so tranquil many guests who stay enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Thank you once again for the Full Marks review, we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards

Kevin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

lovely receptionist a cedit to hotel.
breakfst lovely
Hotel manager obviously has his hands tied due to certain issues regarding complaints, but just be aware if you have any niggles at hotel your complaints will probably not be dealt with and the reply from the hotel manager on trip advisor may be quite harsh . whether this is his fault because of constraints or hours he works not sure.
may be worth checking room before booking or paying
nice coaching style hotel though

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hello Chris C,

Thank you for the comments, would not call it a review more of an assessment of my managerial skills! i remember your issue, the twin bed matteress, & the fact of the matter being you had a poor nights sleep in room 8.
On checking out you wanted me to make some sort of reduction because of lack of sleep & because i said i could not start issueing discounts every time a guest had a sleepless night you pre warned me about a Trip Advisor review! so instead of a personal attack about my managerial skills giving a review about the Hotel on this review site would have been more helpful to readers.
Your point about checking rooms before booking is welcome, i would encourage any would be guest to come & see our rooms, as no two rooms are the same, we are not a "run of the mill" chain hotel.
Finally Harsh remarks from myself! hardly, parting guests who want to review The Crown Hotel on this particular site have the freedom to do so & on the odd occassion where a reviewer wants to be harsh/critical/insulting to my team or myself i have the right of reply.

Regard's

Kevin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blockley
3.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
3.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,158 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The White Bear
The White Bear
#2 of 2 in Shipston on Stour
71 reviews
2.8 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: High Street, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9EX, England (Formerly The Crown Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Blockley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blockley
Price Range: $93 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Blockley, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing