We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Terrace Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Westcliff-on-Sea
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Seven Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Gleneagles Guesthouse(Westcliff-on-Sea)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Last Post(Southend-on-Sea)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Ilfracombe House Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Tower Hotel Apartments(Southend-on-Sea)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    Muthu Westcliff Hotel(Westcliff-on-Sea)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Beachfront
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Beachfront
    The Welbeck Hotel(Westcliff-on-Sea)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (29)
    Filter reviews
    29 results
    Traveler rating
    11
    6
    2
    4
    6
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    11
    6
    2
    4
    6
    See what travelers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 29 reviews
    Reviewed August 20, 2011

    i stayed at the Terrace Guest house with my 11 year old grandson for a few days holiday it was most enjoyable. We were completely satisfied. Nice clean room, friendly staff, excellent english breakfast,well cooked. Great value for money. It was nice and quiet even though it is located over looking the sea front. The sea view from the room was very nice. I am intending to get another break there before the end of the year. I would reccommend the Terrace to anyone. Well done Terrace staff for an enjoyable break.

    • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank lynn m
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 28, 2011

    Starting with the positive, the position is perfect. It is in such a pretty street (close to both sea front and shopping ccentre) but still quiet. Indeed the exterior is very appealing - apart from the obviously naff fake flowers positioned in one of the front windows!

    However...
    We had a bad start when the double room we had booked (with an ensuite) was "not available" and we were sent down to the basement and our only option was to use a shared loo and bathroom. The room was very basic and had a very small window.. Incidentally there was no apology proffered for this - only a "this is all we can offer you" approach.

    Downstairs, the paint work was a vile 'Germaline" pink and the whole decor and finish screamed 'make-do and was off-puttingly penny pinching".

    If this hotel had some love and a bit of cash spent on it (in keeping with it's royal history) it could be a real gem. However, the sevice is also perfunctory and the 10.30 checkout and 8-9am slot for breakfast seems to mirror the eneral attitude of the management.

    The breakfast (though adequate) smacked of having been cooked in advance and kept warm.

    • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank jphcmt
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 25, 2011

    my wife and me decided we needed a break from our 3 kids, a kind relative, (auntie) looked after them. I chose this hotel as the price was ok £65 for a double 4 poster bed,and it was on the seafront with seaview balcony and full english breakfast in the morning. The 4 poster bed, resembled a double bunk bed without the bed on top, it wasn't a proper 4 posted bed i hope that made sense! the seaview is good, but you share the balcony with the guest in the next room. Breakfast was very nice as were the employees who worked here.
    What you have to be aware of is that this bed and breakfast offers no parking, it can be a nightmare finding parking on the seafront in southend, after driving around for 45mins we had to park in the multi car park, this was only 5/10 mins walk away.
    this hotel is decent, but we wouldnt stay here for more than 1 night

    • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank billyukb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 15, 2011

    I have just returned from the Terrace guest house and did not have one single problem with this hotel. I have stayed in many hotels, some pretty gruesome, but this is lovely and clean. We were in room 10 on the top floor with a lovely view of the sea and the pier, the bed sheets looked brand new like they had just come out of the packet, bathroom was spotless, and we had a lovely cup of tea whilst watching the tele that had great reception unlike some hotels.

    Breakfast is served between 8-9am but after a heavy night out we ran down at 9.10am and we were still served our cooked breakfast with no fuss. A sausage, 2 pieces of bacon, egg and beans and toast was just the right amount.

    We went back to sleep after breakfast and woke at 11am although checkout is at 10.30, The man that was cleaning the rooms knocked twice, but he was very polite and did not rush us.

    I don't know if the staff at the hotel have acted on previous reviews but they now have individual packets of jam/butter so no problem with refilling, although this is not really a problem anyway. No problem with the cleanliness at all, in fact after reading these reviews before I went I wasn't looking forward to it too much, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Don't listen to the other reviews, I think they are overly fussy.

    Room Tip: Room 10
    • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank charlotteakelly
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 5, 2011

    This has to be the worst hotel i have ever spent good money on! What was meant to be a special weekend with my girlfriend was awful and truely spoilt by the dire accommodation provided. The hotel is nothing like the website shows, room was grubby,lights did'nt work, door did'nt shut, windows and paint work were filthy with mildew.....were not even given the room we had booked online, curtains were heavily stained,pole fell down when you tried to close them, the ledge below our window was full of fag butts and rubbish!.....breakfast was of poor quality,partly cold partly seemed like had hung around too long. Asked member of staff to relay complaints, he just brushed us off and laughed. when we returned home we emailed, no one has bothered to respond to us!!
    The only good thing about this hotel is the location..
    Will be reporting this to the RAC/AA regarding star rating, and sending them our pictures.Advise others not to book this hotel if they want a nice clean room.........

    Room Tip: Horrible
    • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank RaffnSlug
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews