We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappointing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Leaf Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Gold Leaf Thai Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic Thai Restaurant
1 review
“Never disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant a few times now and it never disappoints, it is a little-known gem in the heart Westcliff which is worthy of greater custom. The atmosphere is calm and peaceful and the waiting staff are always welcoming but most most importantly the food is deeeelicious, great fresh, moorish flavours presented really beautifully, I always leave satisfied and will recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    15
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Have only had the take away from this restaurant but it is fantastic amazing. The take away always arrives hot and fresh and on time and having had authentic Thai food in the past I can say that this is the real thing. I have tried Chang Mai and it doesn't come anywhere near in my opinion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cold, Dry, Stale, GO TO CHIANG MAI”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I always go to Chiang Mai the food there is amazing but tonight I couldn't get through so thought I would give this a try.

My main meal was COLD not even luke warm. The spring rolls was really dry and inedible I ended up throwing them away.
My partner wanted a spicy Chicken Thai Curry, so when I ordered it I said please make sure its extra spicy, when we got his meal, it was completely bland and on a scale of 1-10 on spicyness it was a 0!!! This is really bad customer service.

Maybe my meal was dodgy but I really could not recommend this at all. I haven't even finished it (which is unlike me) and came on here to leave a bad review.

If you want a nice Thai go to Chiang Mai it is absolutely amazing!!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chantelle_munt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sho330, Owner at Gold Leaf Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Ms.Chantelle Munt

It was our pleasure if you could really try our foods last week
comparing with other Thai restaurant in Southend on Sea.
However our waitress and myself could neither receive any claims
of cold main meal nor such miss orders. Because it was not busy
days for us last week due to very cold weather.
We do remember each customers and their order dishes due to
limited number of tables last week.
Our chef waited to cook main dishes until finishing starters by customers.
Waitress and myself always ask to our customers if everything is okay
during meals. Our authentic Thai dishes are nowadays well supported
by lots of British and Thai resident people here too.
It will be repaid anytime if your review is correct and true.

Yours sincerely

Owner of Gold Leaf Thai restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful authentic thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Been to many thai restaurants, certainly the best authentic thai,excellent food,fresh ingredients crisp and tasty vegetables.prawn crackers on entry ( no charge) fresh mango and melon to finish,(no charge). Had mixed platter for 2' pad thai with chicken, chicken,green beans peppers,basil and chilli, Penang chicken curry, fresh broccoli in oyster sauce with garlic. Beer and soft drinks, coffee to finish. Less than £42, excellent value, will certainly do the 40 miles trip from Grays to go back again.made to feel very welcome,superb restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great food better food now than before , atmosphere ok ,great service sometimes a little slow but worth the wait and good price

Helpful?
1 Thank Skytel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Leaf Thai Restaurant also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing