We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked one night 1st Sept. wished we'd booked longer, set in a fairly sleepy village, Guy on check in was very pleasant & helpful, room was nice & clean with an extra large comfy bed. Reasonable priced beers in the bar, We ate in the restaurant, the food was above average, two girls running service & the bar, but still nobody was left waiting, well done. Breakfast next morning was more than adequate. would I stop again? without a doubt I would.

Room Tip: Room 31 is furthest away upstairs away from road or any activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kesteven5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, it is a pleasure for me to share such lovely feedback with all my team. Lovely to hear that you would stay with us again, so we all look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future, Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    287
    117
    51
    32
See reviews for
172
462
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beaconsfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of August. We had a good size room for which we paid extra, this was at the top of the Hotel, unfortunately overlooking a quite noisy road. The room was clean with a large bed which was fine. Bathroom proved to be a problem, toilet needed attention, flush difficult to get to work. Shower was very unpredictable,water pressure so low that we gave up with it and used the bath instead. This took a long time to fill, so forward planning was essential. Only were given one small bar of soap and one little bottle of shampoo, this was only provided on the first night and never replaced. Also no Tissues or shower cap in the Bathroom. When queried with reception, was told that those items we expect guests to bring themselves. Breakfast was very good. We only ate their once for dinner which convinced us to go elsewhere for our remaining meals.
The Hotel is old and has character but does need to be upgraded. And if you go make sure you have your own bathroom essentials.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your stay, we have had the works completed on our water system that has resolved the issue with our water pressure. The hotel is scheduled to have a full refurbishment over the next 12 months that will address several of the points that you have raised, thank you once again for your feedback Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Started with a friendly welcome from Carol on reception - served with a smile by Becki and Hayley (and all the rest of the staff) - they could't do enough for us-
Our Room (number 32) was spacious and spotlessly clean - at the top of the hotel.
The breakfast was great and we decided to eat at the Hotel for the first night - it was so good and well presented that we ate there every night!
The hotel is full of old world charm - with lovely gardens -
I have read some of the reviews and quite frankly can't believe they are about the same hotel!!!
It was super - we work in the leisure industry and wish we had the same sort of staff that this hotel has - will be back!

Room Tip: Although only two of us we opted for the family room which was huge - Room 32 - lovely! Top of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amybucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your truly lovely comments I have shared them with all my team and especially Carol, Rebecca and Hayley. It is so refreshing and rewarding to hear such lovely comments about my team. They all work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their time with us and we clearly succeeded with your stay. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back soon, Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed one night whilst meeting friends and couldn't fault it in any area. We travel a lot with 2 dogs and the dog friendly room here was probably the best we've found anywhere. The room opened onto a fenced and gated small patio area, which in turn opens onto the 26 acres of beautiful grounds. Dogs were very welcome in the bar and breakfast was served for us there too.
The room itself was a good size with large very comfy bed. All immaculately clean including bathroom.
We ate lunch with friends and all of us felt it was excellent in quality and quantity as well as being very good value for money. Breakfast also was good.
We wish we had booked for a longer stay but will look forward to another visit asap.
In all I really wonder how people can find anything here to complain about. With very friendly helpful staff willing to accommodate all our needs we found The Royal George to be as good a Hotel as we've stayed in anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we would love to welcome you back for a longer stay next time. I have shared your lovely comments with all my team, look forward to welcoming you back in the futre, Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe england
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for one night last week, we were given a lovely big room with comfortable bed and lots of good quality pillows, room also had a single bed so maybe other rooms not as big. My daughter and son-in law had the room opposite and it was just like ours. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, the breakfast was good but dinner a bit below par. Garlic mushrooms like bullets and the rice pudding was inedible! The showers are a little unpredictable in the bathroom, my daughters shower was the same, maybe low water pressure? The hotel is lovely though, full of character, loved the old beams in our room. Would stay here again in spite of the few minor problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay, I have shared your lovely comments with all my team and we all look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here as guests for a wedding. The food at the wedding breakfast was delicious and the room was comfortable enough. However we were told there was a problem with no cold water in our room but as we had checked in early we couldn't complain. They told us the problem would be fixed during the day. I was somewhat surprised to find the toilet flush was hot water the following morning. Obviously the problem hadn't been rectified at all! The shower was pretty lame too.
My biggest complaint would be the noise from the pub all evening and into the night . I was continually woken up and there was a lot of traffic noise all night which was surprising given it in out in the sticks. The road outside must be a practise route for boy racers.
For the price paid it was expensive and the receptionist was rude.

Room Tip: Find a quieter place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, I have shared your lovely comments about the Wedding food with my Head Chef and his team. With reference to the water pressure I offer my sincere apologies, we had been informed by our contractors that the works would be completed and would resolve the issue. Clearly this was not the case, we have since had all the works completed. Thank you once again for offering your feedback, Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for one night, last Saturday. I would rate it as OK, but not brilliant. For the money we paid (100 pounds) I was a little disappointed. I do understand that there are sometimes deals, at half this price, when it would certainly represent good value. My wife and I are senior citizens, and were given a room on the first floor. We found going up and down the stairs a bit much. Equally we found getting in and out of the shower extremely hazardous. The shower is inside the bath, but there is no grab handle, or anything to hold onto at all. A little niggle : but there was only shampoo and soap for one even though there were two of us staying. The room was ok, but rather small. Breakfast was ok, but slow service. I personally prefer buffets. My wife ordered porridge, but because this is seen as a main course, they delivered my breakfast and her porridge at the same time. My wife then had to explain that she wanted porridge as a starter, and main breakfast to follow. This meant that I ate my bacon and eggs on my own, and then she ate her bacon and eggs on her own. At 100 pounds, I would never stay there again, but if there was a deal at much less, I might consider it.

Room Tip: If you are senior citizen request ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgianPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank for you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay, I have shared your comments with all my senior managers to ensure that actions can be taken to make improve on the areas you have raised. Thank you Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birdlip
5.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
462 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
185 reviews
9.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
212 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: Birdlip GL4 8JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Birdlip
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal George
Royal George Hotel Birdlip, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing