We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Birdlip
Save
Review Highlights
Beware of the scamming parking management company.

I visited the place with my wife and both parking payment machines were out of order. I've... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
maciej k
via mobile
What a shame !

I'm new to Cheltenham and thought I'd check out the reviews for this walk . The parking issues have... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
lydiacC8010GF
Read all 244 reviews
  
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
86
40
17
9
92
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
86
40
17
9
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog walking disabled parking hill country brisk walk air balloon enjoyable walk views are amazing lovely walk small cafe picnic area belted galloway toilet facilities lovely place to visit coffee shop cake cheltenham woods
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Go to Leckhampton hill, better walk and you don’t get £100 fine for going over your parking!! EVEN THOUGH your spending money in their cafe!!!!!!
I can take a fine if I go over the time on my ticket, but £100 if far too much!!! Disgraceful

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Robhxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWT-Team, Manager at Crickley Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback.

Minster Baywatch, the company who issue parking charge notices at Crickley Hill, are strictly regulated by the British Parking Association (PCN) and the charges, £100 reduced to £60 if paid within 14 days, are an industry standard. Any concerns relating to the charges can be directed to POPLA (the Parking On Private Land Association).

If you believe you have been unfairly issued a parking charge notice there is a super easy, email appeals process you can use, or you can contact Gloucestershire Wildlife Trust direct to see if there is any support we can offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Can't believe the negative reviews wittering stupidly on about parking charges! It's very cheap (£3 all day, £2 1–3 hours, £1 1 hour) and the machine is a piece of cake to use. Just ignore all the foolish negativity - the reality is nothing like that.

Been coming to Crickley all my life (Cheltenham born and raised) and it's still a favourite spot, with lovely walks all year round - regardless of the weather - and stunning views over the Vale of Gloucester. Plus great facilities - toilets and a fab café - Crickley's the best!

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank 5against4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWT-Team, Manager at Crickley Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Very happy to hear you are a fan of all things Crickley Hill - we agree that Crickley is a wonderful place to visit regardless of the weather... whether you fancy a blustery walk to blow away the cobwebs or a more sheltered stroll through the woodlands, there is something for everyone!

Thank you also for your positive comments relating to the car parking, toilets and café - we will make sure to pass these on to the Crickley Hill operations team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

Visited and found that the ticket machines were broken so couldn’t get a ticket. No signal to use phone, let alone download the app. Week or so later £100 parking fine, appealed but rejected. Looking at the reviews I’m obviously not the only person to suffer from this shady company. Why am I being punished for their shoddy equipment?

Destination unfortunately not worth the risk.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Aeronautics_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWT-Team, Manager at Crickley Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear that you found one of the parking machines out of order during your visit.

For these instances, there are a number of alternative payment options available to visitors at Crickley Hill – on site there is a second machine, it is also possible to pay by phone, app, or online. It is also possible to pay after leaving the site (so long as payment is made my midnight on the date of visit). This information is available on the tariff boards and on pedestrian entrances to the car parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Late getting back to car by 30 minutes after a few hours. Did not realise until 2 weeks later and huge inappropriate fine from MINSTER BAYWATCH THIEVES. NOT the way to run a family picnic site TURNING LAW ABIDING PEOPLE INTO CRIMINALS - SHAME ON CRICKLEY HILL MANAGEMENT. WILL NEVER VISIT AGAIN.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Gummybear1243ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWT-Team, Manager at Crickley Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

As with all pay-to-stay car parks, you do need to ensure you return to your car within the time paid for.

To help visitors who have stayed longer than intended (or did not have a method of payment with them at the time of visit) there is an option to top up a stay, or pay for a stay, after leaving the site - you just need to ensure the payment is made by midnight on the date of your visit. There are bright green signs with this information at the pedestrian entrances to the car parks.

We also have a very generous grace period to allow for the time to park and make payment on arrival and then return to your vehicle, re-load it with children, dogs, picnics, etc and exit the site. However, if you were over half an hour late returning to your car you would, unfortunately, be outside of this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

We walked up Crickley Hill on Christmas Day, the sun was shining and that had brought out lots of families to enjoy the bright, chilly day. The views were wonderful. An absolute bonus was the beautifully maintained toilet facilities; clean and modern with hot water, soap and dryer.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Bbpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWT-Team, Manager at Crickley Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable Christmas visit to Crickley Hill - the views are far reaching when the sun is shining and there are plenty of trails to keep families entertained.

Glad you appreciated the well maintained facilities - we will pass your comments onto our team.

We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews