We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have just returned from our 2 night stay at the Royal George, Birdlip, this was our third stay at the Hotel. It was lovely to be remembered by the receptionist as we arrived.The food is very reasonably priced and realy nice. Rooms are warm and comfortable and all the staff are friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I will past your lovely comments onto all my team especially my reception team, it is very rewarding to hear such lovely comments from our customers. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Michael and all the team at the Royal George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    287
    117
    51
    32
See reviews for
172
462
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a very pleasant 2 night stay with friends. Great B & B value. You have to say there are signs of wear about the place. But the rooms were very clean, excellent king size beds. Found all staff very pleasant and friendly. Ate in the hotel both nights. Found the food very good value for money. Jason our waiter both nights was particularly helpful. Ok it's not the Ritz but for the money I can fully recommend here for a short break. I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pete2257England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay, I have already passed on your nice comments to my team especially Jason. The Royal George will be having a full refurbishment over the next 12 months; I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We all look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near London, England
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

On a £29 for 2 with breakfast deal this is phenomenally good value. Wine in the lounge and with dinner is also good value - choice and price. There are Wasabi nuts at the bar in the comfy big lounge area. Food is also good value and is OK. Service good. Room really nice. Nice grounds and woods around for a walk. One big moan - they offer 'lightly grilled kipper' as a breakfast choice - what was served was a steamed or similar kipper fillet of the sort that comes in boil in the bag; it was not grilled and in my view was not a kipper. That is my only moan. Even at the apparent almost double standard price it would be OK - not an experience but definitely OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback o your recent stay with us at the Royal George, we have taken your feedback on and reviewed our breakfast offering on kippers and are confident going forward that they will always be grilled. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, thanks Michael & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I took advantage of the Old English Inn £29 a night B&B offer and could not fault the hotel and fantastic quality and service we received throughout.

We had a much needed relaxing break away the kids and were delighted with our stay.

The welcome was professional, the room very comfortable with a lovely big bed. All perfectly clean and to exacting standards.

The restaurant was very good too, with a good choice on offer including some very reasonable meal deal offers. The waitressing service was top class. The breakfast was also excellent and set us up for the day brilliantly.

The bar area was also pleasant with a good choice of ale available. There is live music every Friday night although the gent playing on our stay was not to our particular taste. There is a good vibe in the bar with a good mixture of guests and locals adding to the relaxed mood.

Birdlip is a nice place with great views of Gloucester. We had a very enjoyable walk through the woods at the back of the hotel which I would recommend.

It is in a good spot between Gloucester and Cheltenham.

For the price we paid it was an absolute bargain!!..(there were quite a few other people on the same deal and i sincerely hope that they indulged in the menu and drink available as we did, unlike one couple who just ordered tap water all the time)...i know there is a recession on but that is just rude and places like the Royal George deserve better from it's customers!!!

Thanks for a great stay - the batteries are now well and truly recharged!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I have shared all your comments with my team and they pass on their thanks. It is very rewarding for all of us for our customers to enjoy their time with us. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future, Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed for two nights B&B from Boxing Day. Just wanted a relaxing couple of days away to get over a mad Christmas. That's just what we got. Nice big room with a huge comfortable bed. Controlable heating. Decent size quality TV with all the freeview channels. Generous tea and coffee tray with hot chocolate and scrummy biscuits. Great choice at breakfast and although we only ate there one night it was very nice. The TVs in the bar area were showing constant sky sports which is a positive for some and a negative for others. We fall into the second catagory. However the sound was turned right down apart from the football and even then it wasn't very loud. Don't worry, it doesn't attract the wrong crowd. It was actually quite interesting hearing the knowledgable locals giving their views on the match with no bad language at all! Best of all the staff were all most friendly, helpful and polite. The main part of the hotel is a lovely old Cotswold stone building but the accomodation is a more modern addition. That means you get a character experience but with plumbing that works! We paid Travelodge money and got a proper hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEKLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay; I have shared your lovely comments with all my team. We all look forward to be able to welcome you back in the future, thanks once again Michael Jeffries, Manager at the Royal George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Heathrow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Myself + wife + 5 year old son stayed here for one night on 9 December 2012. This hotel has a very welcome policy of reducing the price of their rooms when required to attract business. As other reviewers have reported we were able to get a deal for bed and breakfast for £29 - and that was for all three of us. Family room was clean and comfortable with a very nice bathroom. Breakfast excellent. The hotel's pub restaurant is good value and all staff were polite and helpful.All in all probably the best value I've enjoyed in a UK hotel. If you can get the cheap deal, go for it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are all pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and myself stayed at the Royal George on the nights of 9th-10th December as a birthday break, mine on the 9th and my wifes on the 10th. We had booked the hotel around August time using a token printed in our local newspaper allowing a stay of £14.50 per person per night so the total cost for the two nights was £58 which I regard as value for money. We ate in the hotel on the first night choosing 2 courses for £7.95 and the meal and service was generally good although a starter which was ordered was no longer available which we found strange. Surely a hotel should have enough of everything on the menu to cover any selection made by diners. On the plus side, my wife chose a starter from another menu and still paid the same price. The hotel and room was cosy enough, especially the king size bed, though it did look a little "tired" in some areas and maybe a spot of re-decoration would help. Excellent breakfast and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room would appear to be good if you want peace and quiet because the hotel is set in a in the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are planning on a full refurbishment of the hotel in 2013, I have shared your comments with all my team and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birdlip
5.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
462 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
185 reviews
9.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
212 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: Birdlip GL4 8JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Birdlip
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal George
Royal George Hotel Birdlip, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing