We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our own little 'Escape to the Country' .... Magic”
other travelers have booked this property
The picture-postcard Brook Cottage, in Blockley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The picture-postcard Brook Cottage, in Blockley
A beautiful, Cotswold stone cottage A stunning place to enjoy a break in the Cotswolds!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The picture-postcard Brook Cottage, in Blockley
A beautiful, Cotswold stone cottage
A stunning place to enjoy a break in the Cotswolds!
The cosy, characterful living room
A comfy and stylish space to relax in...
The dining table set-up for four
Modern and light kitchen
Stylish range cooker
The enclosed back garden
A fabulous spot for a drink in the sunshine!
Pull up a chair...
...and relax
First floor double bedroom
A lovely bedroom, filled with charm and character
Heading into the ensuite bathroom
A roll top bath, for a lucky guest to soak in!
Upstairs to the second double bedroom
There is a handy wash room, with a toilet and wash basin
The top of the steep, open staircase leading into bedroom 2
The beautiful front of Brook Cottage
The cottage is peacefully located on a quiet lane in Blockley
A truely picturesque cottage
The lane down to the brook...
The quaint, winding Blockley Brook
Blockley's village green and bowling club
The community owned village shop and cafe
Blockley's impressive church, which dates back to Norman times
One of the local pubs!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fourevans
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Our own little 'Escape to the Country' .... Magic”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Brook Cottage is an absolute delight. I have always fancied an 'Escape to the Country' and this certainly fulfilled my dream. It is comfortable, well appointed (beside a babbling brook), well equipped and maintained, and in the most perfect location. Brockley is a picturesque and unspoiled little village - so pretty and historic. It is well placed to use as a base for some great walks in the country - we walked to Chipping Campden and Moreton-in-Marsh. The town itself has a little shop/cafe, and three local pubs. We ate at both the Great Western Arms and Lower Brook House, both of which were excellent. Our break at the cottage is something we will remember for ever..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The ambience of the cottage and the locality
Liked least: The shared bathroom and very steep stairs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tripping...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“A lovely little cottage in an idyllic location in a beautiful town in the Cotswolds.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

The cottage is adorable and loaded with character. The outlook is just gorgeous looking out the paned windows towards the brambles and the flowing brook. No cars at all can be heard or seen and only the occasional voices of walkers and ramblers with their dogs to remind one that there are other people on the planet. Absolutely peaceful and tranquil! An open wood fire completes the calming influence of the cottage atmosphere. Beautifully furnished in keeping with the era with 'Laura Ashley' style sofas and floor rug the living room is so comfortable. The television is more than adequate with a multitude of channels and a clear picture. WIFI is excellent and quick and more than one device can be used at any time.

The kitchen is more than adequate with a helpful supply of just about everything one needs. A minimal amount of detergent was left for our week long stay (1/4 of a small bottle), 1 sponge/scourer, 1 lightweight wipe, 1 tea towel and 1 hand towel. We needed to purchase more and we couldn't take this with us. There is no big frypan to assist with preparation of dishes such as a risotto - only 2 worn small 8" diameter frypans. Needless to say we adapted as there are a number of saucepans and dishes to assist with cooking needs. Overall it is a wonderful kitchen with a lovely outlook.

Our stay was for a week so it felt like home by the time we were half way through our stay.

Upstairs are two bedrooms. The staircase is narrow and steep and it leads to the first bedroom with a comfortable double bed and a bathroom with a bath and hand held shower, toilet, handbasin, mirror and windows looking out both the front and the back of the house. You can lie in bed and watch the birds in the tree outside the window. The bath has no shower curtain so one has to be very careful if using the hand held shower rose and the lack of a stand up shower made bathing awkward. Languishing in the bath is lovely but for older guests it is almost an impossible task to get out of the bath!

Top level of the house has yet another bedroom with a toilet and basin off the bedroom. The double bed is again comfortable.

Shortcomings for our stay were that we slept separately and that's not ideal for a romantic stay - being used to a king sized bed and being middle aged food lovers (versus skinny size 8's) tolerating the ridiculously small space of a double bed was just not suitable for our particular needs. Either of the bedrooms could accommodate two single beds pushed together to create a king bed and to me that seems a better and more versatile option for guests especially since the cottage is particularly appealing to couples.

Ample firewood was left for our week long stay but there was no kindling and only a meagre amount of matches so a trip to the store was necessary. I am afraid I have to agree with the previous review with regard to needs of the fire. One would expect to arrive at the cottage and see the fire set and ready to light for the first night at the very least.

I was also disappointed that having travelled from Australia via the USA and arriving at the cottage with severe jet lag having not slept properly for 2 entire days that we were not allowed to enter the cottage even 1 minute earlier than 3pm. I phoned the housekeeper to explain our situation but there was little sympathy and we were reminded it was a 3pm arrival. I do understand there are rules but I would have gladly cleaned the cottage myself just for the favour of being able to stretch out and get a few hours sleep. If you have ever travelled across the planet you will know what this kind of jet lag feels like. Nevertheless we remained in our car and waited it out. (read on for the story about parking)

It is a long walk with luggage to the cottage and despite the suggestion that one can drive up to the door to off load luggage in reality the track is so very narrow that the entire experience in a rental car is a tad too stressful for my liking. Parking was not easy and a rude local woman told us we had taken her park- 'That's my park', she told us. Later I overheard that she only rents and was soon leaving her rental property to return to the USA. Another local person told us we were rude for parking near the steps - the same steps that the other 'local woman' parks in front of as that's 'her park'. Yet another local entered the ambush and said 'don't you love these weekends when we are over run by tourists'. Feeling quite unwelcome in the village we just wanted to disappear into our holiday cottage but that was not allowed until 3pm. It was snowing. We were allowed to leave our food supplies on the ground outside the front door 10 minutes before arrival at 3pm as we made yet another trek back to the car on the high street for our luggage. To say arrival was convenient would not be honest.

I would highly recommend the Brook Cottage at Blockley and the town is a living treasure that escapes much of the hustle and bustle of other towns in the Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility of the location overlooking the brook leading off Brook Lane.
Liked least: Trecking a distance with our luggage over rough uneven surfaces.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsykes
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage in the charming Cotswold town of Brockley which deserves its good reviews from guests. This is a great place to stay if you want a peaceful getaway but with the advantage of being in close proximity to many attractions in the Cotswolds. We had a lovely family break. The cottage is as per the advertised photos.
My only niggles were that (a) Very disappointing that the velux style window in the top bedroom didn't have a blind. We actually preferred this room but also wanted to lie-in on our holiday. In the end we had to share the other, smaller room with our baby which was a real shame. Other guests may wish to bring an eye-mask!
Additionally (b) the weather was really cold during our stay so after a chilly day out we were looking forward to getting the lovely log fire roaring in the evening. However, we were provided with only 2 matches and unfortunately the community shop was closed by this time. Lastly (c) No spare bin bags. Such a small thing but such a pain not having them, especially as there is a requirement for guests to bag up their rubbish at the end of their stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No curtain in one of the bedrooms so expect to be awake at daybreak
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 6, 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds and log fire
Liked least: Intermittent Internet access
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suj_KE
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Idyllic Countryside Weekend Break”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend and two other friends for a Winter/pre-christmas weekend get away. The cottage is in a good location within the picturesque village of Blockley. There are two double bedrooms and 1 bathroom contained in the first floor bedroom. There is no stand up shower, but a hose-style shower in a bath tub. The cottage is very well decorated adds to the feel and general atmosphere of being 'deep' in the countryside.

Upon entering the cottage, we were left with a lovely home made sponge cake. This was a very nice gesture - went down very well with a cuppa! The cottage has a lovely fireplace and plenty of logs outside to keep you going deep into the evening. With TV, Wifi and some board games we brought along, we were having a great time.

The kitchen is extremely well equipped with plenty of utensils and space for cooking. We made meals here with no problems. We brought all our food beforehand as although there is a village shop, it doesn't stock as much food as a larger supermarket. The cottage had some left over cooking oil and other few bits which we brought, but incase you don't there are bits around.

The cottage has great heating and with the amazing fireplace you don't really have to worry about being cold. The only part that suffers from cold is the kitchen, but if you keep this door closed, it shouldn't matter.

The owner has put together a really good brochure/guide of nearby activities and things to do, so well worth flicking through. Amongst them, we enjoyed going to Lower Brook House in Blockley which served us up a 5 star meal in a beautiful hotel. We also visited various nearby villages in the Cotswolds such as Chipping Campden, Burford and Broadway, all of which have some good little shops, tea rooms and sight seeing. Blockley is a great location from which to explore the Cotswolds, I thoroughly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkflowe...
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Taste of the Country”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend and would throughly recommend. The cottage is decorated to a high standard, cosy living room with a real log fire and beautifully equipped kitchen. The two bedrooms are very comfortable and loved bathroom's the rolled topped bath. The freshly baked cake left for us on our arrival was much appreciated after a long journey and made us feel welcome.

Blockley is a picture postcard village and everyone we met was very friendly. A trip to the village shop is essential, it has a good selection of groceries and a small cafe where we had breakfast each morning, the toasted fresh bread was delicious. The Crown Inn which is a 5 minute walk away offers a varied menu and the restaurant was very pleasant. We found Blockely a great based to visit other villages like Broadway and Burton-on-Water.

This was my first visit to the area and am looking forward to hopefully returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, log fire, the village shop!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing