We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and a warm welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Retro Hub Cafe Bar - CLOSED

Retro Hub Cafe Bar
Cuisines: Italian, American, International, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and a warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The position is not immediately enticing, but the welcome and the excellent food make a visit well worthwhile.

The ambience is pleasantly quirky and the whole experience thoroughly enjoyable as the family who own and run the restaurant are always keen to please.

I'd strongly recommend giving it a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidS503796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witham
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

My fourth visit and loving it. I asked for mussels as a starter and was blown away - amazing!!!

The sea bass and al dente veg were stunning too.....

Helpful?
Thank ian_and_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Decided to try it as we have walked past several times. Was really surprised to find how nice it was.
Only intended to have a snack, but decided to have a meal as it was so inviting.
steak was sooo tender, and delicious, lovely Italian wine - we'll definitely be back, esp as it's 5 mins walk form home - brilliant!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank terri728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Change of chef/hope my rating will improve see why!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Thank goodness we have a change of chef at my local restaurant, Antonio was chef at an Italian restaurant in Inworth near Perrywoods and I have to say although a bit expensive was the best food within a 15 mile radius of Witham, so hope to see him doing a fantastic job at Retro-hub, all we need now is a little training for waiting staff at it will be perfect, I eat out at least twice a week and hope this will be a regular.

sue

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a lovely find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stumbled across this place on an evening walk, what a lovely find. Having sunk 2 bottles of red can't wait to come back and enjoy a meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DomVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Retro Hub Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing