We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile...”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here in january, thoroughly enjoyed the large comfortable bed in the clean and spacious family room (no.33). Breakfast was excellent and the service was second to none..our dinner on the first night was equally faultless and combined with the helpfulness of Michael it made our stay one we shall hopefully repeat. ....good location just 15 mins from city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MannyQ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to offer your feedback, I have shared your lovely comments with all my team and we all look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 893 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have stayed here many times and always had a wonderful time...this time was was even better.It was our 40th wedding anniversary and we stayed here for 3 nights with one of my bridesmaids and her husband.Elaine remembered us straight away and offered all of us an upgrade to a superior room with four poster bed!! the rooms were lovely.We certainly felt special over the whole of our stay.A big thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious,comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I have shared them with all my team and Elaine was very proud of her special mention. We all very much hope we can welcome you back in the future, thanks Michael and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here for a 2 night break in November. We usually manage to find a bargain rate for short breaks but paid the full cost for this one. It is a lovely building in a nice area with lot of places to visit within easy reach. Our room was fine, with big comfy beds as we have always found with Old English Inns. The staff were friendly but need a little training in breakfast service. We were quite late coming down for breakfast and found that other guests' used crockery, cutlery, etc covered most tables. Even when our breakfast was brought to the table, the waitress didn't pick up our cereal bowls. A minor niggle but annoying. Would we stay here again? Yes, definitely, if it was at a better rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindiloo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer your review, I have shared your comments with all my team. Thank you Michael Jeffries, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here one night in January 2014 on way to Cornwall from Leicestershire. Easy to find not far from the M5 good location. Staff very friendly got upgraded free of charge very nice room with a bath as well as a shower. Booked to stay for dinner was not disappointed excellent food choice afterwards we had drinks in the bar found the price to be fair. The breakfast was a very good choice of cooked options and the breakfast staff very friendly over all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 01Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Firstly thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, I have shared your lovely comments with all my team. We all hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I recently held my wedding at the Royal George Birdlip. We picked this venue after looking at lots of golf clubs etc as it had a real charm. The actual wedding was fantastic, the manger Michael and Paul the co-ordinator couldn't of been more helpful, they were at our disposal all day and monitored that everything went to plan and was executed perfectly!
The food was lovely and we had comments from all our guests. Our wedding party filled the whole hotel which was lovely, and made it extra special for us. The rooms were lovely and all our guests were happy. The breakfast was great and it was such a nice end to the wedding to eat breakfast with all our wedding guests.
The chapel was perfect and quaint , and they even managed to fit in our harpist, it was a perfect day.
Any problems were rectified promptly and I would like to thank Michael and Paul for making our day perfect.

Room Tip: The bridal suite was lovely including a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback, it is a massive honour to be able to look after your big day. I have shared your lovely comments with all my team and Paul, we all wish you the very best for the future and look forward to welcoming you both back as Mr & Mrs. Michael and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were happy to have booked three double rooms for a family gathering at a good rate of £55. The photo on the site showed a hotel with evident old world charm. Old world it was with tired looking decor and furniture.
We had a warm welcome from the first receptionist but the morning receptionist lacked interpersonal skills. The younger waiting staff in the restaurant would have benefited from greater guidance from management and a more efficient kitchen. They must have felt embarrassed telling us on at least four occasions, at dinner and breakfast, that certain items were no longer on the menu - after we had placed orders for these dishes. The kitchen had even run out of bacon!
After the evening meal we moved to the bar for a final drink and coffee, to be told that the coffee machine pipes had been cleaned and it was obviously an inconvenient request. When we later asked for further drinks we were told that the bar closes at 10.30, it was now 10.45, so goodbye to that plan.
There is much potential at the hotel with its fine setting on the Cotswold Way, ample parking, walkers welcome etc. I'm sure it would not take too much effort for management to get the place in order and particularly giving staff a chance to develop by giving them training and not making them become the bearers of news about what food is no longer available in the kitchen!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, I have shared your comments with my team and action will be taken to ensure the points you rasied are addressed. The business is scheduled to have a full refurbishment within the next 8months, this will address several of your points rasied. Thank you once again for taking the time to offer your feedback. Michael Jeffries, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We needed a place to sleep for a night near Cheltenham and this hotel came to my attention.
well worth a visit and our stopover did not do it justice.
beautiful building and a super location - lots of walkers at breakfast

The family room was extremely spacious and had coffee making facilities ( including biscuits).
also an ironing board and iron, even a proper wardrobe.

room complete with beams and a view.

the grounds looked nice as well.

Only downside was the staff - clearly multi-skilled - running the reception one minute and the bar the next or waitressing the next ... but not happy or welcoming. not rude just compliant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yngsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Firstly thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, I have shared your comments with all my team. We all hope we can welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birdlip
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
387 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
565 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
724 reviews
20.7 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,074 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: Birdlip GL4 8JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Birdlip
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Price Range: $67 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal George
Royal George Hotel Birdlip, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing