We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
The majestic Landgate House, in Blockley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The majestic Landgate House, in Blockley
Incredible far-reaching rural views The beautiful rolling Cotswold hills around Blockley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The majestic Landgate House, in Blockley
Incredible far-reaching rural views
The beautiful rolling Cotswold hills around Blockley
The ground floor living room with roaring log burner
Stylish furnishings
Stunning glass roofed dining room, with amazing views
The dining table can seat up to 12 adults
The kitchen leads directly into the dining room
Additional breakfast bar with two stools and a handy chalk board
Stylish kitchen
Ground floor master bedroom, with a king size bed...
...and an ensuite bathroom, with a walk-in shower
The master bedroom also has a large private balcony...
...with spectacular views!
The Cinema Room, which has two single futon sofa beds, ideal for older children
The Cinema Room opens directly onto steep stairs (there is a stairgate in the doorway)
The Cinema Room provides perfect extra sleeping space for older children
The mezzanine space, with a double sofa bed...
...shown here set up as a bed, providing an additional +2 sleeping space
Bedroom 4, on the lower ground floor, which can be set up as two singles or a super king size bed
Another room with lovely views
Second living room, on the lower ground floor, with direct access to the garden
Open the French doors and step outside...
Perfect for enjoying the sunshine!
Looking back at the house from the large garden
Bedroom 3, on the lower ground floor, with two single beds
Smart and stylish
Lower ground floor family bathroom, with a bath and overhead shower
Beautifully finished
Bedroom 2, on the lower ground floor, with a king size bed...
...and an ensuite bathroom, with a walk-in shower
Bedroom 5, also on the lower ground floor, a triple room with a king size bed and a single bed
A lovely bedroom...
...also with an ensuite bathroom, with a walk-in shower
The front of Landgate House, sitting proudly on the side of the hill
A fabulous choice for large families or groups of friends!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChorleyD
Chorley
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay”
Reviewed February 20, 2019 for a stay in February 2019

We stayed here for a 70th birthday celebration, our party of 11 ranged in age from 2 to 70+ and each one of us had an enjoyable time. The young ones had fun in the garden / field and the teenager liked the cinema room. The views from the dining area are superb. The bedrooms are spacious, the kitchen well equipped and facilities generally are of a high order. The village has a well equipped shop and cafe and a small play area for young children as well as 2 pubs. We had a celebratory meal at the Great Western Arms, the food was good and the staff attentive. The Cotswolds s a delightful area to visit and I recommend Landgate House as a place to stay

Date of stay: February 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2019
Wow, thank you for your lovely review for Landgate House. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful 70th birthday break away in the Cotswolds and we hope that you visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watchkitt...
san francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well-situated comfortable house for a large group”
Reviewed January 12, 2019 for a stay in December 2018

Landgate House is situated on a hill in Blockley that affords a fine view of the valley behind it. Each member of our party very much enjoyed spending time in the dining area during daylight hours in order to admire the scenery around us.

The town of Blockley has its own considerable charms and is close to many of the other iconic villages of the Cotswolds. We were not equipped for serious cross country hiking, but some members of our party did walk to a neighboring village or two to check out the sights and the pubs. I should mention that Blockley has a couple of nice pubs of its own. Fans of Father Brown will not want to miss visiting the village church which stands in for his parish church.

Landgate house itself was warm and comfortable. We didn’t do any serious cooking, but the kitchen seemed adequately equipped. Our visit took place over Christmas, and the house was richly festooned with decorated Christmas trees and garlands, as well as a generous welcome basket.

Maggie, the housekeeper, was very helpful before and after our arrival in answering questions and sorting out our problems.

Date of stay: December 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2019
Wow, thank you for your wonderful review for Landgate House. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Cotswolds and the holiday home for the festive period. We hope that you visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludologis...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully Appointed Country House”
Reviewed October 24, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Situated just a few minutes away from the incredibly picturesque Moreton-in the Marsh, this large country house is perfect for family reunions/get togethers and celebration weekends.

It is wonderfully equipped and has an absolutely stunning view of rolling countryside from the rear. Almost all the bedrooms have a view of the breathtaking sunrise!

We had 8 adults and 7 kids staying for a celebratory weekend of wonderful food and walks. The kids loved the scale of the property and the grounds and they were delighted with the very close local park.

Everything was just as perfect as it could be as we also had really stunning October sunshine that turned the back garden in to a real sun trap. The trees were heaving with rosy red apples which we would have loved to take home if we hadn't all been heading off on further travels.

We would definitely recommend and hope to come back ourselves next year.

Date of stay: October 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2018
Wow, thank you for your lovely review, Helen. We're pleased to hear that you all had a wonderful stay at Landgate House and we hope that you visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bekkianne...
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Family holidays”
Reviewed May 31, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

With 10 guests aged 10-70 + a dog we are not the easiest of groups to cater for, however, Landgate house was perfect. The garden is immense and dog and child friendly. The bedrooms were very clean and tidy and the beds very comfortable. Lovely village, lovely accommodation. Would recommend to large groups. Some people have mentioned about low pressure but this wasn't a problem during in our stay. 2 x 12 year olds slept in the cinema room every night and enjoyed every minute!

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review of Landgate House, Richard. We're pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay & we hope you visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
276Alison
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great house for large families/groups and dogs”
Reviewed April 19, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely village in the heart of the Cotswolds, near to Bourton-on-the-Water.
This was a fabulous house for our 2 families, total 11. The bedrooms are large with very comfortable beds, 3 en-suites, a lovely bathroom and a ground floor toilet. The games room also provides a great area too with a huge TV and XBox. The kitchen is very well equipped with lots of extras too. The dining area looks out over the garden and rolling hills and the table was great as we could all sit around together, making it all very sociable. Two sitting rooms allowed us to spread out if we needed and the garden was something else!. The photo actually makes the garden look smaller than it really is! Our two dogs loved running around it.
The whole house was absolutely fabulous. I cannot fault any of it. Clean, very well equipped and with lots of parking. I would definitely recommend this house for a fabulous stay for a large amount of people including children as there are stairgates at all the stairs.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2018
Wow, thank you for your wonderful review of Landgate House! We're delighted to hear that the house made for a fabulous stay for both families, plus your two dogs. We hope you all visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirst D
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend stay with family”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary weekend at the beginning of September with our families - 11 adults, 2 children, 2 newborns and 2 dogs. There was plenty of room for everyone and the house had a luxurious feel. Everything we could have needed was available in the kitchen. The dining room was great for us all to gather in, especially with the beautiful views of the Cotswolds hills. The children and dogs loved the garden which was as big as a football pitch. It was a shame we didn't get the weather for the whole weekend or we could have made more use of it. The house is in a great location for walks and visiting the surrounding villages. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again at some point in the future.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaD11...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect setting, wonderful house for large family get together.”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, large house in Blockley, near Morton-in-Marsh in the Cotswold. Lots of places to visit, Mill Dean Garden well worth a visit. Landgate House looks like a little bungalow when you arrive at the front door, but step inside and it's like a magician's trick. We had a total of 12 people staying and it was so easy, we even had 3 spare beds!! Lots of lounging space and a fantastic conservatory dining room which had the most amazing view down the garden and rolling valley beyond.

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing