We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of Greece in Essex” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akropolis

Akropolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little piece of Greece in Essex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We took my Mum for a meal here for the first time (for all three of us) on Saturday 19 January 2013. Like many others we were having a meal here and going onto a show at the Cliffs later in the evening. We arrived early, had a choice of tables to sit at (although we had reserved a table) and was attended to efficiently and in a very friendly manner. The food was superb and plentiful, the drinks were flowing nicely and the desserts were to die for. Will be going back to try the Meze (didn't choose this, this time round as we didn't want to be rushed) and are really looking forward to it. I would like to give a big thumbs up to the staff who as I have said were really friendly and helpful. Hopefully be back soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsDEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    73
    30
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
152 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Early dinner with friends before the Theatre (Cliffs Pavilion). Staff, food, attention, atmosphere all very good - I imagine this could get very lively later on. Good for you. loved it. Only criticism - the meat dishes needed just a touch more seasoning (e.g. more clove in the Stifado and Kleftico dishes) in my opinion, but that's a personal thing. Book before you go. We will go back every time we go to the Cliffs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We visited this restaurant on recommendation, however we found that although the staff are very friendly and helpful, the service was very slow. The food when it came was plentiful, but was far too salty. The one thing that really annoyed me was the addition of a service charge for a table of more than four persons - we refused to pay this. I would not visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ravensrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THANKYOU AKROPOLIS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Reading other reviews posted on AKROPOLIS I dont believe these people have eaten in the same restaraunt? Good food, Nice Ambience, Good value, BEEF STIFADO A MUST.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boybaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very nice
Went there before going to a show at the cliffs pavilion, we told them that we had a deadline to be out for, and starters and main course was done within the hour, the food was also very good, all four of us were happy with the quality and quantity of the food.
Having eaten at the Cliffs pavilion before a show and been disappointed, I would now always go to the Akropolis instead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akropolis also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Akropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing