We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended cottage in a beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!

Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley

Stylish and inviting living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley
Stylish and inviting living room
The lovely mullion window has a window seat and fabulous views
A great place to relax and enjoy the Cotswolds
The smart dining room, with the dining table set for eight
Roberts radio with iphone dock
The kitchen, which has a door out to the back garden
Gas fired Aga, plus an additional oven and hob
The additional breakfast room, just off the kitchen
A convenient utility space, perfect for doing the washing!
Bedroom 1, which can be set up as either 2 single beds or a superking size bed
There are lovely countryside views out of the window
The family bathroom, with character fireplace
Bath with overhead shower
The second living room, on the first floor (the fireplace is ornamental)
A beautiful room with exposed Cotswold stone wall, SMART TV and plenty of space to relax in
Bedroom 2, which can be made up as either a superking size bed or two single beds
Stylish bedside tables!
Looking into the ensuite bathroom...
...which includes a walk-in shower
Bedroom 3, in the second floor eaves, which contains a double bed
A lovely, spacious bedroom
Bedroom 4, also with a double bed...
...and a dormer window looking across the rooftops to the countryside beyond
The lower garden is accessed by steps up from the back door
Continuing up to the elevated upper garden...
...with amazing rural views!
Blockley's village green and bowling club!
The historic Norman church of St Peter and St Paul
The peaceful Blockley Brook winds through the village
One of the two pubs in Blockley...
...and the well regarded local shop and cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SIS509
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed March 23, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We all thoroughly enjoyed our weekend in Hainault House in the pretty village of Blockley. It is a beautiful, well-appointed character cottage with lots of home comforts and we found everything that we could possibly need during our stay. We very much appreciated the cake and wine that were left for us as a welcoming treat as well! We would be delighted to make a return visit to Hainault House in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
440SueF
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed February 6, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Our stay was fabulous – accommodation and cleanliness outstanding and welcome pack was a very nice touch. Four good sized double rooms and two separate living areas - one where the girls could sit around the fire and read and the other where the boys could watch football! Would certainly recommend and may well revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open fire
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cate S
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Wonderfully comfortable and quiet”
Reviewed February 2, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

After a 7 week/9 city trip through Europe, the UK and the US our visit to Blockley and our stay at Hainault House remains one of the highlights, especially for our kids. The house was gorgeous, and Blockley was a most lovely and picturesque little village – we especially loved the sense that it was a little off the beaten track. Having spent weeks enjoying the sights in busy European cities Hainault House provided an opportunity for some quiet and extremely comfortable down time. We will definitely be recommending the house to friends planning to visit the area in future, and hope to be back ourselves before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful open fire and the great supply of board games.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbitons...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely gorgeous -stay here!!!”
Reviewed January 19, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Hainault House – the cottage was gorgeous, fantastically equipped and we really couldn’t have asked for more. The lovely touches of the wine and home baked cake were much appreciated and we loved having a roaring fire going, especially as the weather turned rather cold. Comfy beds, fluffy towels and spotlessly clean, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Hainault House or Character Cottages to anyone – in fact I already have!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character, cleanliness and open fire.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bandylegs...
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great House in Great Location”
Reviewed January 6, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We arrived to a lovely warm house that was spotlessly clean. The house was extremely well equipped and the beds very comfortable. There was ample storage in the Kitchen/Utility area, Cloak cupboard, dining room and bedrooms. We loved our position in the beautiful village of Blockley and made good use of the local shop and pubs. A wonderful area for walking, shopping and eating. Would definitely recommend Hainault House and would book again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful Location
Liked least: two medium size sitting rooms instead of one big one
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn C
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A characterful cottage in a great village location”
Reviewed December 20, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Loved all the old beams, open fire, stone floors and fantastic views from the windows. A very well equipped kitchen meant cooking was easy. Only a short walk to the village shop and pub, and other Cotswold villages only a short drive away. All in all a great place to stay to explore the picturesque Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House full of character, beams, open fire, slate floors etc. Great location in village.
Liked least: Two lounges, but each one a bit tight for 8 people all together.
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in quiet village”
Reviewed December 12, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Spent the weekend here with friends with young families. We chose the location as a good mid point between London and Manchester and proved to be easy to get to from both. Really nice house, well appointed and plenty of room for travel cots etc upstairs. The downstairs was a great area for eating, cooking, relaxing and generally mucking about with the kids.
We didn't venture too far but there's a great little shop/cafe a short walk away. We only tried 1 pub (can't remember the name - but the one further away) and that was basic but friendly.
The owner was great at providing feedback in the run up to our stay answering any questions we had quickly. A stop at Blenheim Palace on the way home topped off a great weekend. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing