We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal short break”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights before moving on as our break involved two hotels. This was a lovely place to stay, reception staff we found very friendly and helpful. Restauant food was goodand plenty of choice. Nothing in village but nice and quiet place to stay. Lovely for walking.
I would stay here again.
Great value, worked out cheaper to book by not doing offer that was on at the time though!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swampieandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Royal George, I have passed your nice comments on to all the team especially the reception team. We all look forward to welcoming your back in the future, Michael and all the team at the Royal George Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 884 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had twin bedded room for two nights. Room was basic but with very comfortable beds. Slept well. An advantage having a bar and restaurant to adjourn to in evening. The breakfasts were great. We had a good evening meal on Saturday however the Sunday roast was disappointing; cold with very hard roasts and very little meat.. We had a voucher deal so overall we were happy with the cheap cost of this weekend stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at the Royal George Hotel, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay however we offer our apologies that the Sunday Lunch was not up to our usual high standards. Action has since been taken to ensure that the quality of our food continues to be of a very high standard, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our third stay at this hotel and quite frankly it was very disappointing. On arriving we were welcomed at reception , but on making enquiries at the desk later we were met with a young man with a 'couldn't care less' attitude. The evening meal was served slowly and could have been better. The service in the restaurant was very slow , we had to wait quite a while for a table for breakfast. Once we had a table we waited for an age for the order to be taken. More staff needed definitely. The food was good at breakfast, except that the egg yolks were hard on all three of our plates. We will not be returning!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkie120555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Please accept our sincere apologies about the poor standard of service that you received on your recent visit, we have taken actions to ensure that the standard of service that you received does not occur again in the future. Finally I would like to offer our thanks for your feedback on your recent stay, we appreciate all feedback as it helps us to continue to improve our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been lumbered with arranging reunions for Nonington College of PE ex-students over the years. We have used a variety of Hotels over the years which is not easy when there are anything between a dozen to 30 odd people (some are very odd) turning up for a three day nostalgia bash usually fuelled by alcohol and curries.

We had a fantastic time at the Royal George, probably the best venue we have ever used for a reunion, the rooms were modern, clean and comfortable, the food was excellent - especially the individually cooked breakfasts and the service overall very friendly.

Originally, we had a bit of a screw up with Greene King Central Reservations on room bookings, but Greene King dealt with this to our satisfaction in a perfect and timely manner.

We got fantastic value for money. We also went on the Gloucestershire and Warwickshire Railway for a day - which was also a terrific venue, so if anyone is looking for something to do, it's only a couple of miles away at Cheltenham Racecourse.

We're so impressed with this Hotel group that we're looking to go to the Greene King New Forest Hotel next year for our reunion.

Our thanks in particular to to Lisa, Royal George's very helpful, patient and good humoured receptionist.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here as part of 2 hotel trip found on Old English Inns website. Whilst the outside looked suitably old,and characterful the inside din't quite match. Rooms were ok, very good large bed and decent size bathroom altho shower more a gush than torrent. The inside is definitely tired, with large hole in corridoor carpet, that was a trip hazard, and also one right by the bar that's defintely dodgy.The public areas all need attention, peeling paint, a chair in the ladies that had half a seat, glasses left in the garden overnight. But the main disappointment was the bar.The original part of the property is now the restaurant, the bar an extension Large, dark, with Sky tv on constantly (even when we went to breakfast) AND music playing at the same time loud enough for each song to be identified, and a fruit machine, all bells and whistles, played by staff not guests. This is hardly the impression given in the websites blurb. Not a pleasant place to relax after a lovely day sightseeing with a football match and Celine Dion belting it out at the same time! In fact we thought we were in a Wetherspoons. the other hotel tho couldn't have been more different. I will say the staff particularly Lucy and LIsa(?) the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We were in the annexe rooms in main building may be more characterful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Went to this pub today for lunch with my husband and two children. The highchair i used for my daughter was disgusting i had to clean it before she sat in it as there was food all over it.

The staff were very friendly and the place is beautiful but the food was awful. The food wasnt fresh it was cold and tasted awful the sausages i had from the childrens menu for my daughter i had to send back as they were so over cooked i couldnt cut them the pizza for my son was definatey a microwave pizza!!

Very expensive for what you get but wouldnt mind paying the price if you got a good meal!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Crissysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Royal George Hotel, we pride ourselves on the standard of our food and clearly what you experienced was unacceptable and for this we offer our apologies. With regards to the highchair I have taken the appropriate action with the team to ensure this does not happen in the future. I would like to thank you for you nice comments about the team and once again offer our apologies that the food was not up to the high standard that we set ourselves to deliver during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Of all the inns and hotels we visited during our recent walking holiday in the Cotswolds, we liked the Royal George in Birdlip the least. It lacked the warmth and soul of many of the smaller inns and b&b's we visited. I don't recommend it (rooms are old, small and soul-less) and the pub is part of a chain and lacks originality and is totally only average. Even though this is an older inn, they could make it warm & inviting if they wanted but I think a national chain manages it and it's lost a great deal.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank JFBIvyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank You for your comments, we always attempts to make all our guests feel welcome and relaxed. We are sorry you did not feel that we achieved this for you and although we are part of a chain we still endeavour to give personal service to all our guests. Once again I thank you for your comments as we take all feedback seriously so we can continue to improve our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birdlip
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
352 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,354 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,311 reviews
9.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
715 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: Birdlip GL4 8JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Birdlip
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Price Range: $60 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal George
Royal George Hotel Birdlip, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing