We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Walkies!”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!

Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley

Stylish and inviting living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley
Stylish and inviting living room
The lovely mullion window has a window seat and fabulous views
A great place to relax and enjoy the Cotswolds
The smart dining room, with the dining table set for eight
Roberts radio with iphone dock
The kitchen, which has a door out to the back garden
Gas fired Aga, plus an additional oven and hob
The additional breakfast room, just off the kitchen
A convenient utility space, perfect for doing the washing!
Bedroom 1, which can be set up as either 2 single beds or a superking size bed
There are lovely countryside views out of the window
The family bathroom, with character fireplace
Bath with overhead shower
The second living room, on the first floor (the fireplace is ornamental)
A beautiful room with exposed Cotswold stone wall, SMART TV and plenty of space to relax in
Bedroom 2, which can be made up as either a superking size bed or two single beds
Stylish bedside tables!
Looking into the ensuite bathroom...
...which includes a walk-in shower
Bedroom 3, in the second floor eaves, which contains a double bed
A lovely, spacious bedroom
Bedroom 4, also with a double bed...
...and a dormer window looking across the rooftops to the countryside beyond
The lower garden is accessed by steps up from the back door
Continuing up to the elevated upper garden...
...with amazing rural views!
Blockley's village green and bowling club!
The historic Norman church of St Peter and St Paul
The peaceful Blockley Brook winds through the village
One of the two pubs in Blockley...
...and the well regarded local shop and cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sunny E
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Walkies!”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We totally enjoyed our stay at Hainault House. True there isn't designated parking but as the owners said it really wasn't a problem finding parking on the quiet high street.
The location of the terraced house in Blockley (such a friendly village) was perfect for a plethora of glorious Cotswolds walks and pubs. We can strongly recommend the Western Arms, great food and dog friendly! Church services included pets! Village shop is an easy stroll away.
Inside, the accommodation was well presented and well equipped. There is a steep climb up to the rear garden. Walls are quite thick, so pretty sound proof.
We loved our stay in rain and shine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
202hayley...
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic stay!”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Hainult House as a group of 8 people. Had an absolutely fantastic time. The house has everything you need and more. It is a few doors down from The Crown which is good for drinking and a 5 minute walk from The Great Western Arms which was great for food. Chipping Campden is just over an hours walk away and Broad Campden is even closer. I would highly recommend this house for group stays. It is ideal for cosy winter nights by the fire and summer BBQs and country walks. The local shop has everything you need and even has a restaurant attached.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans_VR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to escape the hubbub of the city”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had such a wonderful weekend in Hainault House. It really is the perfect getaway with a home away from home feel to it. The period house is decorated beautifully, it was clean and quiet with all the mod cons needed for family getaway. No detail was overlooked which made life very easy so all we needed to do was just enjoy our days out in the stunning Cotswolds and come home to a cosy log fire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannahmso...
Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning holiday home - perfect mix of beautiful old home and modern, cosy interior”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a fantastic stay in this beautiful house - it is hundreds of years old, with all the stunning character you would hope for (Cotswolds stone, stone floors, inglenook fire and aga oven) but inside all furnishings and decor are modern and comfortable and it is lovely and warm (it was a super cold weekend in the Cotswolds!). We ate in a lot as we had babies with us and found the kitchen to be really well kitted out for cooking dinners, plus the breakfast room was perfect for feeding babies and keeping them out of the dining room! It was such a lovely, comfortable stay, we really loved it and would definitely go back. Great location too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamtom
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Traditional Cottage and Authentic Cotswold Experience”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

As a group of young families we were looking for a traditional Cotswold cottage to meet and spend time together. Hainault House was just the ticket, situated in a great village with ample amenities and newly opened village shop it provided everything we required. The cottage itself is cosy but spacious with very comfortable beds. The inglenook fire provides that fantastic ambiance for the main room and a pleasure to relax in front of with a glass of wine. The window seat gets the sun in the morning and has a great elevation with fantastic view of over the hills opposite. All in all great and would come back again without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunefeld
Borrego Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
“Not As Advertised”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Pros: The house was very much as represented in the description and previous reviews. Wi-Fi quick and easy to connect. The town is quiet and charming. The house has loads of character. Blockley Village Shop & Cafe is a 3 minute walk away and has all the basics: perfect! Large rooms. Parking convenient -- we were a group of 8 adults with 3 vehicles here for 14 days in July (the high season) and usually had little difficulty finding convenient parking.

Cons: Limited cooking pots, pans, dishes -- not ideal for 8 adults cooking in regularly. Housekeeping: No one had cleaned under furniture for months. Property manager (Dawn) was very responsive but cleaning crew was barely adequate, e.g. Upon moving in we discovered an overpowering smell of mildew from the ensuite master bedroom shower-- it took 3 calls to Dawn and 2 trips by housekeeping before the issue was finally rectified. Cobwebs dangled from ceilings in 4 rooms upon check-in while 3 light bulbs were missing or burned out. Exhaust fans in both bathrooms are caked with dust & debris - they clearly have not been cleaned/vacuumed for years, if ever. Several days were very warm but the formal dining room had no functioning windows ("it hasn't opened for 5 years" we were told by the representative sent by the property manager). The Aga needed cleaning of grease before use (both the hot plates and the oven door). Refrigerator shelfs contained debris from previous guests (catsup rings, dried cheese, crumbs, etc) Toenails & dustballs found under the beds and living room furniture. Lint screen in the clothes dryer was full of previous guest's lint; water extractor was full of previous guests filthy dirty water -- hello? Dust bunnies rolled freely under all furniture. We were registered for 8 adults, only found 7 towels upon checkin.

Things we wish we knew before arriving/reserving: Kitchen has zero storage for dishes, cutlery, or food. All cupboards and microwave are in the pantry accessed by a step down under a low doorway (which banged the head of all 8 adults multiple times) resulting in an awfully lot of waking back and forth to the "pantry" to access cookware, china, silver, etc.

For our 14 week holiday in Britain, we rented14 cottages/holiday homes for a week each in small towns throughout Southwest England and Wales -- this cottage was at the bottom of the list in the following areas: lack of decent cookware, poor cleanliness, housekeeping crew "unclear on the concept of clean" After 14 weekly rentals, we learned that if a cottage is not currently receiving regular, consistent five-star reviews, there is a reason.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, size, bedrooms
Liked least: Housekeeping, maintenance
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2015
Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages.

The following is written by the cottage owner's appointed property manager:

"It was disappointing to hear that these guests had cause to complain on arrival at the property, as we strive for high standards at all times. We responded quickly to the concerns, and their points were rectified immediately by the housekeeping company. After the rectification tasks had been completed, the guests were asked if they were happy – they confirmed that they were. Aside from asking for extra quantities of consumables and logs to be supplied, to what is a self-catering property, we heard nothing from them throughout the duration of their two week stay.

We can confirm that the property is well equipped and maintained in excellent order."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathc121
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful property for a family break”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a long weekend at Hainault House in order to celebrate a family occasion in October 2014.

The property was beautifully presented and spotlessly clean throughout. There were some lovely surprises on arrival, including a pre-prepared tea tray with some chocolate cakes and two bottles of wine. Although we'd done a food shop en route, it was also nice to find thoughtful touches such as milk in the fridge and some basic provisions (tea, coffee, sugar, olive oil) in the cupboards.

It really was refreshing to be in such well-equipped self-catering accommodation. The array of crockery, glassware and general kitchen equipment was staggering! The kitchen generally was perfect for cooking for a large group- lots of space, a decent oven in addition to the Aga, a huge fridge freezer and a dishwasher. It didn't bother us that the majority of the crockery was stored in the adjacent utility room- it just meant more storage space!

Although an old property we were more that toasty throughout our stay. We'd emailed ahead to request the Aga be switched on, but in fact we were almost too warm when we first arrived! Better that than too cold though and we simply adjusted the settings until it was perfect.

The bedrooms were all comfortable, with ample space for clothes etc, and slept 8 adults with ease. My brother and his wife were very grateful for the provision of a decent travel cot and highchair, as this greatly reduced the amount they had to pack. As shown in the pictures, the property has two lounge/living areas- one on the ground floor adjacent to the dining room and kitchen, and the other on the first floor. This came in handy in providing a separate space for people to relax, but meant we did have to do a bit of seat-jiggling if we all wanted to sit together of an evening. This wasn't an issue for us (i'm quite happy on a beanbag on the floor anyway), and there were ample seats, just be aware they are spread out across the two floors.

The dining room provided a perfect place for big family meals, and there was a big table in the garden too, which we would have used had the weather been that little bit warmer.

Blockley is a very picturesque village, with a well-stocked and friendly little shop just a stone's throw from the front door. With regard the pubs- the Crown Inn is the closest (literally a few doors down), however, a few of our party went there one night and unfortunately found the staff very rude and the beer undrinkable. We went to the Great Western Arms, which is a little further down the village, for Sunday lunch, and whilst they were a little disorganised (in fairness, they had the 8 of us turn up, and another large party, and we found out it had been under new management for just 2 weeks), the food and service were lovely.

I notice a few comments about parking. Due to differing arrival times and the fact we were all coming from different locations, we had 3 cars in total, but had absolutely no problem in parking them all on the road outside the property as advertised.

I would definitely recommend Hainault House for a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing