We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, food an service could be better”
Review of O Picado

O Picado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Traditional fresh cooked dishes of portuguese madeira island
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, food an service could be better”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Heard alot about this place and had some good reviews on trip advisor, so I thought if give it a try. Great little restaurant we sat in the outside looked great felt like you was actually in Portugal. The waitress came to take out order and didn't seem like she was in a good mood! We didn't wait long for our main courses, I had piri piri chicken with rice and salad was nice but nothing to excited about, great value for money but the staff could try and smile

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dmorros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    100
    32
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent in all aspects”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My first visit as guest at special birthday lunch for 20. Decor took me straight to mediterranean sunshine. Service friendly and coped very well with our large party. The food was very tasty, and perfectly and freshly cooked, including a wonderful rib-eye steak cooked rare as requested. Delightful to have freshly cooked bread. Large, laundered linen napkins added to the pleasure of dining. I would be a regular visitor if I lived within a fifty mile radius. A memorable meal and occassion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JILL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very poor, left hand does not know what the right hand are doing. Wrong food brought out, not the correct food. Waited an extreme amount of time

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank sim z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Certainly a surprise to see this restaurant in its location. Went there before a show at the local theatre and was not disappointed with the food, service and authentic decorations. Music playing certainly added to the atmosphere, without being overbearing.

Plenty on offer to suit all tastes and the wine menu was excellent. Service was good and all questions asked about the food were answered with enthusiasm and honesty!

A little but of Portugal in sunny Southend. It just works...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank running_sam9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tip top! another lovely meal”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

great food, friendly service, not just dinner - a night out in itself. Been before and will definitely return soon

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rickapotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Picado also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to O Picado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing