We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$59
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hatton Court Hotel(Upton St Leonards)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
$63
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    The Painswick(Painswick)
    $212
    $171
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
    $59
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $80
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (931)
    Filter reviews
    931 results
    Traveler rating
    383
    311
    139
    61
    37
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    383
    311
    139
    61
    37
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsold english innsroyal georgewedding venuefull englishevening mealeggs benedictenjoyable stayfish and chipslovely hotelsuperior roomthe pubroom was largebreakfast was excellentnight breakfour postershort breakbiscuits
    Filter
    Updating list...
    601 - 606 of 931 reviews
    Reviewed October 7, 2013

    My room and ensuite bath were clean and comfortable. There was a large flat screen TV. The refreshment amenities in the room were bare-bones. The cooked breakfast was good, but nothing special; however, the breakfast buffet offered an excellent selection of juices, cereals, fruit and buns of various kinds

    Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    Thank floyd s
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 2, 2013

    My sister held her wedding, wedding breakfast and evening disco here. Beautiful buildings, lovely grounds. The set menu was wonderfully presented on the plate and tasted marvellous, and the wine selection also couldn't have been better - a very decent Temperanillo red was guaranteed to relax me into my meal.

    The wedding building is charming, intimate and beautifully lit by chapel windows, and the general atmosphere of the entire place ensures a relaxing time whether you're visiting for business, pleasure or family events.

    • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Gemma W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

    Thank you so much for your comments, we are very proud of our setting for Weddings and always ensure that the food quality, service and experience live up to the high expectation of a Wedding day. Hopefully we can welcome you back for a relaxig weekend in the future. Michael and all the team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 1, 2013

    we stayed one night on our way back home to Cornwall. The hotel is set in a quiet little village of Birdlip . We were met with a friendly welcome and after checking in we went to our room. It was a large room that overlooked the car park and fields and woods beyond. The room was well equipped with a very large comfortable bed with crisp white bed linen. the furnishings were modern and functional. An up to date flat screen TV was also supplied along with tea coffee cocoa making facilities an excellent choice. The bathroom and shower were spotlessly clean and modern. As we had been driving most of the day we decided to dine in. We felt that the diningroom itself was dreary, it lacked atmosphere, Tablecloths, flowers and maybe candles would cheer it up a little a worthwhile expense we think. Our evening meal was served promptly and well presented. Breakfast gave an excellent choice of fresh fruit, cereals , breads and juices the full English , salmon and scrambled eggs were among the many choices. All in all, we would visit again excellent value for money.

    Room Tip: our room was number 23
    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank clive l
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to offer your lovely comments, my team are very proud when they recieve lovely comments like yours. It reminds us all why we enjoy working within this industry, we all hope we can welocme you back in the future. Michael and all the team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 28, 2013

    Stayed here recently for one night - not to be repeated. Warm welcome at check-in. After that it went downhill. Room was fine but tired, as was the bathroom. Bar area grubby and tired with no effort made to keep the bar surface clean. Breakfast was highly disappointing with a self-search for spoons, clean bowls, toast and service in general. The eggs were not just scrambled but like bullets and the general quality of ingredients obviously at the budget end of the scale. The staff seemed most uninterested in us being there...but not to worry, we won't go back.

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank richard21_11
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, I have rasied your points made with my team to ensure that it is clear we do not expect service like your experience to happen withn my business. I offer my sincere apologies and thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback which has enabled me to ensure actions are taken to prevent in the future. Michael Jeffries, General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 27, 2013

    The Royal George is conveniently located in middle England. While there we made short drives to Highgrove Gardens, Burford, Ledbury, Haile Abbey, and a Roman villa near Cheltenham. The hotel has a pub and full restaurant. Full breakfast was included in the room tarriff. It also had plenty of free parking. It is relatively easy to get reach, just off the A417. The major drawback, in my opinion, was the lack of a business computer room. The rooms do have Wi Fi. During our stay there was no telephone in our room however the front desk said that would be remedied.

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank WesleyL514
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we all hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Michael and all the team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews