We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Passage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arlingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Passage Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Arlingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth every penny.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Apologise for the late review!

Me and my partner visited The Old Passage last year in September. It was a treat from him as he had just came back from four months away in Afghanistan. We booked a table for two, early evening, around 7:30ish. I was so excited about going as I am a massive seafood fan, he might argue, freak! Anyway, we were not disappointed!

We were met by a charming, chatty lady, who transpired to be the owner. Although we were the only diners in at that time, it didn't make a difference, we were not left to feel unwelcome or uncomfortable in any way. The service was efficient without being intrusive. Any questions we had about the menu were answered gracefully and knowledgeable.

I had had the shellfish tasting menu, which at £64 is alot of money, but in my opinion was money well spent. He had Seared scallops with belly of pork, spiced lentils, cauliflower puree,
Rum soaked raisins, lime syrup at £12.50 followed by the Tranche of halibut, hollandaise sauce, Cornish new potatoes and samphire at £25.50. We also had the soft shell crab as a pre appetiser.

Alot of other reviewers have commented on the price of this restaurant, but what you got to remember is that this is a 2 AA rosette restaurant so the prices will reflect that.

Overall, we had a most enjoyable evening, on this occasion, the service was slick, the food was divine and even though the restaurant was a quiet, the atmosphere was absolutely fine, although, could of done with a bit of background music!? I even got to meet the chef and have a look around the kitchen, fab!

If your looking for something a bit special and dont mind the one off bill, I would highly recommend The Old Passage!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    25
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
16
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Now this is what you call an amazing seafood restaurant. Fresh, loads much flavour and lots of it. 'WoW'.

Myself and my girlfriend had lunch and enjoyed it so much we ended up staying overnight in one of three (?) rooms and indulged in a unforgettable breakfast..... Needs must and we will so be back....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We wandered along the road through several pretty villages until we got to the end and could go no more. It was the previous location of a ferry crossing over the Severn to Newnham in Wales; long gone. There we found this absolutely charming restaurant; it had shutters and billowing white curtains at open patio doors onto the veranda and a gorgeous view; felt quite mediterranean on the first warm day this summer! Hostess was very helpful and the food was excellent - they excel on fish of all sorts, but happy to knock up a great steak.The tables have crisp white linen and good glassware. Yes, the price ain't cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Three of the four sides have terrific views of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindalloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
528 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I had Sunday lunch here with my husband. I had scallops thermidor for a starter, which was perfectly cooked and the cheese sauce was delicate enough not to over-power the scallops. My husband was also impressed with his seared scallops with black pudding starter. We both had roast cod for the main, which came with very nice accompaniments including samphire and girolle mushrooms. The highlight for us though was the chocolate delice we had for pudding, which was intensely chocolatey but nicely balanced with a salted caramel centre and cooling almond ice-cream.

Some reviewers have commented on the service being off-hand or rude but we had very friendly and attentive service throughout, so perhaps these issues have since been addressed. The restaurant setting is also worth mentioning as it is next to the Severn, which is very picturesque on a sunny day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PebbleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We went - again - for lunch on Sunday and had a really great meal. The fish is so fresh and flavoursome it's really hard to beat, and the wine list is expertly angled to the fish dishes on the menu. The menu stays broadly the same, but is focused on what the kitchen does best - accurate, well defined fish cookery combining great flavours without too many ingredients fighting each other on the plate. Puddings are much improved recently - more interesting and well presented. The setting, on the eastern bank of the River Severn, down a long track from Arlingham, makes a great place for a pre-prandial walk (if the weather is co-operative). Eating here is a real treat - long may it continue. And long may we be able to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Me & my husband had lunch at the Old Passage In from the Lunch River Menu which is a set menu which I believe changes every day or so. I looked for a quiet restaurant in a secluded place with views for some time now and we don't regret at all! We even had to come off our route and drove 1hr longer to our destination but it was worth it! From the start we were nicely surprised. As it wasn't quite 12 p.m. when they start serving lunch, we were sat in the separate sitting room and had coffee. Although it was raining, the lady oferred to lend us an umbrella and had a little walk by the river. The views are amazing there! Then we were sat at the main restaurant area and we ordered our food: for starters cauliflower soup and ham fritters and smoked haddock risotto and fish goujons. We ordered a mixed salad as a side which was for one person but the portion was huge for us two. The food was amazing, served with home made bread - two types and with two types of butter: volcanic rock salt and seaweed! It was delicious, we even wanted to buy the whole loaf. The food menu was totally different from the typical English pubs where you have burgers and fish and chips etc. We only paid 44 pounds for two course lunch and had pralines for free with our coffee after lunch! What a nice surprise. We would highly recommend it, especially if you have friends visiting to show them something different.

Room Tip: This In had three bedrooms all with views over the river Severn charging 110 pounds for a night for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We returned there for an anniversary lunch, having been a number of times over the years. We found the atmosphere to be friendly and informal as usual, and the food to be better than ever. We ate from the a la carte, and were really impressed with the interesting flavours and freshness of the fish. Coffee and desserts were equally good.

A la carte isn't particularly cheap, although the set lunch menu offers a good choice - but we always get tempted by the goodies on the main menu! It's super value and one of the best restaurants in a county that's a bit staid and boring as regards eating out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlingham
6.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Little Thatch  Hotel Gloucester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 4 in Newnham-on-Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Passage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Passage Inn

Property: Old Passage Inn
Address: Passage Road | Arlingham, Arlingham GL2 7JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Arlingham
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arlingham
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Passage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Old Passage Hotel Arlingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing