We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay, perfect town, perfect beds!”
The beautiful Plum Tree Cottage, in Blockley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful Plum Tree Cottage, in Blockley
The view of the local hills from the top of the back garden The wonderful open plan living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
The beautiful Plum Tree Cottage, in Blockley
The view of the local hills from the top of the back garden
The wonderful open plan living space
With comfy chairs and a sofa, this is the perfect space for relaxing
Looking back from the window to the dining table
... with a real log burner to keep you warm!
... and high quality furnishings throughout
Lovely dining table, set for six...
... perfect for entertaining!
Superb attention to detail and design
The contemporary farmhouse style kitchen
A cooks dream!
The kitchen window looking out to the road
The top floor bedroom, which can be set up as two singles or a king size bed
For a peaceful nights sleep
The top floor landing space, showing the door to the second bathroom
The top floor bathroom (includes a shower)
Twin bedroom on the first floor
Filled with a blend of style and character
The stylish family bathroom
First floor double bedroom
Inviting and comfy
The entrance hallway, adjoining the kitchen
Looking down the garden, with the cottage on the left
Lovely garden furniture, on an elevated platform, overlooked by the church tower
With beautiful rural views of the local valley
Welcome to Plum Tree Cottage!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
writetoje...
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect stay, perfect town, perfect beds!”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We absolutely adored Plum Tree and the village of Blockley. I am remembering having read the less than 5-star review that was left by someone else before we stayed and I find that absolutely laughable now. The only thing I can reckon is that they wanted to keep the place a secret for themselves! Honestly, the place is perfect. Super clean, I mean amazingly so, the most comfortable beds I've probably ever slept in at a hotel or rental, Blockley is just story book beautiful and we loved walking to their cafe for coffee every morning. The location can't be beat as it is central to most all the most recommended Cotswolds towns. The garden was beautiful, I think next time we'll plan to stay home more often to enjoy it! Seriously, this place is an absolute gem. You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds!
Liked least: Can't think of one complaint.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie T
Stoke by Nayland, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect cottage!”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Plum Cottage was a joy to stay in - from the (very) welcome cake and wine upon arrival to the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in! The decor and furnishings are thoughtful and tasteful. The owner has clearly thought of everything possible to make the cottage completely desirable. Games, Smart TV, crisp (White Company) bed linen, pretty kitchenware - it's all excellent quality. The garden is really well kept and a true delight! My children loved playing in it and we all loved eating al fresco enjoying the far-reaching views of the pretty Cotswolds. The village of Blockley is really pretty with a great little shop, park and some wonderful walks. It's the perfect location for visiting lots of local villages and attractions. It feels very central. We felt most welcome in the village, in fact the neighbour was particularly lovely with my little boy - they had lots of chats over the garden fence during our stay! We couldn't recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor, beds and garden
Liked least: Leaving the cottage!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara P
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Village is pretty”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Plum Tree Cottage is on a main road and was not suitable for our young children. The garden is seperate from the house and we had to keep an eye on them all the time. The village is lovely and we would return but with a better located cottage. The other residents along the terrace are getting fed up with all of the strangers coming and going at the cottage- which is expected. I wouldnt like different people on my garden path each weekend either. Nice cottage though with the usual things included.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry that you felt Plum Tree Cottage was not quite what you wanted. We do take all feedback seriously and I want to thank you for taking the time to write down your thoughts.

The garden is, as the pictures show, to the side of the cottage and we are very specific to state this on the website. I actually bought the cottage because it has such a lovely garden, and in my opinion, I felt it would be brilliant for children, particularly the secret garden at the top. Further to my own opinion, we have many positive comments in the visitor’s book from other families with children who have stayed over the summer, and these comments include people who have said how lovely the garden is.

You are correct that the property is on a road, but far from a main road. Indeed, most cottages have front doors that open onto roads! I was a bit unsure what you meant by this comment.

I can clarify that the path directly behind the cottage, which leads to the centre of the village, is in fact a public footpath and so you don't have to walk through people's gardens. This is a very common situation in the Cotswolds! I actually live in the village and I regularly use the footpath. You might have just felt worried, but no need to, this is perfectly fine.

Once again, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay in Plum Tree Cottage, and I welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Carol (Property Owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulg1976
1 review
“Nice accomodation but Not suitable for children as it is on a main road.”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Sadly the house is an end if terrace where the neighbours are beginning to get fed up with all of the strangers in their very cosy terrace. Not suitable for children because house is on main road and there is no pavement. The back pathway cuts through the neighbours gardens and we were asked on a number of occassions if we were lost.
Blockley is gorgeous and we will return for certain but to a better positioned cottage. It is not suited as a holiday cottage but more for long term residencies as everyone works on that stretch.
The area is great and the Horse and Groom serves good food.
All in all a nice house but has been made to look like any modern decor.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry that you felt Plum Tree Cottage was not quite what you wanted. We do take all feedback seriously and I want to thank you for taking the time to write down your thoughts.

The garden is, as the pictures show, to the side of the cottage and we are very specific to state this on the website. I actually bought the cottage because it has such a lovely garden, and in my opinion, I felt it would be brilliant for children, particularly the secret garden at the top. Further to my own opinion, we have many positive comments in the visitor’s book from other families with children who have stayed over the summer, and these comments include people who have said how lovely the garden is.

You are correct that the property is on a road, but far from a main road. Indeed, most cottages have front doors that open onto roads! I was a bit unsure what you meant by this comment.

I can clarify that the path directly behind the cottage, which leads to the centre of the village, is in fact a public footpath and so you don't have to walk through people's gardens. This is a very common situation in the Cotswolds! I actually live in the village and I regularly use the footpath. You might have just felt worried, but no need to, this is perfectly fine.

Once again, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay in Plum Tree Cottage, and I welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Carol (Property Owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teemgee
Colchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed here for a week with family. Cottage was in immaculate condition and well equipped. Location was excellent-in Blockley village with its own pubs, play park for the kids, and very peaceful.
Cottage itself was quaint and the description was spot on. However the shower room on the top floor was rather cramped, and the narrow staircases are probably not ideal for elderly/ mobility restricted people or young kids.
But overall an excellent stay and we'd thoroughly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: slightly cramped
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M
Southsea
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely house in beautiful village”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Blockley is a magical village and Plum Tree Cottage is in a great position. Rooms are good - and nothing has been forgotten - we used the kitchen which was well stocked with everything we needed. There are 2 x bathrooms and a generous living room with a log burner. Flat-screen tv abnd dvd player.We used the maps and guides provided to do a tour of the historical village and part of the nearby Heart of England Way. There is a shop 100 yards away, a restaurant across the road and a bus stop nearby. We visited Stow-on-the-Wold, Stratford-upon-Avon and Bourton-on-the-Hill amongst other places all nearby. Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - village is stunning.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very confortable”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Tastefully decorated with all the facilities you would want. Very comfortable beds and has a real luxury feeling about it. Pleasant seating area in the garden away from the house with views over the valley. Bathrooms well presented with excellent showers, but the sink in the top bathroom is barely big enough to wash your hands in.

Blockley is a pretty town but the two pubs were a bit run down and basic. Well, actually it was off beer at the Crown Inn (which was replaced with another one when complained), and odd servings & presentation at the Great Western Arms.

But as a base to explore the Cotswold's Plum Tree Cottage is in an great location and has excellent facilities and level of comfort.

The only thing missing for us was some board games to play in the evenings (or if it was raining) with the kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury
Liked least: Lack of board games for a night in
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing