We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing taste of the Cotswold living”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!

Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley

Stylish and inviting living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley
Stylish and inviting living room
The lovely mullion window has a window seat and fabulous views
A great place to relax and enjoy the Cotswolds
The smart dining room, with the dining table set for eight
Roberts radio with iphone dock
The kitchen, which has a door out to the back garden
Gas fired Aga, plus an additional oven and hob
The additional breakfast room, just off the kitchen
A convenient utility space, perfect for doing the washing!
Bedroom 1, which can be set up as either 2 single beds or a superking size bed
There are lovely countryside views out of the window
The family bathroom, with character fireplace
Bath with overhead shower
The second living room, on the first floor (the fireplace is ornamental)
A beautiful room with exposed Cotswold stone wall, SMART TV and plenty of space to relax in
Bedroom 2, which can be made up as either a superking size bed or two single beds
Stylish bedside tables!
Looking into the ensuite bathroom...
...which includes a walk-in shower
Bedroom 3, in the second floor eaves, which contains a double bed
A lovely, spacious bedroom
Bedroom 4, also with a double bed...
...and a dormer window looking across the rooftops to the countryside beyond
The lower garden is accessed by steps up from the back door
Continuing up to the elevated upper garden...
...with amazing rural views!
Blockley's village green and bowling club!
The historic Norman church of St Peter and St Paul
The peaceful Blockley Brook winds through the village
One of the two pubs in Blockley...
...and the well regarded local shop and cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adamtom
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing taste of the Cotswold living”
Reviewed July 12, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

This amazing period property set in the heart of a beautiful Cotswold village. local shops and good pubs in walking distance. The attention to detail and standards of the property made for an excellent weekend with all the trimmings. It felt like truly authentic experience with the large inglenook fir, an Aga in the kitchen, fantastic wooden beams and original oak floor boards. what a special place

We will defiantly be back to this haven in the near future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaA1972
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Steepness, and lack of view, of garden made for disappointing stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Just returned from a family holiday to Hainault House - 5 adults, and two infants (1 year and 5 months). The accommodation was satisfactory - clean enough but things were a little tired and unloved and not the luxury that was promised. Bottle of wine and a cake on arrival a nice touch. The village is lovely and very well located for the rest of the Costwolds. However, the big disappointment was the complete lack of garden view out the back due to the steepness of climb to get to it. Steps rise straight from the back of the kitchen door and you're almost at roof height before you get to the first level of the garden and another steep climb to get to the level with offering the view shown on the website. NOT practical when you have two small children and that have to be carried everywhere. I had asked about the garden before booking as the website only gave you a sense of view of the garden (which one would assume is from the house - it's not). I was told it was on two levels which would've been fine but neither the website nor the pre-booking information gave us a sense of the steepness and inaccessibility of the garden and the fact that you can only see steps from the back of the house makes the rear of the property feel very closed in. Having a useable outside space for a summer holiday with small children is a must. I had seen and discounted other wonderful looking properties because they had been very clear about access and safety issues for small children. Had the nature of the garden layout for Hainault House been divulged I would not have booked. Very disappointing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2011
Dear Guest

We are devastated to receive this review and can only apologise profusely if you feel that you were in any way mislead about the steps that lead up to the garden.

We try to be specific about the fact that there are steps up to the garden and we thought that our photographs showed which views were from the house and which are from the garden. We have always felt that the stunning views from the top garden are worth the climb up the steps, but it appears that we have not been specific enough with you about the need to climb the steps to reach both garden areas – we apologise if our communication was not good enough.

With regard to your other ratings, we will contact you directly and would be very grateful for further feedback, as you gave everything other than location a rating that requires action from us. We take guest feedback VERY seriously and this is the first time in our three years of letting Hainault House that we have had such poor feedback, so we want to ensure that it never happens again.

Once again, we are very sorry that your holiday did not meet your expectations and we will do everything we can to try and respond to any further matters you raise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackoc1
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful house & location.”
Reviewed July 6, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Hainault House is in a beautiful location, with plenty of interesting places to visit in the area. The house is very well equipped and a great deal of thought has been put into making the property a real 'home from home'. The village store and bakery is very well stocked with essentials, fresh fruits and veggies and fresh bakery items. We all enjoyed our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nataliefo...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing - perfect place for a girly getaway!”
Reviewed July 5, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Hainult House is beautiful, in the lovely village of Blockley. I have been to the Cotswolds many times, and our stay at Hainult has been the best so far.

We celebrated a friends Hen party, and it was the perfect setting. A real homely house that us girls could enjoy in peace & comfort!

I would highly recommend a visit, we were all very impressed all round! Thanks again for such a lovely break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing