We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Blockley B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Recent stay”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Last weekend my family and I had a lovely stay at the Crown Inn. Although certain areas of the hotel were a little tired and dated we found the service to be exceptional. It was our Mother's birthday and all of the staff, especially the manager, went out of their way to make the surprise weekend really special. The evening meal in the restaurant was fantastic as, in fact was the bar food and the breakfasts. All in all the Crown Inn created a homely and relaxing atmosphere that made our stay really enjoyable. For us this is far more important than a little tired décor.

Room Tip: A member of our party upgraded to a room with a four poster bed. Fantastic, large, room with sofa a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dj3107186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments, I understand everyone's different & have different expectations, when guests review the Crown hotel I often wonder do these people come to enjoy the Cotswolds & our hospitality or did they come to carry out an inspection & pick fault with us, The Crown is a beautiful building dating back to the 16th Century with features that go with that period, we are not some sort of Travel Inn or 5* hotel, your review is a well thought one & you clearly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regard's
The Team at the Crown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    252
    168
    77
    79
See reviews for
83
489
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this Inn during Cheltenham week , having stayed here many years ago . Not as good as before . A very difficult entrance and uphill narrow drive to the car park,especially in a 4x4 .No mobile signal,free wifi when it worked but only in bar areas. NO Guiness,even in Cheltenham week -a cardinal sin ! Soup of the moment was cauliflower every night and the same limited menu. Ran out of HP sauce at breakfast and espresso machine broke down . No change of bed linen or towels and no new toiletries during the three days ... Having said all that there appeared to be four staff members doing everything and they were pleasant and helpful , the place was clean,tidy and comfortable with log fires although the bed was ancient and the bedside lamps were out of the twilight zone ! May well look at trip advisor for a different place to stay next year !

Room Tip: Sorry , no pool !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked this through a coupon deal and went in January, we arrived late on the Friday evening but they were happy to squeeze us in to the restaurant the food was a bit hit and miss, my mum had a lovely beef casserole but my home made curry was very odd more like a student meal that had been thrown together. The bar and restaurant are very cosy with lovely log fires and the village is stunning, it is a good base to explore the Cotswolds.

Our room was a bit dated lots of cobwebs, patched up DIY and the bathroom was very mouldy all this could be improved on quite quickly and easily. If we hadn't already paid up front I would have complained but as we had a cheap deal I put up with it! the breakfast was good but our orders were messed up both days. On checkout day they started hoovering right near our table which made you feel like they wanted you out! no one on reception when we did check out. It was ok at the price we paid £139 for 2 for 2 nights but if I had paid full I would have been very dissapointed.

Room Tip: We stayed outside but Im not sure if inside the hotel will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlehaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I think reviewers have been a bit harsh with their reviews of this hotel. It is a 16th century cotswolds building, not a modern hotel block, so you should expect some "quaint" features. Having said that, our room (facing the road) was absolutely fine: clean, a good bathroom and warm. The bar is small but welcoming with a good range of ales, and the restaurant at the back is a decent size and really nicely decorated. Breakfasts were very good, the one dinner we had was excellent, and all the staff seemed very friendly and helpful. Taking my first point about what you expect of a 16thC building with its constraints for modernisation, it's nearer 5 stars than 3. The village must be one of the best in the cotswolds to wander around; and its location near to the bigger villages and towns (Broadway, Moreton in Marsh, Stratford etc) makes this a very attractive destination. We will be back to this hotel and we wouldn't want it changed.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by a room overlooking the road - hardly any traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, the team here at the Crown were very pleased to read them, our only goal is to welcome our guests & ensure they have a great time whilst staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked this hotel -admittedly at a bargain price - through Late Rooms, thinking it was an AA 3*. Sadly, we had a 1* experience: The disfunctional shower, dirty bathroom and muddy carpet, together with the cramped size of both bathroom and shower room, would have been made bearable had the manager been happy to address my complaints the next morning. Instead, I received a tirade about being the only customer ever to complain about Room 4. We cut our losses and checked out a day early. I have since been assured that the AA sign is being removed shortly and the website has been changed as they are no longer actually registered with the AA at all! The misrepresentation reinforced our poor impression of the hotel. It's a great pity as the location is excellent, with Blockley being a very pretty village well-placed for a Cotswold holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel, not the converted buildings across the driveway: The muddy carpet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments, as I said in a letter to yourself in the past 8 months NO other guests encounter the issues you raised, there were NO muddy carpets, room 4 is a comfortable room, I realise I am not going to please everyone all the time,however I will not tolerate being shouted to at 8.00am in the morning when you had already made up your mind to check out. I think that readers of your comments will see that they don't sit we'll with the overall recent reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blockley hotels

stoke on trent
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner. Gorgeous little village and a great location to visit all the other quaint villages. Not much to do in this village so would definitely recommend going with a car. The hotel staff are great, they work so hard! there is only a few of them and they work around the clock. The best part was our 3 course meal. the mushroom soup was the best i have ever tasted! and the sticky toffee pudding was amazing. so much so, we dined at the hotel the 2nd night rather than going elsewhere. the chef even came and spoke to us after our meal which was lovely! The hotel itself is undergoing work i think, so it looks like it will only get better. There is a lovely lounge area to sit with an open fire and a bar which is also very cosy. The only downside is the bedrooms...they are a little outdated and old fashioned, but very clean. If you aren't bothered too much about the room decor then you will love it. Breakfast is also great, but not huge portions if you would normally prefer that.
Overall - a great stay and we really didn't want to leave the Cotswolds!!

Room Tip: If it is a double room you want, ensure it is a double bed, not twin beds put together as they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellover23x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This trip to the Cotswolds was slightly ruined by the fact we thought we were going to stay in a lovely comfy hotel; not the case. Although the staff were friendly they were also massively overworked and this was reflected in the state of the entire hotel. The bed was small and the mattress well passed it's sell by date, as was the decor. I most certainly would not recommend this hotel or revisit it until a substantial refurbishment has been undertaken.

Room Tip: Not 12 - Go to The Broadway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blockley
3.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,913 reviews
3.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,139 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: High Street, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9EX, England (Formerly The Crown Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Blockley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blockley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Blockley, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing